wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

7 Pages<1234>»
Roselyn Akombe resigns - one IEBC commissioner out
Coolbull
#21 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:07:15 AM

After the Ekuru ruling and the raid on Wanjigi the plot is crumbling and the good sister was wise to take off. The intelligence shared by CIA seems to have rattled NASA.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:11:58 AM

You have to wonder how desperate someone has to be to agree to do some jobs. Mimi hii serekali siwezi fanya hata hio polling clerk. At least now she knows she's safe.

Wacha sisi tuendelee hapa kumsengenya but we won't be finding her without one hand somewhere in Mogotio.

I served as a Presiding Officer and vowed never ever to do it again. Sleepless nights guarding materials,poor pay,chakula ni boflo na maziwa and then the dirty work of sorting materials and carrying the ballot boxes to the tallying center.

IEBC jobs are so soiled soon there will be no takers!
#23 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:12:24 AM

Here's a summary of Akombe's resignation letter:

1. Her field staff in luo nyanza were attacked and she fears they could lose lives during the election.
2. Threats and intimidation of commissioners and iebc staff by politicians (i.e baba)
3. Daily protests against the commission making it hard for them to concentrate on their work of delivering a credible election.
4. Endless court cases against the commission which they disappointingly always lose making her feel helpless and demoralized. The plethora of cases hamper their work.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:21:26 AM

I don't want to believe she was a mole because I think we need to give people the benefit of doubt and she came through as respectable and professional. Similarly, I don't believe Chiloba intentionally intended to steal the election, it's very difficult controlling over 40,000 temporary employees. That said, IEBC has been politicized and the politicians are winning over the poor IEBC. Remember that for politicians politics is a full time job and 90% of politics has to be negative for one to be an effective politician.

sanity
#25 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:25:46 AM

I don't want to believe she was a mole because I think we need to give people the benefit of doubt and she came through as respectable and professional. Similarly, I don't believe Chiloba intentionally intended to steal the election, it's very difficult controlling over 40,000 temporary employees. That said, IEBC has been politicized and the politicians are winning over the poor IEBC. Remember that for politicians politics is a full time job and 90% of politics has to be negative for one to be an effective politician.

we would want to believe she resigned out of intergrity concerns ,however her double speak tends to betray her..a few days ago she was all over the media telling Kenyans that IEBC is super ready for the elections.Then the following week she resigns telling us the IEBC is not ready....kweli sisi waKenya ni wazuzu..nkt
Hope is not a strategy
#26 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:29:33 AM

That Vice Chair,Nkatha she never speaks...she is a very dangerous mole.

Julie
#27 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:35:04 AM

Her departure is a well calculated move to cripple IEBC and forth coming elections!

#28 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:41:05 AM

of course we will see her move as we are not as it is...
jgithige
#29 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:45:29 AM

That Vice Chair,Nkatha she never speaks...she is a very dangerous mole.

Mole to which side...
"Blowing out someone else candle won't make yours shine brighter"-Anonymous
#30 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:46:18 AM

I hope you are also not planning to resign from your job in Liberiasmile smile smile
#31 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:58:15 AM

Before swallowing a mango whole - we may need to measure the diameter of our anus!
is IEBC ready for an election? YES - ... but is the country ready for an election? No!

Personally, I am trying not to fall into the same line of thinking that I fell into in 2007 - thinking just because it's right... it's meant to be successful! NO!!
ODM/CORD/NASA are not right... but they have so far been successful! in 2007 they were not right but were successful! heck the whole of human history is full of such events! REALPOLITIK my friends... pragmatism... realism... forget elections next week... charging forward is a pissing contest... a useless arm wrestling competition with no obvious winners as everyone will claim victory!
My Jubilee friends should understand this - it's synonymous to throwing good money after bad money... a sunken cost! it's the same mentality you have after buying something and you find it's bad the decide... lazima nikule coz i have already spent money on it! No! sio lazima! However, the IEBC cannot do anything about it - they have orders! They are an institution... individuals within the IEBC don't have to. try and take a step back... then back again... view this matter from 30k feet - what are we trying to do with this election? We are really trying to subject our wills on each other... no one cares about the f*cking election... we all care that we subject each other to our wills. IEBC is caught in the middle of it!
Of course IEBC commissioners have their masters and political persuations - who doesn't? but you need to understand that someone can do a professional job IRREGARDLESS OF THEIR POLITICAL STANDING... hakuna malaika...
#32 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:06:06 AM

Is this in English or direct translation from mother tongue?
#33 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:11:19 AM

I hope she had cleared all her emails and logs and cookies in her computer before leaving otherwise...
limanika
#34 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:11:30 AM

The only legal way not to have elections is to fold iebc via mass resignations. coz order was to iebc. Otherwise we must have elections, even sham elections. It us up to govt in power to ensure the election is credible. If NASA success to scuttle, then it means govt cant effectively govern and maybe they should 'talk'.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:13:14 AM

IEBC Jobs are not for the softies. You need the guts of one Kivuitu to swear someone at night and ease tension or gamble all day like Chesoni to aborb pressure.

A good pilot must both enjoy clear skies and storms.
Fullykenyan
#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:25:29 AM

Akombe can give as many reasons as possible, but the truth is that, she is weak in her mind. seems she cannot take pressure. i dont know her, but she always seemed to me to be very superficial. Before making her decision, she should have asked herself, how many lives is she endangering?, how good is her decision for the Country?
#37 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:27:47 AM

I hope she had cleared all her emails and logs and cookies in her computer before leaving otherwise...

what are you deep sources telling you about her computer? Why should she clear if she has nothing to hide?
#38 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:32:07 AM

Julie wrote:
Her departure is a well calculated move to cripple IEBC and forth coming elections!

There is no vacuum(Kenyan saying).
I don't think she was that crucial. The wheel can continue turning without her.

#39 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:36:43 AM

'We got to pray just to make it today. I say we pray, pray!' MC Hammer

#40 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:46:36 AM

having some "Of course ... But Maybe" thoughts... they will pass

Of course Not!! Of course not!