Evolution: The oldest human ancestor
#21 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 4:05:22 AM

Alba wrote:

This simple example requires faith...It is unbeliavable...What caused the mane to grow or the mane?

Good question.
Some characteristics occur due to genetic mutations. As an example some men have a ridiculous amount of body hair including a thick mat of hair on their back. If we lived in the wild and women found body hair attractive, these men would father more offsprings.

Also if we lived in a cold environment then those freaks with plenty of body hair would survive and the rest of us would disspear. This is likely how the woolly mammoth evolved from the Asian elephant.

Perhaps the best example of genetic mutation in humans is the fact that solomon islands natives are black yet 5% of them have blonde hair. How did this happen? Its not because some of them have white ancestors. Its due to genetic mutation that can be passed down from parents. Some black Africans are also born with blue eyes.

Note that nowadays human beings are less likely to evolve because people have a limited number of children. But among animals, it is the alpha male in every group who passed his genes to the next generation in large numbers. So if this alpha male has a unique genetic mutation then it is likely to cause more change.

ah! Melanesia! awesome place! really homogenous people of all spectrum. I walk around and see people with curly afro type hair and skin that looks like mine. some have more kinky hair, some look like waswahilis. has anyone seen photos of people from Bougainville? people have lived here for the last 33k years.

What do they speak?

each speaks their own language. Some are totally as different as Luo is to Kikuyu. The story of this place is rather interesting... so it's a beautiful country but with highlands and really does take off just after the waterfront (at least where i have been). The largest island is almost the size of south sudan and is rough terrain. to get from most places you need to fly in - no roads for variety of reasons. many people showed up on it's coast and never saw people and it was thought of as being uninhabited for much of history and in 1930 some fellows were mining all over decided to go more and more inland and Pap! they find some groups of fierce people! imagine... these people had never seen anyone else ever! there is a group that was found like in the 70s that believed that they (not even the whole island) were the only ones that existed. These people invented agriculture on their own! it's rather interesting... when you look at a guy who looks like you and he looks at you and says.. "Are you from Africa?" and in a puzzled way you say... Yes! and wonder - how do they know this? my skin tone is the same but that is not what they look at - they look at many other things... mandible, texture of hair, nose... perhaps forehead - who knows... but they are able to tell you apart. I usually like saying to my african brothers... YOU KNOW US AFRICANS...[INSERT SOME UNIFYING WORLDVIEW STATEMENT]! you cannot say that here! it's almost an insult! They insist they are not african and they are right.. being black is not being african and being african is not being black. Fascinating time. Their music is not similar in anyway to ours - not at all... it's almost polynesian. So similar yet so different.
#22 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 7:27:46 AM

They insist they are not african and they are right.. being black is not being african and being african is not being black. Fascinating time. Their music is not similar in anyway to ours - not at all... it's almost polynesian. So similar yet so different.

First, I envy you. I would like to travel the World like you've done

Yaani you've been to Solomon Islands!

And yes, black skin doesn't necessarily mean African ancestry

#23 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 8:00:22 AM

They insist they are not african and they are right.. being black is not being african and being african is not being black. Fascinating time. Their music is not similar in anyway to ours - not at all... it's almost polynesian. So similar yet so different.

First, I envy you. I would like to travel the World like you've done

Yaani you've been to Solomon Islands!

And yes, black skin doesn't necessarily mean African ancestry

All ancestry is mythical. African ancestry, or identity is mythical.

Even evolutionary theories are mythical. One way of seeing their mythical nature is by asking; is it possible for one to explain the origin of a people scientifically without invoking the theory of evolution?

Quantum mechanics would be a strong contender for such an explanation. And given how paradigms shift even in science, then, it's probable that the theory of evolution is mythical...

Of course even the creation story is a myth!
#24 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 10:16:13 AM

I wonder how black people ended up in isolated islands of PNG yet there is no history of slave trade in Australia
gk
#25 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 10:43:45 AM

I wonder how black people ended up in isolated islands of PNG yet there is no history of slave trade in Australia

Perhaps just like the Indians in Mauritius n Madagascar. When the earth plates drifted apart,it was inevitable...

Even in the wild; why the jaguars and leopards?
#26 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 3:21:31 PM

yes - no history of slavery hapa. so kizungumkuti ni hicho. No language reference to african groups and isolated hapa. No cultural similarity at all. I think they migrated here during the out of africa movement - way before any group left.
#27 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 3:28:41 PM

gk wrote:

Perhaps just like the Indians in Mauritius n Madagascar. When the earth plates drifted apart,it was inevitable...

Even in the wild; why the jaguars and leopards?

but earth movements are so slow! the fastest moves like 10 centimeters a year! The madagascans are still a puzzle but i am guessing the Austronesians are a sea faring people. they colonized most of the pacific islands and even New Zealand. I guess some may have headed west and landed on Madagascar. But this is "recent" history.
Alba
#28 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 8:01:48 PM

All Human beings are descended from Africa. Human beings started to migrate from Africa about 70,000 years ago and they migrated in waves.

Those who stayed near the tropics maintained their dark skin tone. Thats why people from Southern India have a dark skin tone as to Papuans, Fijians, Aborigenes and other islanders.

In fact Andamanese skin tone is even darker than those of most native Africans. See the pic below of native Andamanese.

Those who migrated to colder areas started to lose their melanin and lost it over a period of 25,000 years. The colder the area, the less melanin you have. Thats why Scandinavians (like Danes) are much whiter than mediteranneans (like Italians).
Alba
#29 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 8:08:59 PM

Two reasons why melanin is lost:
1. Creating melanin requires a lot of energy. So if it is no longer needed, the body simply stops producing melanin
2. Too much melanin hinders a person from converting sunlight into Vitamin D. So if you live in a cold area and have too much melanin, you will soon fall sick and die unless you have other sources of Vitamin D. Those with lighter skin tones are better able to process vitamin D from sunlight. So naturally when human beings started to move further north into Europe, those with lighter skin tones were better able to survive. Those with darker skin tones did not survive (natural selection at work). Remember that natural sources of vitamin D like citrus fruits are not native to Europe.

Thats also why Africans who live in Scandinavia are advised by doctors to take Vitamin D supplements.
#30 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 10:16:47 PM

yes - no history of slavery hapa. so kizungumkuti ni hicho. No language reference to african groups and isolated hapa. No cultural similarity at all. I think they migrated here during the out of africa movement - way before any group left.

There is something called convergent evolution. That is when individuals or species living in different geographical areas that have similar environmental conditions develop similar characteristics. Therefore individuals living near the equator evolved to have lots of melanin to protect their bodies from strong and harmful uv rays. Even a white person who comes to holiday in areas with strong radiation ends up with a tan, ie more melanin to protect their bodies. They also need anti-uv lotions to prevent damage to their skin.

Also it is said that there were mutations in the genes that control skin colour which hastened the process of populations being lighter. If you have mutant melanin genes eg albinos, when in the tropics, it is a big problem and natural selection will work against you and reduce your fitness eg skin cancers etc. But in those cold mzungu areas the mutations werent disadvantageous since their bodies could still survive under those conditions of low amounts of solar radiation and therefore the mutant genes propagated until populations became light skinned.
#31 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 10:41:40 PM

There is something called convergent evolution. That is when individuals or species in different geographical areas that have similar environmental conditions develop similar characteristics. Therefore individuals living near the equator evolved to have lots of melanin to protect their bodies from strong and harmful uv rays. Even a white person who comes to holiday in areas with strong radiation ends up with a tan, ie more melanin to protect their bodies. They also need anti-uv lotions to prevent damage to their skin.

Also it is said that there were mutations in the genes that control skin colour which hastened the process of populations being lighter. If you have mutant melanin genes eg albinos, when in the tropics, it is a big problem and natural selection will work against you and reduce your fitness eg skin cancers etc. But in those cold mzungu areas the mutations werent disadvantageous since their bodies could still survive under those conditions of low amounts of solar radiation and therefore the mutant genes propagated until populations became light skinned.

ION, That fish is too skin
#32 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 10:52:33 PM

A white person can actually become black if exposed to high amounts of sunlight. Also europeans who live in sunny areas like southern italy are dark.

#33 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 11:46:26 PM

Alba wrote:

This simple example requires faith...It is unbeliavable...What caused the mane to grow or the mane?

Good question.
Some characteristics occur due to genetic mutations. As an example some men have a ridiculous amount of body hair including a thick mat of hair on their back. If we lived in the wild and women found body hair attractive, these men would father more offsprings.

Also if we lived in a cold environment then those freaks with plenty of body hair would survive and the rest of us would disspear. This is likely how the woolly mammoth evolved from the Asian elephant.

Perhaps the best example of genetic mutation in humans is the fact that solomon islands natives are black yet 5% of them have blonde hair. How did this happen? Its not because some of them have white ancestors. Its due to genetic mutation that can be passed down from parents. Some black Africans are also born with blue eyes.

Note that nowadays human beings are less likely to evolve because people have a limited number of children. But among animals, it is the alpha male in every group who passed his genes to the next generation in large numbers. So if this alpha male has a unique genetic mutation then it is likely to cause more change.

ah! Melanesia! awesome place! really homogenous people of all spectrum. I walk around and see people with curly afro type hair and skin that looks like mine. some have more kinky hair, some look like waswahilis. has anyone seen photos of people from Bougainville? people have lived here for the last 33k years.

What do they speak?

each speaks their own language. Some are totally as different as Luo is to Kikuyu. The story of this place is rather interesting... so it's a beautiful country but with highlands and really does take off just after the waterfront (at least where i have been). The largest island is almost the size of south sudan and is rough terrain. to get from most places you need to fly in - no roads for variety of reasons. many people showed up on it's coast and never saw people and it was thought of as being uninhabited for much of history and in 1930 some fellows were mining all over decided to go more and more inland and Pap! they find some groups of fierce people! imagine... these people had never seen anyone else ever! there is a group that was found like in the 70s that believed that they (not even the whole island) were the only ones that existed. These people invented agriculture on their own! it's rather interesting... when you look at a guy who looks like you and he looks at you and says.. "Are you from Africa?" and in a puzzled way you say... Yes! and wonder - how do they know this? my skin tone is the same but that is not what they look at - they look at many other things... mandible, texture of hair, nose... perhaps forehead - who knows... but they are able to tell you apart. I usually like saying to my african brothers... YOU KNOW US AFRICANS...[INSERT SOME UNIFYING WORLDVIEW STATEMENT]! you cannot say that here! it's almost an insult! They insist they are not african and they are right.. being black is not being african and being african is not being black. Fascinating time. Their music is not similar in anyway to ours - not at all... it's almost polynesian. So similar yet so different.

interesting...will make arrangements in the near future.looks like a very long flight. Hope they are welcoming peoples. We should open a thread on greatest of places to visit and guys can share their experiences for those who love travelling.

#34 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 12:21:06 AM

Alba wrote:
1. Creating melanin requires a lot of energy. So if it is no longer needed, the body simply stops producing melanin
2. Too much melanin hinders a person from converting sunlight into Vitamin D. So if you live in a cold area and have too much melanin, you will soon fall sick and die unless you have other sources of Vitamin D. Those with lighter skin tones are better able to process vitamin D from sunlight. So naturally when human beings started to move further north into Europe, those with lighter skin tones were better able to survive. Those with darker skin tones did not survive (natural selection at work). Remember that natural sources of vitamin D like citrus fruits are not native to Europe.

Thats also why Africans who live in Scandinavia are advised by doctors to take Vitamin D supplements.

Explains why people near the tropics are generally more dark skinned.
#35 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 12:32:55 AM

A white person can actually become black if exposed to high amounts of sunlight. Also europeans who live in sunny areas like southern italy are dark.

there are gene changes and changes that happen to your body - for example. the jews have been circumcising their males for millennia but none is born without a foreskin. it's the same as tanning and bleaching. For changes to be propagated via birth they have to occur at conception and it's random not guided. the tone of the skin is actually set by something like 20 chromosomes and so that is why it varies from the very dark Dinka/bougainvillen to the very fair gaelic/celtic persons. So mtoto wa wazungu wa italy akizaliwa Siberia atakuwa rangi yake "haswa". MDinka/Mbougainvillen akizaliwa huko huko Siberia atakuwa rangi yake haswa!
#36 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 12:42:22 AM

Alba wrote:

Explains why people near the tropics are generally more dark skinned.

But you need to remember that you are a product of 2 things
1) Genes
2) Environment
The is why australians (the white kind) are still living in the tropics - they do get a bit darker (Environment) but their shade is still light. there are Africans who have been in the US for years and will never be white.
On genes and "natural selection" - There is also the bit about skin cancers. melanin reduced the chances of skin cancers in the tropics due to over exposure to ultra violet sunlight. The people who migrated up north were from our stock but those who mutated a lighter skin tone survived more because of vitamin D absorption in the high latitude areas of the planet and if someone here mutated and got light skin similar to what the northerners had - chances are they either died off. Again it could have happened and some were seen to be undesirable and females/males refused to have babies with them and progress their gene mutation forward. If it happened that they were alphas as Alba put it - they would force this gene down the line.
Enviromental changes drop off when you die since you don't pass them on. plus the tiny matter of whether they are recessive or dominant for them to "show"
#37 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 12:53:02 AM

Alba wrote:

Good question.

What do they speak?

interesting...will make arrangements in the near future.looks like a very long flight. Hope they are welcoming peoples. We should open a thread on greatest of places to visit and guys can share their experiences for those who love travelling.

it's a bit far off - plus they require visas from us... that generally means traveling to a 2nd country to get a visa for these places. Philippines or Indonesia should work. The Philippines do not require a visa to visit so it's a long haul travel.
Technically the western side of the New Guinea island is still Melanesia. it falls under Indonesia and is named "Irian Jaya". The other distinguishing thing about Melanesias is body hair. The males have lots of it... we Africans typically don't.... Anyone remembers this scene in James Bond...

Bird never make nest in bare tree.

#38 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 4:49:01 AM

there are gene changes and changes that happen to your body - for example. the jews have been circumcising their males for millennia but none is born without a foreskin. it's the same as tanning and bleaching. For changes to be propagated via birth they have to occur at conception and it's random not guided. the tone of the skin is actually set by something like 20 chromosomes and so that is why it varies from the very dark Dinka/bougainvillen to the very fair gaelic/celtic persons. So mtoto wa wazungu wa italy akizaliwa Siberia atakuwa rangi yake "haswa". MDinka/Mbougainvillen akizaliwa huko huko Siberia atakuwa rangi yake haswa!

But why yawa?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#39 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 7:04:50 AM

But why yawa?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Wapi Alba atwambie how long it will take for us to be born without foreskin
Alba
#40 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 4:47:46 PM

Wapi Alba atwambie how long it will take for us to be born without foreskin

I didn't know there was a nine year old on this thread.
smile smile smile