Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
hamburglar wrote:And by the way, I was brought up in Nairobi but I don't automatically support Jubilee or NASA. If I were to vote, I would vote purely based on a politician's integrity and track record . It wouldn't matter which party they belong to. Most of my friends from different tribes feel the same way. That's what being impartial to tribe does, it makes you think obectively which in turn leads to voting in good leaders translating to good governance and a better life for everyone. No one rules or governs alone. Parties and pressure groups are critical for effectiveness and even efficiencies.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
I find it difficult to show that tribes cause conflict. Conflict is caused by limitations in negotiation and creativity among other skills that fall outside the purview of origin.
Besides, the conflict we're considering is pretty limited. Nationalism has been a huge factor in creating inter-national conflict and has been used as a reason for interfering in other nation's affairs. For example, how did British interests work to create Kenya and how did the colonial decision to allow political representation only from district/tribal entities support the idea that tribes cause conflict?
I am having a hard time with humburglasrs impassioned arguments and the solutions he proposes. There is no country without tribalism - they simply call homophobia, racism, misogynism, ageism or other 'ism.' Kenya's diversity may be misused and often is, but I maintain that this is what makes us great. Trying to get rid of of this diversity through wrong headed ideas like enforcing a single culture or language will not solve the tribalism problem. Otherwise how do you explain Somalia? Finally I am finding the elitist tone - the perfect I versus the 'idiots' them - rather weird for someone who professes to want to reform society. I suggest you cut down on your reading of Ayn Rand my brother. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi wrote:I am having a hard time with humburglasrs impassioned arguments and the solutions he proposes. There is no country without tribalism - they simply call homophobia, racism, misogynism, ageism or other 'ism.'
Kenya's diversity may be misused and often is, but I maintain that this is what makes us great. Trying to get rid of of this diversity through wrong headed ideas like enforcing a single culture or language will not solve the tribalism problem. Otherwise how do you explain Somalia?
Finally I am finding the elitist tone - the perfect I versus the 'idiots' them - rather weird for someone who professes to want to reform society. I suggest you cut down on your reading of Ayn Rand my brother.
Makes us great? Great at what? Tribalism? The fact that we have the biggest slum in Africa? Crippling corruption? What? Apart from our world beating track athletes, we are that great at much. All those "isms" you are talking about are social issues that don't lead to violence or at worst genocide so they are not exactly debilitating issues. You will never hear about people of a certain country slaughtering each other because of homophobia, misogyny or even racism. In the case of ageism, lol, that's laughable, surely, nobody is ever going to hack his neighbor to death because the neighbor called him old. Hehehe. Unless there are countries that have people who are reaaaaaally sensitive about their age. But Kenyans will hack each other to death simply because they speak different languages. That's the difference. Somalia has many clans which are Kenya's equivalent of tribes. Their clan differences are very very similar to Kenya's tribe. Each clan wants to impose it's perceived superiority on the others. That's the problem. Their hatred is based on clans. And I love Kenya with all my heart just like most of us here do, but let's call a spade a spade, this country is very far from great. Having lived abroad for years and travelling extensively all over the globe, I have had the pleasure of seeing great countries and am sorry but Kenya is not among them. We are a poor third world country that has soooooo many issues. Truth be told. Actually most of Kenya can be described as a piece of shit if we were to really say it like it is. And i say this with love. Don't let your emotional attachment to your country blind you from the facts that are right in front of your eyes. I don't and that's why I don't bury my head in the sand. The first step to self improvement is to accept that we have problems. If we didn't have tribes in Kenya, we would currently be evaluating every single candidate from a very different perspective. We would probably be questioning their inyegrity, development records, leadership skills, etc. But since we are tribal idiots, we can't wait to vote for people who have last names that resemble ours. Everything else be damned, mtu wetu is the order of the day. And you guys still think tribes make us great?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
hamburglar wrote:yada yada yada....Having lived abroad for years and travelling extensively all over the globe, I have had the pleasure of seeing great countries and am sorry but Kenya is not among them.
Yada, yada, yada. ......we would currently be evaluating every single candidate from a very different perspective. We would probably be questioning their inyegrity, development records, leadership skills, etc. Therein, in the first paragraph, lies your greatest strength and therefore the biggest weakness in your arguments. Kenia has got issues that only Kenians can solve. I am talking about real Kenians and not the elitist middle income wannabes living in Ivory Towers and wearing out their fingers on their keyboards. Which brings me to the second issue, as raised in the second paragraph. Come to Kirinyaga and see how the average Wanjiku in the footpaths and rice fields is giving the Kirinyaga Top Girls a run for their money. Even Candidate Kenyatta refused to take sides, knowing how things have heated up in Uthamakistan. In short, devolution is sorting things out. Give it time and the average Kenian will come to realize that it is their vote and not their panga which will sort them out.
aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:yada yada yada....Having lived abroad for years and travelling extensively all over the globe, I have had the pleasure of seeing great countries and am sorry but Kenya is not among them.
Yada, yada, yada. ......we would currently be evaluating every single candidate from a very different perspective. We would probably be questioning their inyegrity, development records, leadership skills, etc. Therein, in the first paragraph, lies your greatest strength and therefore the biggest weakness in your arguments. Kenia has got issues that only Kenians can solve. I am talking about real Kenians and not the elitist middle income wannabes living in Ivory Towers and wearing out their fingers on their keyboards. Which brings me to the second issue, as raised in the second paragraph. Come to Kirinyaga and see how the average Wanjiku in the footpaths and rice fields is giving the Kirinyaga Top Girls a run for their money. Even Candidate Kenyatta refused to take sides, knowing how things have heated up in Uthamakistan. In short, devolution is sorting things out. Give it time and the average Kenian will come to realize that it is their vote and not their panga which will sort them out. Real Kenyans? What makes other Kenyans more real than me? Living abroad and travelling the globe makes me less Kenyan? How do you measure the percentage of Kenyaness in a Kenyan? The Kenyans that travel lose percentage points for travelling? What am I down to? 50%, 70% Kenyan? Nobody is more Kenyan than the other one, elitist or not. Wacha ufala. Devolution will not wipe out tribalism. Maybe you didn't get the jist of this thread. We are talking about tribalism and the effects it has on Kenyans and Kenya especially during this election time. Tribalism and devolution are two different concepts. Apples and oranges my friend. How will devolution stop the Kikuyu and Luo contempt towards each other? Your statement doesn't make any sense. And quit with the disdain that you have for middle class people. Sounds like you have some sort of complex. There is a lot of hard working middle class families who don't live in "ivory towers" and are far from being or acting elitist. You can't just throw subtle derogatory stereotypes at a group of people who work their asses off to afford that middle class status that you look down upon.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Ballot Paper Printing manenosOk, I've just seen there's a live court proceeding on TV where Joshua and ODM wants the printing of ballot papers stopped and awarded to a local firm and supervised by their campaign agents. That's ridiculous but again this is Kenya - the wild wild east. My question to the NASAs is; How does a printing firm rig an election exactly? Whatever printing firm including the Vatican if they have one will get orders to print from IEBC whichever way. If they order 10 million for Nairobi, is the printing firm to go back and say NO, you only have 5m voters in Nairobi? Exactly how is a printer a factor in rigging? BBI will solve it :)
https://www.google.com/a...ing-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate.
hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:yada yada yada....Having lived abroad for years and travelling extensively all over the globe, I have had the pleasure of seeing great countries and am sorry but Kenya is not among them.
Yada, yada, yada. ......we would currently be evaluating every single candidate from a very different perspective. We would probably be questioning their inyegrity, development records, leadership skills, etc. Therein, in the first paragraph, lies your greatest strength and therefore the biggest weakness in your arguments. Kenia has got issues that only Kenians can solve. I am talking about real Kenians and not the elitist middle income wannabes living in Ivory Towers and wearing out their fingers on their keyboards. Which brings me to the second issue, as raised in the second paragraph. Come to Kirinyaga and see how the average Wanjiku in the footpaths and rice fields is giving the Kirinyaga Top Girls a run for their money. Even Candidate Kenyatta refused to take sides, knowing how things have heated up in Uthamakistan. In short, devolution is sorting things out. Give it time and the average Kenian will come to realize that it is their vote and not their panga which will sort them out. Real Kenyans? What makes other Kenyans more real than me? Living abroad and travelling the globe makes me less Kenyan? How do you measure the percentage of Kenyaness in a Kenyan? The Kenyans that travel lose percentage points for travelling? What am I down to? 50%, 70% Kenyan? Nobody is more Kenyan than the other one, elitist or not. Wacha ufala. Devolution will not wipe out tribalism. Maybe you didn't get the jist of this thread. We are talking about tribalism and the effects it has on Kenyans and Kenya especially during this election time. Tribalism and devolution are two different concepts. Apples and oranges my friend. How will devolution stop the Kikuyu and Luo contempt towards each other? Your statement doesn't make any sense. And quit with the disdain that you have for middle class people. Sounds like you have some sort of complex. There is a lot of hard working middle class families who don't live in "ivory towers" and are far from being or acting elitist. You can't just throw subtle derogatory stereotypes at a group of people who work their asses off to afford that middle class status that you look down upon. I come in peace in this post. My inference of that you are not a "real Kenian" is that you have traveled the world and have therefore become a "Global Citizen". This was (is) meant as a compliment not an insult. Secondly, in my opinion, devolution will remove the biggest cause of hate between the tribes. This is competition for resources that arises from state patronage whose access depends on who is President. As such, The Governor, with the County Assembly as an overseer, will by law get resources direct from the Exchequer to distribute among "his/her" people irrespective of who is President. Thirdly, I was born middle income in the late 60s. I have been middle income all my life. To disdain the middle incomers would therefore be to disdain my own life. My "complex" is against the "wannabee" who is faking it until "he/she/it makes it. It is that person "we" donate for at the local church to attend a three week project management course in Bristol but who then comes back affecting an English accent and can no longer eat ngima with their fingers, who starts "eating" but not "drinking" porridge. And you are very right. To "throw subtle (or otherwise) derogatory stereotypical inferences at the middle incomers is wrong. I am one of them. Finally, I choose not to register as a voter so that I can really look at this whole process with a non-partisan eye. This way, I hope to have learnt enough to make a more enlightened and objective decision as a voter in future erections. My first erections was the 1988 mlolongo erections where the candidate in the shortest line was often the "winner" as declared by the DO/DC/PC and there was nothing we could do about it. (Except the Othaya Candidate who asserted "... even rigging requires some intelligence...") MY last erections were the infamous 2007 blood bath. with this erection participation sabbatical, I am astounded by the revelations and enlightenment that comes with non-partisanship. I rest, and peace is over.
hamburglar wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate. No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand.
Interesting short video on why we are loyal to tribes and other groups and will ignore facts!
aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate. No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand. If we got rid of them we wouldn't even need to teach the masses on the futility of hate in the first place because there would be no reason for tribal hate if there are no tribes. We would instead teach them how to prosper since hate will be out of the way and we can now focus on more important teachings of prosperity and other things that bring development and make people's lives better. Tribes are holding us back. They add absolutely no value to Kenyans, they only breed hate.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate. No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand. If we got rid of them we wouldn't even need to teach the masses on the futility of hate in the first place because there would be no reason for tribal hate if there are no tribes. We would instead teach them how to prosper since hate will be out of the way and we can now focus on more important teachings of prosperity and other things that bring development and make people's lives better. Tribes are holding us back. They add absolutely no value to Kenyans, they only breed hate. You need a cultural revolution not these knee jack reactions mko nazo. Ati ban vernacular languages.... hii ni ujinga gani? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate. No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand. If we got rid of them we wouldn't even need to teach the masses on the futility of hate in the first place because there would be no reason for tribal hate if there are no tribes. We would instead teach them how to prosper since hate will be out of the way and we can now focus on more important teachings of prosperity and other things that bring development and make people's lives better. Tribes are holding us back. They add absolutely no value to Kenyans, they only breed hate. What you propose requires a time span of no less than thirty eight years. We have got thirty eight days to the erections. Unless we discuss "Elections" in this 38 day context, then I regret this conversation reverts to one best reserved for the halls of the "Ivory Towers."
masukuma wrote:hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate. No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand. If we got rid of them we wouldn't even need to teach the masses on the futility of hate in the first place because there would be no reason for tribal hate if there are no tribes. We would instead teach them how to prosper since hate will be out of the way and we can now focus on more important teachings of prosperity and other things that bring development and make people's lives better. Tribes are holding us back. They add absolutely no value to Kenyans, they only breed hate. You need a cultural revolution not these knee jack reactions mko nazo. Ati ban vernacular languages.... hii ni ujinga gani? Hear, hear.
masukuma wrote:hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate. No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand. If we got rid of them we wouldn't even need to teach the masses on the futility of hate in the first place because there would be no reason for tribal hate if there are no tribes. We would instead teach them how to prosper since hate will be out of the way and we can now focus on more important teachings of prosperity and other things that bring development and make people's lives better. Tribes are holding us back. They add absolutely no value to Kenyans, they only breed hate. You need a cultural revolution not these knee jack reactions mko nazo. Ati ban vernacular languages.... hii ni ujinga gani? Cultural revolution by who? And what is that going to achieve? Will the Kikuyu and Luo people love each other and vote for each other's presidential candidates after this "cultural" revolution? Ujinga ni those tribes that you are defending. They are primitive just like the people who are for them.
aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate. No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand. If we got rid of them we wouldn't even need to teach the masses on the futility of hate in the first place because there would be no reason for tribal hate if there are no tribes. We would instead teach them how to prosper since hate will be out of the way and we can now focus on more important teachings of prosperity and other things that bring development and make people's lives better. Tribes are holding us back. They add absolutely no value to Kenyans, they only breed hate. What you propose requires a time span of no less than thirty eight years. We have got thirty eight days to the erections. Unless we discuss "Elections" in this 38 day context, then I regret this conversation reverts to one best reserved for the halls of the "Ivory Towers." I said earlier that this would not benefit our generation but would greatly greatly benefit two generations or so down the road. Wouldn't it be amazing to see Kenyans being able to settle anywhere they want without having to worry about their tribe? Every Kenyan speaking in one national language and everybody being able to communicate without any language barriers? Everybody loving each other as Kenyans and not as somebody from my tribe? Right now we have people who can't even do business with people from other tribes. Ujinga ndio hiyo. Excuse my French but f*** tribes. They don't belong in a civilized society.
hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate. No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand. If we got rid of them we wouldn't even need to teach the masses on the futility of hate in the first place because there would be no reason for tribal hate if there are no tribes. We would instead teach them how to prosper since hate will be out of the way and we can now focus on more important teachings of prosperity and other things that bring development and make people's lives better. Tribes are holding us back. They add absolutely no value to Kenyans, they only breed hate. What you propose requires a time span of no less than thirty eight years. We have got thirty eight days to the erections. Unless we discuss "Elections" in this 38 day context, then I regret this conversation reverts to one best reserved for the halls of the "Ivory Towers." I said earlier that this would not benefit our generation but would greatly greatly benefit two generations or so down the road. Change the title of this thread to reflect your sentiment. The most important number in Kenia and her diaspora right now is 8817. Anything else is a square in a circle.
hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate. No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand. If we got rid of them we wouldn't even need to teach the masses on the futility of hate in the first place because there would be no reason for tribal hate if there are no tribes. We would instead teach them how to prosper since hate will be out of the way and we can now focus on more important teachings of prosperity and other things that bring development and make people's lives better. Tribes are holding us back. They add absolutely no value to Kenyans, they only breed hate. What you propose requires a time span of no less than thirty eight years. We have got thirty eight days to the erections. Unless we discuss "Elections" in this 38 day context, then I regret this conversation reverts to one best reserved for the halls of the "Ivory Towers." I said earlier that this would not benefit our generation but would greatly greatly benefit two generations or so down the road. Wouldn't it be amazing to see Kenyans being able to settle anywhere they want without having to worry about their tribe? Every Kenyan speaking in one national language and everybody being able to communicate without any language barriers? Everybody loving each other as Kenyans and not as somebody from my tribe? Right now we have people who can't even do business with people from other tribes. Ujinga ndio hiyo. Excuse my French but f*** tribes. They don't belong in a civilized society. How uncivilized are the citizens of the United Kingdom? Or Canada with their English-French divide?
Rank: Member Joined: 1/24/2011 Posts: 407 Location: Nairobi,Kenya
Lolest! wrote:hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:aemathenge wrote:hamburglar wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages
Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate. No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand. If we got rid of them we wouldn't even need to teach the masses on the futility of hate in the first place because there would be no reason for tribal hate if there are no tribes. We would instead teach them how to prosper since hate will be out of the way and we can now focus on more important teachings of prosperity and other things that bring development and make people's lives better. Tribes are holding us back. They add absolutely no value to Kenyans, they only breed hate. What you propose requires a time span of no less than thirty eight years. We have got thirty eight days to the erections. Unless we discuss "Elections" in this 38 day context, then I regret this conversation reverts to one best reserved for the halls of the "Ivory Towers." I said earlier that this would not benefit our generation but would greatly greatly benefit two generations or so down the road. Wouldn't it be amazing to see Kenyans being able to settle anywhere they want without having to worry about their tribe? Every Kenyan speaking in one national language and everybody being able to communicate without any language barriers? Everybody loving each other as Kenyans and not as somebody from my tribe? Right now we have people who can't even do business with people from other tribes. Ujinga ndio hiyo. Excuse my French but f*** tribes. They don't belong in a civilized society. How uncivilized are the citizens of the United Kingdom? Or Canada with their English-French divide? Like it or not our tribes are our heritage.We should be proud of Our diversity.If you think being civilized is eradicating tribes and languages,then you are lost somehere in the jungle of reality.I love my tribe and I wouldn't give it up to be a 'civilised English or Frenchman.'And the fact that I love my tribe doesn't necessarily mean that I hate other tribes..No..It just stupid politicians who like to make us belief so. Hope is not a strategy