marriage under threat
@pablo - exactly! When it comes to 'rights' - there has to be equity and you have to give in. When there is a strange noise in the middle of the night....those equalities vanish and its your ribs that get elbowed to go and see what it is.
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
I would like to state,and categorically,without a shadow of doubt,that Djinn amecum point hapo! Like I stated earlier,men havent changed much,same ol fakas,though with a reduced frequency in the face of the killer disease. Women on the other hand,have gotten the equality thingy all wrong. Trust me,its only a woman who can singlehandedly hold a family 2getha. The woman becomes a b**** n the family goes to the dogs. Look at it ths way,who would u rather cheats,the man or the wify? Who loses respect n dignity bigtime? Todays woman has no clue,ni kushindana na mandume tu... Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Nothing can stop an idea whose time is gone(much know 2009 sk). Why deny mans propensity to multi relationships?and womans need to bed the best male to for strong genetic propagation? A certificate? We as modern ladies and gentleman should be discussing how to go foward and not locked up in outdated nonsense. Its like neanderthals discussing how cromagnons(spelling?) are not eating their dead. Evolve with the flow! I for one will not marry though i enjoy strong polyamorous(sp?) relationships. Niône mwisho ya mwezi pliz! Ras Kienyeji Man
@ Djinn, Thanks for your comments and thank you very much for pushing @Leona to make this statement: But i think its also time men played their role as bread winners(doesnt have to be sole bread winner,but bread winner all the same) This has had a great contribution to the current situation. There is a breed of men that just wants to sit back and 'CHILL' The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie. The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
@leona & The General - I agree - there are 'Andy Capps' - a dime a dozen - in fact I know a few and wish I could kick their asses into next year...they live off their women's sweat - you see it alot in rural areas where the women work hard on the farms,sell some produce and then their men suddenly appear with parched lips....such men in such unions make others look bad. I personally would not in good conscience,even if Mrs D was earning 10x my pay,just sit back (even if she asked me to) and do nothing. I'd do something - even if it is not noticed - I'd take the kids for ice cream,buy them story books,spend time with them (and going back to women,the empowered rich mothers - they think enrolling a kid for music classes,ballet,school trips is what they should be spending on - rather what they should be spending is not legal tender but TIMe). So anyway,those 'kazi bure' guys - they deserve to be left. But if you already pull your weight in the home,treat your wife respectfully,and then some issue about whether you have a drink with your friends,or whether you do this or that gets carried out of the homestead to the Oracles of doom...
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
@SimonKabz - yes. And we all see it in some instances where the Mrs is sometimes so bold as to confront the man in public - and I do not mean that the man has the final word...but lets take an evening out - Mr and Mrs and their friends who are also married couples - in an inebriated state Mr 3 decided to throw a round and gets chided by his wife openly for spending too much. Mr 2 offers to take Mr and Mrs 1 and 3 all the way home and his wife gives him hell for it (in both cases,since they contribute to the home kitty,and have a say,they take it way too far....I have seen this happen. And sometimes you see very awkward couples going out because of fear of such outbursts....
'Meal Timing Men' They don't want to work,but they want to eat.... Brother,kazi ni kazi,amka ufanye kazi. The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie. The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
Rank: Member Joined: 10/17/2008 Posts: 338 Location: Kenya
@ the General you are so right. when the women work their backs off and provide for these men who just wants to sit back and enjoy...the men start complaining...oo my wife spends most of her time with her womenfolk..ooo she's in the office more times than she is at home. if only we men..just the women....cd also change with the environment..you know support the family and marriage together then we would not have all these separations and divorces. A little Blindness is necessary when you undertake Risk. Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
Mmhhhh....Meal Timing Man...I like that The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
yes.. some men don't deserve to be men.. like our brothers from (i think) turkana or samburu who were aired by ntv sometimes back... they wake up and attend some good for nothing 'barazas' while their wives toils day in day out... honestly it is a shame to mankind... nevertheless,majority of the so called modern women are pain points as they have a whole new meaning to the management of homes... the fact that a woman is also a bread winner does not in any way make her superior to the man and disavow all the respect and privileges that comes with being a man... When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly.... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
There was a thread entitled 'how i learned to mind my own biz' i cant or i'd rather not trace it ...... that thread spelt out my take on this... to summarize it,it goes without saying that there is only one me (am unique) there is only one her (my wife) n she is unique,there is only one such marriage as ours (its unique i might add).. with this in mind what works for me,for her,or in the best case scenario for us,might not work for u (both singular n plural) even in the most identical circumstances.... if this is the case,i fail to understand what fundah et al are talking about with the men women bullshit..... there is no such thing as men do this n women do that..... its either fundah do this n her hubby fails to do that. work on ur problems as a couple n forget about what other Toms,Dicks,Njunge's,Leonas,wendzs .................................. are doing behind their closed doors with their better\worse halves\quarters\ eighths etc. offcourse am not saying u shud be ignorant but 4 heavens sake mind your biz coz its ur biz to keep ur family together whether u alternate between three or ten jobs at a time to make ends meet. dont expect it to be easy either,its all upon you.
We lose it all together when we generalize the whole concept,if men dont do what women expect of them,why get into marriage knowing quiet well that ur hubby (who is a man) will not do what u expect him to do?
Its just me whatever choice you make in life make sure that you can live with it.
Why don't we just get rid of these outdated institution? It serves absolutely no purpose...
The men still want many women,and not take any of them home
The women also are now breadwinners
The men want their freedom...
The women want their freedom..
Remain Single!! For everyones sake....
Rank: Member Joined: 3/17/2008 Posts: 567 Location: Nairobi
Good people. Men and Women will never be equal. Our bodies are not the same,the way we think aint the same etc.
Lazy men exist,so do lazy women.
Let me tell you guy listen to you wives but make the decision. That crap of I also contribute is just distraction. You are the head whether she earns 10x of what you rightfully earn or not.
Lazy men and women are both a disgrace.
The way things are going this marriage thing is kweli under fire. Mozenrat is begining to make sense.
Want to be a millionaire.... plant a million cabbages and sell them at a bob...
'...every relationship rests on three legs: accepting,supporting and challenging. That's really it,isn't it? You want your relationships to be grounded on accepting each other as you are. On supporting each other through the inevitable ups and downs. On challenging each other to become more,to grow,to flourish.....' this is lifted off facebook
Marriage is not for the faint hearted! you are either inn or you are out! If you are inn just be warned theres alot that comes with marriage/relationships. So Challenges are there and sometimes they can be way too tough,so if you are weak and throw inn the towel its understandable we all have different levels of tolerance. It all points back to why you are with the person in the first place? only you can answer that
Life is like an onion; you peel off one layer at a time and sometimes you weep. Carl Sandburg
a study on how many separations occur not that long after after mama has been promoted to a big post with a big salary that resembles a telephone no. ( and in some cases even includes pet allowances,inter alia) would be very revealing as well.
Could be flexing of new financial muscle,or shift in control/power...but something snaps in the descendants of Eve,which the man comes to realise when he hears the 4 words...'Honey,I need space.'
Apo yuko sida.
..there's nothing,absolutely nothing really,that I can't do if I put my mind to it.
Rank: Member Joined: 5/26/2009 Posts: 326 Location: Nairobi
@All, there are no lazy men. He is either building the nation by supporting microbreweries or discussing how to end global warming at the local.
Having said that,and consistently with the topic here,marriage is like school. You get into it knowing nothing,its up to you to learn from basics to PHD. Most of us quit the 'school' after kindergarten. The biggest threat to marriage is money.
Ever wondered what kind of marriage a blind man and a mute lady would make?
Healthy eating = nutritious urine. Nyama choma anytime!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/20/2008 Posts: 1,126 Location: Nairobi
I have not been following this post so forgive me if I repeat anything since I can't read all the replies. Marriage is not really under threat even with the divorce rates rising and people 'staying in bad marriages'. There is a psychologist who says that there are never really new problems it is just that the old problems mutating....kitambo guys used to tolerate each other nowadays guys are liberal....two sides of a coin.... Anyway I think the reason someone comes in really matters...most guys get married for the wrong reasons....sijui the lady is pregnant so they are getting married for the kid...sijui someone is too old and time is catching up e.t.c. e.t.c. Then we are at the era of instant gratification,so guys can't persevere sorting out issues with their spouses culminating into a lot of drama. A guy's circle of friends is also really important and that's why some guys will tell you that marriage is great while others will say that there is no real love I surround myself with guys with very very healthy,happy marriages where you can even feel the love from a distance...I also enjoy true and real love .... This is like a whole topic but I will just finish by quoting Ephesians 5 Wives and Husbands 22Wives,submit to your husbands as to the Lord. 23For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church,his body,of which he is the Savior. 24Now as the church submits to Christ,so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything. 25Husbands,love your wives,just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26to make her holy,cleansing[b] her by the washing with water through the word,27and to present her to himself as a radiant church,without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish,but holy and blameless. 28In this same way,husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. 29After all,no one ever hated his own body,but he feeds and cares for it,just as Christ does the church— 30for we are members of his body. 31'For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife,and the two will become one flesh.'c] 32This is a profound mystery—but I am talking about Christ and the church. 33However,each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself,and the wife must respect her husband. Acts 2:38: 38Peter replied,'Repent and be baptized,every one of you,in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
is this validated by info track study ? http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/139614pz/-/index.html
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...sts&t=7415#post85402Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
“If he can manage to keep his woman with the Sh10 that remains, and as long as I do not know of her existence,” said one respondent who said she is happily married. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
marriage under threat