Jubilee now abandons 10,000km road project
Fyatu wrote:Kenya power guys put wire and installed a meter on my grandmothers grass thatched house in June this year and disappeared without connecting the electricity. I have never seen a decent permanent house being roofed with thatch, connect me with the fundi who did the thatched roof for your grand ma (of course if he did a good job), I would love to try it on my house.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
On a serious note, who thinks that Jubilee can deliver anything. They have to rebrand to become sijui JAPanese. What has Jubilee done for you lately? But they are good in hashtags. Selfies, perfect! But I'm willing to be changed. Ohhh please tell me something that Jubilee has done that Kibaki did not start. Just one thing. Even their Olx award sijui for Huduma was started by Kibaki. Lakini, you continue waiting for 47 stadiums and 10k roads. I'm saying that as a citizen who knows, no one is ready for El Nino, only the tenderprenuers. Now, bite me. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
looking back at the Kibaki years, its funny that the country had no opposition - plus whoever tried going against him just ended up looking stupid, I mean the man never answered back, he was just a very silent.
On the positive that allowed him to push through a good amount of visible development agendas especially roads and the free primary thing, on the negtive the guys who might have stollen during his term went to a large extent unnoticed, plus when the opposition joined him it was all the guys at the high table eating - sio kama siku hizi one team feels left out of the eating.
If you read the article, there's no where that it mentions Jubilee abandoning the project but anyway...endeleeni "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Fyatu wrote:Kenya power guys put wire and installed a meter on my grandmothers grass thatched house in June this year and disappeared without connecting the electricity. I have never seen a decent permanent house being roofed with thatch, connect me with the fundi who did the thatched roof for your grand ma (of course if he did a good job), I would love to try it on my house. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
alma1 wrote:On a serious note, who thinks that Jubilee can deliver anything. They have to rebrand to become sijui JAPanese.
What has Jubilee done for you lately?
But they are good in hashtags. Selfies, perfect!
But I'm willing to be changed. Ohhh please tell me something that Jubilee has done that Kibaki did not start. Just one thing. Even their Olx award sijui for Huduma was started by Kibaki.
Lakini, you continue waiting for 47 stadiums and 10k roads.
I'm saying that as a citizen who knows, no one is ready for El Nino, only the tenderprenuers.
Now, bite me. If only you could have read that link before going into overdrive ranting and payukaring ovyo ovyo, you would have known that the roads have not be abandoned. Rather the govt has abandoned an expensive funding model for the roads and settled for a cheaper one saving you billions in cash. Sometimes be doing some reading before hyperventilating about things you seem not to understand which makes you end up looking like a mad man. QuoteThe annuity road financing plan has been ditched over concerns of inflated costs, in favour of an older, cheaper construction model.
Acting Transport Cabinet Secretary James Macharia told the Nation Monday that the decision to turn to the older model — Engineering, Construction and Procurement (EPC) — was arrived at after realising that accumulated costs per kilometre would average a staggering Sh300 million under the annuity programme.
The 10,000 kilometre road project, which was set for implementation in the next five years, was projected to cost the taxpayer Sh260 billion.
Under EPC, Mr Macharia said, road set up costs were lower at an average of Sh30 million per kilometre.
“The bids were too high (for the annuity programme). The average costs of building a road per kilometre came to more than Sh300 million. We realised that we cannot do much as a country if we go that route. We said we needed to change the concept from pure annuity programme to the old model of Engineering Procurement and Construction,” he said at his office.
murchr wrote:If you read the article, there's no where that it mentions Jubilee abandoning the project but anyway...endeleeni Eish boss, saa zingine ni vizuri kukubali. The annuity financing programme has been dropped in favour of the older model, EPC. We all know the annuity programme was going to address the funding challenge. With the old model our broke gava is supposed to somehow finance the entire 10000km. I like your optimism though.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
alma1 wrote:On a serious note, who thinks that Jubilee can deliver anything. They have to rebrand to become sijui JAPanese.
What has Jubilee done for you lately.
Now, bite me. THINGS JUBILEE STARTED THAT WERE NOT PLANNED BY KIBAKI 1. NYS Scandal (Though was there previously with Moi and Jomo) 2. Cyber Bullying critics 3. Killing the economy ( this may proceed to be worse than Moi's) 4. Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
FRM2011 wrote:murchr wrote:If you read the article, there's no where that it mentions Jubilee abandoning the project but anyway...endeleeni Eish boss, saa zingine ni vizuri kukubali. The annuity financing programme has been dropped in favour of the older model, EPC. We all know the annuity programme was going to address the funding challenge. With the old model our broke gava is supposed to somehow finance the entire 10000km. I like your optimism though. Lakini hii kenya yetu ni ya ajabu.If the annuity programme costs 300000000 to tarmac 1 km then the total cost of the 10000 will be 10000*300000000 =shs 3,000,000,000,000 Tenderprenuers are killing this country. Consistency is better than intensity
Swenani wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Fyatu wrote:Kenya power guys put wire and installed a meter on my grandmothers grass thatched house in June this year and disappeared without connecting the electricity. I have never seen a decent permanent house being roofed with thatch, connect me with the fundi who did the thatched roof for your grand ma (of course if he did a good job), I would love to try it on my house. Consistency is better than intensity
PeterReborn wrote:Swenani wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Fyatu wrote:Kenya power guys put wire and installed a meter on my grandmothers grass thatched house in June this year and disappeared without connecting the electricity. I have never seen a decent permanent house being roofed with thatch, connect me with the fundi who did the thatched roof for your grand ma (of course if he did a good job), I would love to try it on my house. what is wrong with trying to improve my humble abode, a middle class wazuan has built a nice house for the grand ma with a thatched roof, just wanted to see if I can do the same for my house. not many even bother to put up decent houses for the parents or grand parents so we should congratulate @Fyatu for a job well done.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:PeterReborn wrote:Swenani wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Fyatu wrote:Kenya power guys put wire and installed a meter on my grandmothers grass thatched house in June this year and disappeared without connecting the electricity. I have never seen a decent permanent house being roofed with thatch, connect me with the fundi who did the thatched roof for your grand ma (of course if he did a good job), I would love to try it on my house. what is wrong with trying to improve my humble abode, a middle class wazuan has built a nice house for the grand ma with a thatched roof, just wanted to see if I can do the same for my house. not many even bother to put up decent houses for the parents or grand parents so we should congratulate @Fyatu for a job well done. @sitaki.kujulikana, utajukikana tu kuwa wewe ni kijana mdogo acting like a teenager who thinks he knows everything! You said " I have never seen a decent permanent house being roofed with thatch". That means you have not gone places. Find out where this is in Kenya and go ask them the fundi to do one for your grand-mother
dunkang wrote:alma1 wrote:On a serious note, who thinks that Jubilee can deliver anything. They have to rebrand to become sijui JAPanese.
Now, bite me. THINGS JUBILEE STARTED THAT WERE NOT PLANNED BY KIBAKI 1. NYS Scandal (Though was there previously with Moi and Jomo) 2. Cyber Bullying critics 3. Killing the economy ( this may proceed to be worse than Moi's) 4. 5. Harrydre If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:PeterReborn wrote:Swenani wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Fyatu wrote:Kenya power guys put wire and installed a meter on my grandmothers grass thatched house in June this year and disappeared without connecting the electricity. I have never seen a decent permanent house being roofed with thatch, connect me with the fundi who did the thatched roof for your grand ma (of course if he did a good job), I would love to try it on my house. what is wrong with trying to improve my humble abode, a middle class wazuan has built a nice house for the grand ma with a thatched roof, just wanted to see if I can do the same for my house. not many even bother to put up decent houses for the parents or grand parents so we should congratulate @Fyatu for a job well done. Don't get me wrong, i never built the house for grandma. It was built by the village fundi who has a penchant for 2nd generation onywaji. I doubt if at all i qualify to be middle class, but if shoping at tusky's can be used as a yardstick, then yes, iam middle class Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
FRM2011 wrote:murchr wrote:If you read the article, there's no where that it mentions Jubilee abandoning the project but anyway...endeleeni Eish boss, saa zingine ni vizuri kukubali. The annuity financing programme has been dropped in favour of the older model, EPC. We all know the annuity programme was going to address the funding challenge. With the old model our broke gava is supposed to somehow finance the entire 10000km. I like your optimism though. 36 bloggers If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:FRM2011 wrote:murchr wrote:If you read the article, there's no where that it mentions Jubilee abandoning the project but anyway...endeleeni Eish boss, saa zingine ni vizuri kukubali. The annuity financing programme has been dropped in favour of the older model, EPC. We all know the annuity programme was going to address the funding challenge. With the old model our broke gava is supposed to somehow finance the entire 10000km. I like your optimism though. 36 bloggers I suspect the 36 bloggers are the second or even the third batch to be hired. IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
mwenza wrote:Swenani wrote:FRM2011 wrote:murchr wrote:If you read the article, there's no where that it mentions Jubilee abandoning the project but anyway...endeleeni Eish boss, saa zingine ni vizuri kukubali. The annuity financing programme has been dropped in favour of the older model, EPC. We all know the annuity programme was going to address the funding challenge. With the old model our broke gava is supposed to somehow finance the entire 10000km. I like your optimism though. 36 bloggers I suspect the 36 bloggers are the second or even the third batch to be hired. Na sasa.....ata kama kizungu imekuwa kizungumkuti.....how does abandoning one strategy become abandoning the project....lakini endeleeni I haven't said you should stop "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Guys from diaspora, rongai, have been holding on to to hope on this annuity financing thing. They had harassed CS Kamau on Twitter until he gave his word that the contract for dialling of magadi road would be awarded by June this year. Indeed on the Kenha website the road was under the first lot and appears top on the list under nairobi county.
And now this. The gava has gone back to the old system where you allocate a budget, design the road, procure and construct.
The poor residents of ongata rongai will have to wait for several years to get their road done. On average one takes 5 hours in traffic to and from work. It works out to 54 days in a year sitting in traffic. Or 14% of your life sitting in traffic.
Yet they voted in jubilee overwhelmingly. Am not sure whether to pity them at the betrayal or simply say ; serves you are right diasporans.
FRM2011 wrote:Guys from diaspora, rongai, have been holding on to to hope on this annuity financing thing. They had harassed CS Kamau on Twitter until he gave his word that the contract for dialling of magadi road would be awarded by June this year. Indeed on the Kenha website the road was under the first lot and appears top on the list under nairobi county.
And now this. The gava has gone back to the old system where you allocate a budget, design the road, procure and construct.
The poor residents of ongata rongai will have to wait for several years to get their road done. On average one takes 5 hours in traffic to and from work. It works out to 54 days in a year sitting in traffic. Or 14% of your life sitting in traffic.
Yet they voted in jubilee overwhelmingly. Am not sure whether to pity them at the betrayal or simply say ; serves you are right diasporans. Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Swenani wrote:dunkang wrote:alma1 wrote:On a serious note, who thinks that Jubilee can deliver anything. They have to rebrand to become sijui JAPanese.
Now, bite me. THINGS JUBILEE STARTED THAT WERE NOT PLANNED BY KIBAKI 1. NYS Scandal (Though was there previously with Moi and Jomo) 2. Cyber Bullying critics 3. Killing the economy ( this may proceed to be worse than Moi's) 4. 5. Harrydre You can always learn something new everyday. Today I learnt that the problem is Populism (which I previously held dear). If democracy, its voters or leaders yield to populism, your country may struggle to progress. Populism is betrayed by its promises. The correct answer - COMPETENCE European Union are up against populism after the failed Greece (Syriza) experiment, and have succeeded for Cameron (Britain), Rajoy (Portugal), Renzi (Spain) etc. http://blogs.reuters.com/breaki...n-populism-can-be-tamed/
Jubilee now abandons 10,000km road project