Two dual carriages around Mt. Kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
washiku wrote:Seriously...why are we even talking about Dual Carriages while these guys have not even been able to fix the many useful feeder roads in our villages? Lets fix the 10,000 kms of village roads then we can talk. Anyone who has used that road past Kenol knows that it is the worst and narrowest major road in Kenya. The Nairobi-Nakuru-Eldoret, Mbs-Nrb, Nairobi - Namanga, Nyeri - nyahururu, Eldoret-Iten, Kericho-Kisumu etc roads are much much wider and better. Strangely it is also the only road without any road markings (unlike the ones I've mentioned above). Shame that kibaki couldn't make a proper road past Kenol.
Desperate times call for... Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
hardwood wrote:washiku wrote:Seriously...why are we even talking about Dual Carriages while these guys have not even been able to fix the many useful feeder roads in our villages? Lets fix the 10,000 kms of village roads then we can talk. Anyone who has used that road past Kenol knows that it is the worst and narrowest major road in Kenya. The Nairobi-Nakuru-Eldoret, Mbs-Nrb, Nairobi - Namanga, Nyeri - nyahururu, Eldoret-Iten, Kericho-Kisumu etc roads are much much wider and better. Strangely it is also the only road without any road markings (unlike the ones I've mentioned above). Shame that kibaki couldn't make a proper road past Kenol. The truth is that I would love to see a the dual carriage done. I am a victim of the 'narrowness'; I use that road many times a year...However, that road is much better compared to the small roads in the villages. The impact to the farmer will be better if we can start with the many small roads before we can talk of the dual carriage. After all, despite being narrow, those roads only have unmanageable traffic on Christmas holiday and a few Sundays here and there. No huge negative impact on the economy. The real positive impact on the economy would be if we fix those areas bila roads in the first place, and that way the farmer can sell his products bila issues, the sick can be rushed to the hospitals before they die, women giving birth can be rushed to maternity wards sooner...that now is real effect. Why should I believe/trust that dual carriage will be done when the urgent cases are still in the "tumetenga mabillioni" stage? Luke 16:10 "Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much."
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
washiku wrote:hardwood wrote:washiku wrote:Seriously...why are we even talking about Dual Carriages while these guys have not even been able to fix the many useful feeder roads in our villages? Lets fix the 10,000 kms of village roads then we can talk. Anyone who has used that road past Kenol knows that it is the worst and narrowest major road in Kenya. The Nairobi-Nakuru-Eldoret, Mbs-Nrb, Nairobi - Namanga, Nyeri - nyahururu, Eldoret-Iten, Kericho-Kisumu etc roads are much much wider and better. Strangely it is also the only road without any road markings (unlike the ones I've mentioned above). Shame that kibaki couldn't make a proper road past Kenol. The truth is that I would love to see a the dual carriage done. I am a victim of the 'narrowness'; I use that road many times a year...However, that road is much better compared to the small roads in the villages. The impact to the farmer will be better if we can start with the many small roads before we can talk of the dual carriage. After all, despite being narrow, those roads only have unmanageable traffic on Christmas holiday and a few Sundays here and there. No huge negative impact on the economy. The real positive impact on the economy would be if we fix those areas bila roads in the first place, and that way the farmer can sell his products bila issues, the sick can be rushed to the hospitals before they die, women giving birth can be rushed to maternity wards sooner...that now is real effect. Why should I believe/trust that dual carriage will be done when the urgent cases are still in the "tumetenga mabillioni" stage? Luke 16:10 "Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much." Do you know how many lives have been lost on that "shoe-string" you are calling a road coz of head on collisions due to the narrowness, lack of road markings, lack of road shoulders, lack of climbing lanes, irregular surface etc? I have traveled widely in Kenya, from taveta to lamu, to malaba and busia, namanga to marsabit, and that road ranks as one of the worst major roads in this country.
hardwood wrote:washiku wrote:Seriously...why are we even talking about Dual Carriages while these guys have not even been able to fix the many useful feeder roads in our villages? Lets fix the 10,000 kms of village roads then we can talk. Anyone who has used that road past Kenol knows that it is the worst and narrowest major road in Kenya. The Nairobi-Nakuru-Eldoret, Mbs-Nrb, Nairobi - Namanga, Nyeri - nyahururu, Eldoret-Iten, Kericho-Kisumu etc roads are much much wider and better. Strangely it is also the only road without any road markings (unlike the ones I've mentioned above). Shame that kibaki couldn't make a proper road past Kenol. You may be able to convince yourself here, but when we get into election mode and the issue is trumpeted as the politics of exclusion and favoritism, it will find some (of not very many) believers Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
hardwood wrote:washiku wrote:hardwood wrote:washiku wrote:Seriously...why are we even talking about Dual Carriages while these guys have not even been able to fix the many useful feeder roads in our villages? Lets fix the 10,000 kms of village roads then we can talk. Anyone who has used that road past Kenol knows that it is the worst and narrowest major road in Kenya. The Nairobi-Nakuru-Eldoret, Mbs-Nrb, Nairobi - Namanga, Nyeri - nyahururu, Eldoret-Iten, Kericho-Kisumu etc roads are much much wider and better. Strangely it is also the only road without any road markings (unlike the ones I've mentioned above). Shame that kibaki couldn't make a proper road past Kenol. The truth is that I would love to see a the dual carriage done. I am a victim of the 'narrowness'; I use that road many times a year...However, that road is much better compared to the small roads in the villages. The impact to the farmer will be better if we can start with the many small roads before we can talk of the dual carriage. After all, despite being narrow, those roads only have unmanageable traffic on Christmas holiday and a few Sundays here and there. No huge negative impact on the economy. The real positive impact on the economy would be if we fix those areas bila roads in the first place, and that way the farmer can sell his products bila issues, the sick can be rushed to the hospitals before they die, women giving birth can be rushed to maternity wards sooner...that now is real effect. Why should I believe/trust that dual carriage will be done when the urgent cases are still in the "tumetenga mabillioni" stage? Luke 16:10 "Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much." Do you know how many lives have been lost on that "shoe-string" you are calling a road coz of head on collisions due to the narrowness, lack of road markings, lack of road shoulders, lack of climbing lanes, irregular surface etc? I have traveled widely in Kenya, from taveta to lamu, to malaba and busia, namanga to marsabit, and that road ranks as one of the worst major roads in this country. So what makes you think that they will sort it out now that 3yrs down the line they haven't sorted the very basic ones?
there is little chance that the roads could get started before next elections, talking of narrow roads have you guys used Mtwapa-Kilifi road, made even worse by trucks carrying raw material for Bamburi cement. Truth is that the promise is to cool down guys from central, but it would be more economical to tarmac Nyandarua roads, those guys feed fresh carrots and cabbages to cows because it's too expensive to transport them to the market. To Each His Own
Haki nimekubali. Warudishe Ubako na Wiper. Hii "dynamic" duo ni matope. Very useless. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Is it wrong to have two dual carriage roads in Mt.Kenya? Nairobi has so many dual carriages. The question should be? 1. Does it make economic sense for the dual carriages and does it have enough vehicular movement to justify dual carriages? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Swenani wrote:Is it wrong to have two dual carriage roads in Mt.Kenya? Nairobi has so many dual carriages. The question should be? 1. Does it make economic sense for the dual carriages and does it have enough vehicular movement to justify dual carriages? That is the exact question. One dual carriage sawa, lakini mbili? Life is short. Live passionately.
Two dual carriages around Mt. Kenya