Fyatu wrote:We cannot win against corruption because most individuals in Kenya are above the law. It is plain simple. Some individuals in Kenya cannot be arrested and charged in a court of law because they are above the law. Baba has sub-consciously proved this to be true.
Anyone perceived to be powerful in Kenya cannot be arrested or charged in a court of law because by doing so, there might be tribal upheaval leading to economic repercussions.
It is official. In Kenya you have to be big in monetary value as well as politically connected to be above the law. This rot is rooted down to the junior-most government officer or a any wanna-be businessman/tender-entrepreneur.
If we are serious in our fight against corruption then, a police constable should be able to arrest a former-senior government officer(Former prime Minister or even former President) without fear of repercussion.
The Kenyan courts should be able to make a just decision no matter who the accused is etc.
Hata yule dere ana angusha chuani kwa roady asi sazwe...pia huyo karao ana okota. Wote ndani na wanang'anywe mali....ni hayo tu kwa sasa
I get your point @Fyatu, but you should not have said arrested. I think the EACC said they were going to arrest Rao because he failed to attend to their summons. The point is Rao says money is lost , he should go and record the statement and give the information he has to prove that infact money was lost. So Rao wakes up and says i will not go because they have the information they are asking for and it is in the public domain. Then you wonder ,if it is in the public domain, kwani the real fighters like the bull fighter or Orengo or even Mwalimu Mati have not see this missing 140billions?
I agree Rao should have gone there to explain his case and then we could have seen him leave the revolving doors.
You have a point when you say it depends on who you are in Kenya.If you are a former prime minister, you cannot be summoned , a cabinet secretary has to come to you to present you the figures. If you have the money to afford the cunning lawyers, you will not see the entrance of any jail no matter how much you steal.