IEBC showdown today!!!!!!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
I listened to Jakoyo and Mutula junior this morning and they were talking about electronic voting. If this is the case, why are we printing ballot papers? My understanding is that only voter identification and results transmission will be electronic. @matharu elimisha sisi tafadhali Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
hardwood wrote:Impunity wrote:95% of MPigs are no show as at 10am...speaker postponed the debate to a later time/date!
Wah!!! Wamefika... That @Millie's dress is not fit for the upcoming war...it would be difficult for @kuria to grab her vitus in that overflowing dress...angevaa much less clothing like she did last time! Though I can see she is really willing to be done today. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
The showdown begins, this speaker is sooooo useless. We are so lost as a country!!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
Impunity wrote:hardwood wrote:Impunity wrote:95% of MPigs are no show as at 10am...speaker postponed the debate to a later time/date!
Wah!!! Wamefika... That @Millie's dress is not fit for the upcoming war...it would be difficult for @kuria to grab her vitus in that overflowing dress...angevaa much less clothing like she did last time! Though I can see she is really willing to be done today. ratchet queen Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:The laws came from a negotiated process. I wonder why the amendments are being pushed by one side only. Something stinks on this digital matter. For once, am giving Baba the benefit of doubt. Even in your office, you have a fall back plan incase technology fails. Things do not come to a standstill just because the system is down. Even when the ATM fails or your ATM card PIN doesn't work and thus you cannot be "identified and served digitally", the bank has a back up plan whereby you can walk into the bank and be identified "manually" with your ID and given your cash. That is all they are saying regarding this amendment. Voting or transmission of results should not stop just because the gadget battery went down, or the gadget hanged, or broke down or was even stolen, or fell from the table and hit the concrete floor and malfunctioned, or someone spilled his soda on the gadget and it went kapput. If in the US they did manual voting in some polling stations how do we expect to have a 100% digital election in our 3rd world country, a country where some areas dont have power or mobile phone coverage and some have issues with bandits, cattle rustlers and terrorists? Ditto! You have summed it up very well. Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
IEBC has done another presentation to MPs from either side and it seems some cordiots are coming back to their senses.......and if they can't, i am thinking of a massive blackout that would last several days after elections. What would happen? Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Fyatu wrote:hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:The laws came from a negotiated process. I wonder why the amendments are being pushed by one side only. Something stinks on this digital matter. For once, am giving Baba the benefit of doubt. Even in your office, you have a fall back plan incase technology fails. Things do not come to a standstill just because the system is down. Even when the ATM fails or your ATM card PIN doesn't work and thus you cannot be "identified and served digitally", the bank has a back up plan whereby you can walk into the bank and be identified "manually" with your ID and given your cash. That is all they are saying regarding this amendment. Voting or transmission of results should not stop just because the gadget battery went down, or the gadget hanged, or broke down or was even stolen, or fell from the table and hit the concrete floor and malfunctioned, or someone spilled his soda on the gadget and it went kapput. If in the US they did manual voting in some polling stations how do we expect to have a 100% digital election in our 3rd world country, a country where some areas dont have power or mobile phone coverage and some have issues with bandits, cattle rustlers and terrorists? Ditto! You have summed it up very well. Unfortunately it is not so simple. Why didn't Jubilee engage opposition in proposing the changes? Why the rush to recall parliament? Am 💯 % certain this is a sinister move disguised as a noble idea. Come 2017, all systems in Tharaka Nithi will surely fail and we know how that will end. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
kaka2za wrote:Fyatu wrote:hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:The laws came from a negotiated process. I wonder why the amendments are being pushed by one side only. Something stinks on this digital matter. For once, am giving Baba the benefit of doubt. Even in your office, you have a fall back plan incase technology fails. Things do not come to a standstill just because the system is down. Even when the ATM fails or your ATM card PIN doesn't work and thus you cannot be "identified and served digitally", the bank has a back up plan whereby you can walk into the bank and be identified "manually" with your ID and given your cash. That is all they are saying regarding this amendment. Voting or transmission of results should not stop just because the gadget battery went down, or the gadget hanged, or broke down or was even stolen, or fell from the table and hit the concrete floor and malfunctioned, or someone spilled his soda on the gadget and it went kapput. If in the US they did manual voting in some polling stations how do we expect to have a 100% digital election in our 3rd world country, a country where some areas dont have power or mobile phone coverage and some have issues with bandits, cattle rustlers and terrorists? Ditto! You have summed it up very well. Unfortunately it is not so simple. Why didn't Jubilee engage opposition in proposing the changes? Why the rush to recall parliament? Am 💯 % certain this is a sinister move disguised as a noble idea. Come 2017, all systems in Tharaka Nithi will surely fail and we know how that will end. So are you saying that we go for a 100% digital platform without any fall back plan? Then impatient mobs will be rioting demanding release of election results, results which would not be in existence because some gadgets never identified voters or transmitted any results? Can you imagine the chaos?
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
kaka2za wrote:Fyatu wrote:hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:The laws came from a negotiated process. I wonder why the amendments are being pushed by one side only. Something stinks on this digital matter. For once, am giving Baba the benefit of doubt. Even in your office, you have a fall back plan incase technology fails. Things do not come to a standstill just because the system is down. Even when the ATM fails or your ATM card PIN doesn't work and thus you cannot be "identified and served digitally", the bank has a back up plan whereby you can walk into the bank and be identified "manually" with your ID and given your cash. That is all they are saying regarding this amendment. Voting or transmission of results should not stop just because the gadget battery went down, or the gadget hanged, or broke down or was even stolen, or fell from the table and hit the concrete floor and malfunctioned, or someone spilled his soda on the gadget and it went kapput. If in the US they did manual voting in some polling stations how do we expect to have a 100% digital election in our 3rd world country, a country where some areas dont have power or mobile phone coverage and some have issues with bandits, cattle rustlers and terrorists? Ditto! You have summed it up very well. Unfortunately it is not so simple. Why didn't Jubilee engage opposition in proposing the changes? Why the rush to recall parliament? Am 💯 % certain this is a sinister move disguised as a noble idea. Come 2017, all systems in Tharaka Nithi will surely fail and we know how that will end. Tulia Kaka.It shall be well.Do not doubt everything just coz its fronted by Jubilee. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:Fyatu wrote:hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:The laws came from a negotiated process. I wonder why the amendments are being pushed by one side only. Something stinks on this digital matter. For once, am giving Baba the benefit of doubt. Even in your office, you have a fall back plan incase technology fails. Things do not come to a standstill just because the system is down. Even when the ATM fails or your ATM card PIN doesn't work and thus you cannot be "identified and served digitally", the bank has a back up plan whereby you can walk into the bank and be identified "manually" with your ID and given your cash. That is all they are saying regarding this amendment. Voting or transmission of results should not stop just because the gadget battery went down, or the gadget hanged, or broke down or was even stolen, or fell from the table and hit the concrete floor and malfunctioned, or someone spilled his soda on the gadget and it went kapput. If in the US they did manual voting in some polling stations how do we expect to have a 100% digital election in our 3rd world country, a country where some areas dont have power or mobile phone coverage and some have issues with bandits, cattle rustlers and terrorists? Ditto! You have summed it up very well. Unfortunately it is not so simple. Why didn't Jubilee engage opposition in proposing the changes? Why the rush to recall parliament? Am 💯 % certain this is a sinister move disguised as a noble idea. Come 2017, all systems in Tharaka Nithi will surely fail and we know how that will end. So are you saying that we go for a 100% digital platform without any fall back plan? Then impatient mobs will be rioting demanding release of election results, results which would not be in existence because some gadgets never identified voters or transmitted any results? Can you imagine the chaos? No No am not against the content of the bills but the process itself. You probably need a car how would feel if I just deliver a Honda tomorrow? Will you be satisfied? Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Jubilee has realized they have lost it with the electorate in Kenya,
they just want to create loopholes to steal and rig the elections.
We all saw how the gadgets failed all over in 2013. From that experience its only logical to have a manual back up plan since voting in a polling station cant be postponed until their gadgets are repaired, which may take 1 day, 2 days, 3 or a week, and meanwhile the whole country would be waiting for voting in that polling station to be undertaken so that final results can be tallied.
Flashback to 2013. We should learn from history. http://www.npr.org/secti...early-lost-the-election
C+PHow Kenya's High-Tech Voting Nearly Lost The ElectionIt was supposed to be the most modern election in African history. Biometric identification kits with electronic thumb pads, registration rolls on laptops at every polling station, and an SMS-relayed, real-time transmission of the results to the National Tallying Center in Nairobi. Ambitious? Of course. Only 23 percent of the country has access to electricity. But Kenyans pride themselves on leapfrogging when it comes to adapting technology. A country without copper landlines, Kenya developed the world's most popular software for mobile money transfer. A native Kenyan platform for organizing and disseminating online citizen journalism has been deployed in more than 30 countries. Kenya may not have enough paved roads, but the country is constructing a $10-billion "Silicon Savannah" aimed at becoming the continental magnet for IT startups. Among Kenya's wired middle class, the going wisdom was that politics was stuck in the past — hopelessly mired in tribalism and corruption — but that technology would breathe fairness and transparency into the process. And then came Election Day and the triumph of Murphy's Law. First the laptops ran out of battery power. Organizers had failed to consider that African school buildings, where many of the polling stations were situated, don't have electric outlets. Then the biometric identification kits started to crash. Poll workers didn't have the PIN numbers and passwords they needed to restart the software. Paper ballots were rolled out and voter lines slowed to a crawl, forcing some voters to wait seven to nine hours in the hot sun to cast their ballots. Voting concluded on Monday, but the tech hiccups did not. A bizarre computer bug multiplied the number of disqualified ballots by a factor of eight, leaving Kenyans livid and demoralized for several days in the belief that more than a quarter-million votes had been summarily tossed out in the incredibly tight race. The SMS-relay system overloaded, too, forcing election officials to airlift poll workers to Nairobi by helicopter to hand deliver the results. The breakdown of the system delayed the announcement of a winner, creating more anxiety with each passing day in a country that experienced massive post-election violence in 2007. More than 1,200 people were killed and hundreds of thousands displaced. At last, six days later, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) announced the winner, former Deputy Prime Minister Uhuru Kenyatta by a squeaker: 50.07 percent — a mere 8,000 votes out of a record-breaking 12 million cast. The losing candidate, Prime Minister Raila Odinga, immediately challenged the result. There was "rampant illegality" in the electoral process, he said; these technical "glitches" were election rigging.
Kumbe hii amendment bill was not even discussed at committee level? Why the rush? Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
faa wrote:Jubilee has realized they have lost it with the electorate in Kenya,
they just want to create loopholes to steal and rig the elections.
The facebook, Twitter and SK ones.... Go to the bundus and talk to a guy from central or the rift!! The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
Total madness. She needs psychiatric help. Now I understand why Kuria alitoa yeye suruali.
Just wondering...why is it that Millie Odhis is always at the forefront of ODM maddness. You will never see her when they are having sober/sensible discussions. There is a clip of her saying UK is beneath her......anyway talk is cheap. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
She has opened very old wounds......Nakuambia kunawaka moto!! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Sadly she represents Babas fanatics. Imagine if Baba was the president?This behavior is what draws some people away from baba. I pity Mabona. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
IEBC showdown today!!!!!!!!