Kidero/Safcon still and flashing cameras
#11 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 2:01:12 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:
These cameras are located in ridiculous places. We have one located in Rongai... A road called Gataka Road. A murram road... with huge potholes sorry craters. The cars on that stretch are overtaken by goats and children playing. It's just ridiculous!!

That is where you need the cameras. A carjackers haven.

there are 2 types of cameras - SPEED CAMERAS (the ones in question) and SURVEILLANCE CAMERAS. The safaricom ones are SURVEILLANCE cameras. They are located in certain 'hotspots' - people can zoom in and out. The ones I have talked about are speed cameras. Someone can jack you just after you have passed them and they won't be the wiser.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Wee @masukuma wacha kundanganya watu. You don't classify cameras based on the objects dynamics at the locations where the cameras are to be installed.

someone told me the flashing ones are surveillance. they sense the motion of the car and take photos of each and every car approaching them. they id car registration among other stuff. linked to registrar of motor vehicles (among other database) they can even know it is masukuma's car heading to a server farm. the someone further claimed that it is easy to know the last known location of any vehicle they are after in a 'blink' (as long as it is within the area covered). do note that it was in a bar and i was very drunk and the someone was even drunker than me. so cannot vouch for any of it.
#12 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 3:12:38 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:
These cameras are located in ridiculous places. We have one located in Rongai... A road called Gataka Road. A murram road... with huge potholes sorry craters. The cars on that stretch are overtaken by goats and children playing. It's just ridiculous!!

That is where you need the cameras. A carjackers haven.

there are 2 types of cameras - SPEED CAMERAS (the ones in question) and SURVEILLANCE CAMERAS. The safaricom ones are SURVEILLANCE cameras. They are located in certain 'hotspots' - people can zoom in and out. The ones I have talked about are speed cameras. Someone can jack you just after you have passed them and they won't be the wiser.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Wee @masukuma wacha kundanganya watu. You don't classify cameras based on the objects dynamics at the locations where the cameras are to be installed.

someone told me the flashing ones are surveillance. they sense the motion of the car and take photos of each and every car approaching them. they id car registration among other stuff. linked to registrar of motor vehicles (among other database) they can even know it is masukuma's car heading to a server farm. the someone further claimed that it is easy to know the last known location of any vehicle they are after in a 'blink' (as long as it is within the area covered). do note that it was in a bar and i was very drunk and the someone was even drunker than me. so cannot vouch for any of it.

Surveilance CAMS require constant of beam of light for effective zooming in and out...hizo flash CAMS ni kama za ku-record vitu tu!?

#13 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 3:23:33 PM

The best form of policing, and its very effective where its used, is not where people commit crimes, are arrested and jailed. Its where fear is instilled into people's brains and hence commit no crime.

Example.
Place a spy police in front of a bank, thieves will try to steal, maybe successfully or not.

Now, place a uniformed cop outside the same bank, with guns etc. Every thief will notice, and will not attempt to steal.

In short, the cameras are a means of deterring you Subaru owner from commiting a traffic offence more than arresting you if you commit that offence.

#14 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 3:41:48 PM

The best form of policing, and its very effective where its used, is not where people commit crimes, are arrested and jailed. Its where fear is instilled into people's brains and hence commit no crime.

Example.
Place a spy police in front of a bank, thieves will try to steal, maybe successfully or not.

Now, place a uniformed cop outside the same bank, with guns etc. Every thief will notice, and will not attempt to steal.

In short, the cameras are a means of deterring you Subaru owner from commiting a traffic offence more than arresting you if you commit that offence.

Now I know...vroooooooooooooooooooommmmmm!!!!!!!!!!

#15 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 3:53:05 PM

Those are SPEED CAMERAS.... they take photos of vehicles that are coming - OK! Could they be used to check who was driving the vehicle - yes. but their primary reason of manufacture is SPEED detection.
The real surveillance ones are the ones safcom setup. they look like CCTVs. They can zoom - change direction like 360 degrees. These are the ones that are useful 'kutafuta watu'. The flash in the speed cameras is for usiku - number plate lazima ikuwe legible. The big issue i have with the 'speed' cameras (over and above that they have been placed in places where the road naturally limits speed) is that we don't have a way to really send the results of the system to the unsub. where they have been implemented well - the results are sent to your mail box and then you go pay ama contest in court. hapa sasa kabla upatikane ni lini?
#16 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 4:12:34 PM

Waste of time, given no matter what evidence they collect, there is no one to follow and do anything. Half the logbooks in Kenya are in names of people who sold their cars 2 owners back.

Waste of time AND MONEY!
#17 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 4:19:48 PM

Waste of time, given no matter what evidence they collect, there is no one to follow and do anything. Half the logbooks in Kenya are in names of people who sold their cars 2 owners back.

Waste of time AND MONEY!

Hahahahaha. I thought i was the one committing that crime alone.

It took me 3 years to change my langalanga from the previous owner to mine.

#18 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 4:21:22 PM

Those are SPEED CAMERAS.... they take photos of vehicles that are coming - OK! Could they be used to check who was driving the vehicle - yes. but their primary reason of manufacture is SPEED detection.
The real surveillance ones are the ones safcom setup. they look like CCTVs. They can zoom - change direction like 360 degrees. These are the ones that are useful 'kutafuta watu'. The flash in the speed cameras is for usiku - number plate lazima ikuwe legible. The big issue i have with the 'speed' cameras (over and above that they have been placed in places where the road naturally limits speed) is that we don't have a way to really send the results of the system to the unsub. where they have been implemented well - the results are sent to your mail box and then you go pay ama contest in court. hapa sasa kabla upatikane ni lini?

I dont know how they detect precise speed; juzi I was doing 49km/h just withi the detection range of the CAM (10 meters hivi, then a neanderthal in a probox zoom past me doing 90km/h and the the thing flashed and captured my vehicle instead.

#19 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 4:23:46 PM

Waste of time AND MONEY!

Hahahahaha. I thought i was the one committing that crime alone.

It took me 3 years to change my langalanga from the previous owner to mine.

Its normal behavior kabisa, even insurance issues cover based on a sale agreement and old logbook.

Until that logbook process isnt automated and instant, such photo collecting is worthless.

Its the same case with most issues in Kenya...they are left inefficient/manual so someone can EAT!
#20 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 4:37:01 PM

I dont know how they detect precise speed; juzi I was doing 49km/h just withi the detection range of the CAM (10 meters hivi, then a neanderthal in a probox zoom past me doing 90km/h and the the thing flashed and captured my vehicle instead.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I am sure it captured both, but the question is does it have a way of recognizing the culprit - I am sure the cops will think the mark-x is the offending car when it comes to speed even if the plugs, or the valves or the wires are broken and the thing can not even climb a hill.