7 Pages<1234>»
Chief Justice and DCJ recruitment
#21 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 2:38:48 PM

mkenyan wrote:
[quote=sitaki.kujulikana][quote=Siringi][size=7]
Very useless question for CJ's position!!!

it is very relevant and far from useless

I also think so. I would expect such a senior judge to spend his free time catching up on what goes on around him just in case it ends up on his desk........unless he is a porn addict.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 4:27:24 PM

mkenyan wrote:

I also think so. I would expect such a senior judge to spend his free time catching up on what goes on around him just in case it ends up on his desk........unless he is a porn addict.

I would understand if the question was about How the law protects or says about devolution. Knowing governors by name, age and size can be such a piece of work. Those governors have really eaten a lot, even fitting in someone's memory will lead to explosion. Eg, if you knew just this particular one, are you left with any memory space for any other?

#23 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 4:30:29 PM

mkenyan wrote:

I would understand if the question was about How the law protects or says about devolution. Knowing governors by name, age and size can be such a piece of work. Those governors have really eaten a lot, even fitting in someone's memory will lead to explosion. Eg, if you knew just this particular one, are you left with any memory space for any other?

Thanks bro!!! smile
#24 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 5:10:07 PM

mkenyan wrote:

indeed.

and to add on that, i would have to quote one facebook post by an ochiel dudley who has addressed it so well i have nothing useful to add:
Administratively: The Chief Justice of the Republic of Kenya heads the third arm of government. We now have two levels of government. The judiciary is not devolved but under Article 6 must decentralize its services to all the counties. Mutunga has tripled the number of High Court stations, working with the governors directly. It's not acceptable for the Chief Justice to fail to know who the people that head the devolved level of government are. Do you think Ginsburg or Thomas can claim not to know who the governors of Arizona or California are? Or Chief Mahmood Mohammed of Nigeria the governors of Anambra or Kano states? Civics 101.

This is the jurisprudential value: The theory of a holistic interpretation of the Constitution streamlined in the CCK Case requires interpretation to take into account non-jural phenomena including Kenya's political, social, economic and historical context. Political context includes ''who is the current governor of X county'' As a judge, moreso Chief Justice, you must lift your eyes off the law books and become aware of the sociopolitical environment. The Governor he was asked about has been in the public eye. He has led a very vocal conflict with Meru County over county boundaries and has been summoned repeatedly to the Senate over public finance management issues and has been accused of issuing bouncing cheques. How will the judge resolve devolution issues when he does not what these issues are or who people involved in these issues are?
#25 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 5:59:01 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
urstill1 wrote:

Hata Kibaki ni Kanu tu.

so its governor Mutua who will break this kanu thing in 2022

KANU may be in power but JSC is still dominated by Judicial activists! Grand Mullah knows what he did over there!
#26 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 7:08:00 PM

mkenyan wrote:

Thanks bro!!! smile

Anti_Burglar
#27 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 8:39:47 AM

mkenyan wrote:

indeed.

and to add on that, i would have to quote one facebook post by an ochiel dudley who has addressed it so well i have nothing useful to add:
Administratively: The Chief Justice of the Republic of Kenya heads the third arm of government. We now have two levels of government. The judiciary is not devolved but under Article 6 must decentralize its services to all the counties. Mutunga has tripled the number of High Court stations, working with the governors directly. It's not acceptable for the Chief Justice to fail to know who the people that head the devolved level of government are. Do you think Ginsburg or Thomas can claim not to know who the governors of Arizona or California are? Or Chief Mahmood Mohammed of Nigeria the governors of Anambra or Kano states? Civics 101.

This is the jurisprudential value: The theory of a holistic interpretation of the Constitution streamlined in the CCK Case requires interpretation to take into account non-jural phenomena including Kenya's political, social, economic and historical context. Political context includes ''who is the current governor of X county'' As a judge, moreso Chief Justice, you must lift your eyes off the law books and become aware of the sociopolitical environment. The Governor he was asked about has been in the public eye. He has led a very vocal conflict with Meru County over county boundaries and has been summoned repeatedly to the Senate over public finance management issues and has been accused of issuing bouncing cheques. How will the judge resolve devolution issues when he does not what these issues are or who people involved in these issues are?

Oh my! Kweli its awkward to be uninformed about things that are always in your face that demand no special effort on your part to know them.
#28 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 12:43:30 PM

..yesterday

Maraga a 7th Day Adventist SDA wouldn't sit on Saturday even in case of time bound Presidential petition if appointed next CJ #MutungaSuccession

the GUY had intelligent answers though
I only have a problem with his fanatical Adventism
#29 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 12:51:43 PM

Siringi wrote:
..yesterday

Maraga a 7th Day Adventist SDA wouldn't sit on Saturday even in case of time bound Presidential petition if appointed next CJ #MutungaSuccession

If the fellow doesn't want to work on Saturday, they can always find others.

What is shocking was the following.

Asked by Githu Muigai what would you do if someone is sick in hospital and signs a statement that no one is contesting that they want to be put out of life support.

Answer

All life is sacred!!!!!!!!

This fellow should not be in the judiciary let alone the chief justice office.

Kweli these so called judges are so shallow? They don't know their governors, and are willing to bring their personal problems into a court room.

I can't wait to hear what the others have to say

#30 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 1:06:08 PM

Siringi wrote:
..yesterday

Asked by Githu Muigai what would you do if someone is sick in hospital and signs a statement that no one is contesting that they want to be put out of life support.

Answer

Kweli these so called judges are so shallow? They don't know their governors, and are willing to bring their personal problems into a court room.

@alma1 but the Katiba say so no?
na Bibilia pia
His answers have been lauded as very intelligent
see
#31 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 1:13:10 PM

Siringi wrote:
..yesterday

Answer

@alma1 but the Katiba say so no?
na Bibilia pia
His answers have been lauded as very intelligent
see

My goodness

Life is sacred can mean anything!!!

Where does sacred mean "never die" in English? In fact, Jesus had to die it was sacred!

I don't expect judges to make rulings out of soundbites.

The katiba saying life is sacred does not mean "sacred" the seventh day way nor "sacred" the christian way etc etc. To me sacred may mean I don't want to burden my children with bills they cannot pay forever. Maybe not seventh day, but that's not my religion.

I'm not a lawyer but that was the silliest excuse of an answer I have ever heard.

Even the right wing lunatics that was Scalia was wise enough to write well thought out arguments not tweets in court.

Githu Muigai asked a well thought out question that brought out the right wing nutcase that this guy may become in court. Interpreting Seventh Day Bibles is not part of his job.

sheri
#32 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 1:33:12 PM

Siringi wrote:
..yesterday

Answer

@alma I think the good Judge was right but the statement can be interpreted in different ways by different people.
#33 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:12:32 PM

sheri wrote:
Siringi wrote:
..yesterday

Answer

@alma I think the good Judge was right but the statement can be interpreted in different ways by different people.

Asked by madam @kobia is he knows someone in high offices whom he direct line and can call kikiumana in decision making process akasema sijui Speaker,sijui Mpig fulani...fulani fulani...I think alijikaranga.

He should have said NONE.

And should have said with finality that he only knows justice and that's what who he will call always.

Ama what do u guys think?

#34 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:15:22 PM

Civil Society making some noises at a presser about the process so far... thinks some questions are unconstitutional

sitaki.kujulikana
#35 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:22:44 PM

mkenyan wrote:

indeed.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly that is funny, that Thomas guys never even speaks I doubt he even knows who the vice president is, he must think its Lynch or Sharpton smile
#36 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:33:00 PM

Siringi wrote:
Civil Society making some noises at a presser about the process so far... thinks some questions are unconstitutional

There is no such thing as unconstitutional questions. Asking for a public high office is like going to shower in a river, you must be prepared to strip naked and be seen by all. Your employer is the people.....all people of Kenya. Have you thought about that? Some are educated some are not, some are religious some are not, some are very intelligent, most are not but they are all your employer and they can ask you anything they want. I am telling you if you understand the gravity of the job you are asking for you must be prepared to take in all the shit that comes with it including public scrutiny like this. Wacha nikae na kazi yangu ya mjengo, I only answer to one guy, the foreman .
#37 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:38:08 PM

Siringi wrote:
..yesterday

Answer

The answer is correct coz the qsn is flawed, how does someone on life support sign anythingsmile smile
#38 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:40:21 PM

I think all CJ candidates need this girl to help them prepare for their interviews:

#39 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:45:52 PM

How did Nzamba Kitonga perform

a tweep tole me they as asked Nzamba Kitonga if he believes in witchcraft Shame on you
Must be that Kamba Oathing thing to resolve issues za wizi no?
#40 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:50:13 PM

sheri wrote:
Siringi wrote:
..yesterday

Answer

That answer was very okay...and he is not a fanatical Adventist.