wazua Tue, Jul 15, 2025

Bank of Africa Kenya sinks into loss territory
sitaki.kujulikana
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 9:49:53 PM

whiteowl wrote:
Now that the music of shady NPLs has finally stopped, the banks that have been helping other banks hide shady NPLs using interbank lending should also be punished.

what is NPLs
#22 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 9:52:32 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
Now that the music of shady NPLs has finally stopped, the banks that have been helping other banks hide shady NPLs using interbank lending should also be punished.

what is NPLs

NPLs
Spikes
#23 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 10:03:30 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
whiteowl wrote:

what is NPLs

NPLs=None Performing Loans.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Apple Bees
#24 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 8:40:15 AM

sema yawa

[quote=Mike Ock]I will just post the link. Account holders musiseme hii ni incitement:

http://www.businessdaily.../-/4271c7z/-/index.html[/quote]
majimaji
#25 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 9:19:41 AM

kamundu wrote:
Social media madness will maliza banks

Boss, blaming the social media is hiding our heads in the sand.

Something was very wrong at Chase Bank. PERIOD!
The loan book at Bank of Africa is FILTHY! PERIOD!
National Bank of Kenya STINKS! PERIOD!

Nothing like activism here. Its the truth!

Social media is us people and if things go wrong anywhere we have to talk.
#26 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 9:46:28 AM

majimaji wrote:
[quote=kamundu]Social media madness will maliza banks

the same pple blamin social media,are similar to
sm1 who rapes a girl and blames it on her mini

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
ForSport2
#27 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 10:16:29 AM

majimaji wrote:

10/10
Can we get someone like Njoroge looking at SACCOs.
Kenyans can't keep handing over their hard earned cash to looters
#28 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 10:21:31 AM

Yule mjamaa wa Equatorial ameponyoka hii scrutiny, nine lives Sad
Ericsson
#29 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 10:25:44 AM

@ForSport2
Insurance companies are also in dire need of a cleanup.
We need to have a stable financial system for banks,saccos and insurance companies
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
kamundu
#30 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 10:31:06 AM

kamundu wrote:

I agree..though we need to be careful what we say....BOA is currently having massive withdrawals..... and there are rumors about other banks that I will not mention
Peace in our Homeland.
#31 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 11:08:10 AM

kamundu wrote:

I agree..though we need to be careful what we say....BOA is currently having massive withdrawals..... and there are rumors about other banks that I will not mention

When Board and Management were initially doing creative accounting and reporting, they didn’t think of the consequences? Wacha kiumane…..
The Great
#32 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 11:12:51 AM

I believe in buying assets with your entire income then borrowing heavily to eat while the assets pay up. When the financial industry crashes eg chase you get a repayments holiday while your counterparts ponder suicide.
"Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own."
heri
#33 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 11:15:52 AM

The Great wrote:
I believe in buying assets with your entire income then borrowing heavily to eat while the assets pay up. When the financial industry crashes eg chase you get a repayments holiday while your counterparts ponder suicide.

what happens to loan repayments in the case of imperial bank and Chase bank? i thought you will be expected to continue paying up your loans unless the bank is closed.
#34 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 11:18:18 AM

kamundu wrote:

BOA is ok bana....
whiteowl
#35 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 11:48:41 AM

majimaji wrote:

Ditto! They raised 4.8B last year then some ninja loans himself 7.9B in the same year and social media is to blame.
gk
#36 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2016 11:50:39 AM

Mike Ock wrote:
I will just post the link. Account holders musiseme hii ni incitement:

http://www.businessdaily.../-/4271c7z/-/index.html

This is not news!

Any bank that has made a loss will be the subject of discussion and speculation. Never mind last yr was a difficult yr n most banks reported significant increment in bad loans. So you set aside part of your profits to cater for such loans until they are recovered n hence a loss/profit dip should be a normal outcome of any sound business.

What differentiates BOA from the rest is that its a PanAfrican Bank (BOA GROUP) and better still, an international group (BMCE).Subsidiaries of other Pan African banks like Eco bank and UBA have made losses for many years and yet they are OK. That's the strength of a group. FYI, BOA is way larger than even KCB and has prescence in 18 African countries plus France while BMCE, the parent owner with 75% ownership is among the largest in Africa.

What is the common factor in the banks under CBK met? Yes.... its poor CORPORATE GOVERNANCE!! Dubai Bank, Imperial Bank, Chase Bank all had one thing in common: Blatant disregard of best practice, credit procedures, accounting principles, Central bank regulations….and no offence but there are all dukawallahs!

BOA is a highly regulated bank where corporate governance is protected and preserved both at local level and at Group level.

Social media is here to stay and has enough space for facts....
#37 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 12:30:52 PM

#38 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 3:36:09 PM

kamundu wrote:

BOA is ok bana....

My two friends spent most of the better part of Friday withdrawing their money. Ignorance is rife. These bloggers are behaving like the cops and mgt of Strathmore during their fake drill.
Gadaffi
#39 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 5:27:55 PM

heri wrote:
The Great wrote:

what happens to loan repayments in the case of imperial bank and Chase bank? i thought you will be expected to continue paying up your loans unless the bank is closed.

Loan repayments are made through CBK branches. The respective banks' employees r usually recalled to assist in posting these tranxs in their respective banks
timizo
#40 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 5:34:37 PM

Banking is all about trust...That's what Njoroge Said Yesterday. If my Bank's Auditor issues a qualified opinion on the accounts like the case of Chase, I will withdraw every coin in that Bank. I will advise all my friends and relatives to do the same. An auditor does not just qualify the accounts just because of an issue to do with few coins. It is when the amounts involved is significant. When then you hear that a single director has borrowed over 7 Billion without security, that there is massive increase in NPL's, would you still let your hard earned cash remain with people who cannot be trusted? Is that Patriotism?