Raila to 'forcibly" claim Migingo.
Apple Bees
#11 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2016 3:00:05 PM

mpobiz wrote:
He should start collecting signatures for okoa migingo to take to m7

YOU ARE A BIIIIIG FOOL
#12 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2016 3:15:08 PM

Interesting documentary on migingo. Just ignore the nasty comments on the video.

#13 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2016 3:48:10 PM

Okay!

Midiwo warned that the disgruntled residents will arm themselves with crude weapons ( I am assuming a majority of this crude weapons will be stones) for protection if the government fails to heed to their calls.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .

I support Midiwo on this. For how long will Kenyans be bullied by Uganda? If kenya has donated the island to uganda, then we should be informed. How can Ugandans beat up a kenyan chief and police officer and then no action is taken? And just the other day IEBC officers were beaten up and thrown out of the island by ugandans. Ouru should wake up otherwise kenyans have the right to defend themselves if ouru is unable!

An assistant chief and an administration policeman stationed on the disputed Migingo Island were at the weekend beaten up by Ugandan police and fishermen.

Assistant Chief Esther Masasi was allegedly accosted by 10 fishermen from Uganda who ordered her to accompany them to a police station manned by Ugandan officers. The Kenyan AP, who was at the beach, tried to intervene but the Ugandan officers turned on him and started battering him together with the administrator. The administrator said the Ugandan policemen questioned her legality as an administrator of the contested island, which they claimed should now be manned by the Ugandan government.

Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...n-ap-officers-on-migingo
#14 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2016 4:04:52 PM

Also, Kenya should go to the international court and demand that Lake Victoria is redistributed equally. We can't have kenya owning just a tiny 6% of the lake while Uganda has 45% and TZ has 49%. The lake should have been distributed equally to the members of the former British East Africa, with each country getting 33.3%. This is a historical injustice that should be addressed.

#15 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2016 4:07:45 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:
Okay but all politics aside, why does gava let Museveni play games with Kenya like this?

What kinda country allows a lesser country to humiliate it by claiming its land?
Museveni is literally flashing his middle finger at Kenyans and gava just watches.

Am I missing something?

Swali tu

Dont blame him.There are no clear d emarcations and any move to forcibly remove them will result into a boundary row at the UN.

Really?
Every map I have seen clearly shows the island is in Kenya

The tiny rugged island lies on Kenyan side.But the waters around belong/extend to Uganda who have as much fishing rights as Kenyans.

It's a waters boundary fight because of Samak.How hard is it to set flags as a clear demarcation? Kenyans boats need not to fish on Ugandan waters and vice versa.The fish on the other hand have the liberty to swim to either side so mtu akule samaki ya side yake.

Ugandan soldiers imo should vacate the island and set up their migingo on their waters to monitor and track their fish.

And that uninhabited pyramid island..You mean to say that fish doesn't swim there,we have to choke migingo that bad?
The erosion taking place on migingo will make it disappear in some years to come.
#16 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2016 4:44:20 PM

I was surprised to find out that Migingo is only 18km from the kenyan mainland (yes, i measured on google earth). The same distance like between nairobi CBD and JKIA airport . Meanwhile the island is 200km from Ugandan mainland (like Nairobi to Nanyuki), and uganda can still dare harass us.
#17 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2016 4:52:12 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:
Okay but all politics aside, why does gava let Museveni play games with Kenya like this?

What kinda country allows a lesser country to humiliate it by claiming its land?
Museveni is literally flashing his middle finger at Kenyans and gava just watches.

Am I missing something?

Swali tu

Dont blame him.There are no clear d emarcations and any move to forcibly remove them will result into a boundary row at the UN.

Really?
Every map I have seen clearly shows the island is in Kenya

The tiny rugged island lies on Kenyan side.But the waters around belong/extend to Uganda who have as much fishing rights as Kenyans.

It's a waters boundary fight because of Samak.How hard is it to set flags as a clear demarcation? Kenyans boats need not to fish on Ugandan waters and vice versa.The fish on the other hand have the liberty to swim to either side so mtu akule samaki ya side yake.

Ugandan soldiers imo should vacate the island and set up their migingo on their waters to monitor and track their fish.

And that uninhabited pyramid island..You mean to say that fish doesn't swim there,we have to choke migingo that bad?
The erosion taking place on migingo will make it disappear in some years to come.

Even Ugingo island that is just a stone throw away is uninhabited. Strange. Kwani hii migingo iko tamu namna gani?

#18 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2016 5:06:37 PM

Africans, why do you even have borders in the first place? Why are we even discussing this?
#19 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2016 5:39:23 PM

Also, Kenya should go to the international court and demand that Lake Victoria is redistributed equally. We can't have kenya owning just a tiny 6% of the lake while Uganda has 45% and TZ has 49%. The lake should have been distributed equally to the members of the former British East Africa, with each country getting 33.3%. This is a historical injustice that should be addressed.

if UG is asked - it should have all major lakes in Kenya. to them Kenya starts at Kinungi... lol... historical injustices.
#20 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2016 6:25:04 PM

Masukuma why are the 2 islands on Kenyan side without occupants? What drove these guys to migingo and not ugingo or pyramid? Apart from fishing I am not aware of any other economic activity in migingo
The fish swim around migingo because of human waste emanating from there. If humans relocate the fish will follow.