wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

8 Pages<1234>»
And the Jubilee Madness Continues...
kiash
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 2:08:45 PM

Imagine how much a mama mboga makes per day .Lets say 3000 multiply this with kitu 500000 mama mbogas country wide. That's kitu 1.5B sh. A guy who works in an office and pays taxes knows the pain of that deduction pale chini kwa pay slip reading net salary.Every one should contribute to the 2 trillion budget.They should get a way to hook in those who will sell in those designated markets.Ask Greeks and they will tell you they wish they could have controlled taxpayers earlier.
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 2:09:10 PM

I think each ministry/sector was to develop some policy on the context of the environment they operate on. That is how we got here ... Some insane copy & paste from some economy God knows where?
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 2:21:22 PM

This is a miss. Real issues to be addressed is why foodstuff is being imported. A tilapia from China is going for 160 while one from lake Victoria is at 800 bob.

I was surprised ati we are eating chicken from China!!! I couldn't believe it!

@Harrydre - I know I should be patriotic but where can I get this Chinese fish?? Hii ya Kenya wanatuumiza sana bwana! If you have a family of four is like you are buying a whole goat bwana!!!
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 2:26:11 PM

A more rational person would go like this.

"Habari Mama mboga, you can no longer sell your mboga by the road side because I have now constructed market and have allocated you stall number 100 at an affordable rate in the vegetables section".

Hii ya AFFA rules is just lunacy
kiash
#15 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 2:35:31 PM

This is a miss. Real issues to be addressed is why foodstuff is being imported. A tilapia from China is going for 160 while one from lake Victoria is at 800 bob.

I was surprised ati we are eating chicken from China!!! I couldn't believe it!

@Harrydre - I know I should be patriotic but where can I get this Chinese fish?? Hii ya Kenya wanatuumiza sana bwana! If you have a family of four is like you are buying a whole goat bwana!!!

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! What ! even chicken! i heard there were eggs from SA and then came tooth picks from China and now you are talking of chicken and fish. These chinese ! but do not worry they are doing that everywhere hapa mayuu pia hata caviar( not that i consume) na panga fish are from shyna these guys produce everything smile
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 4:04:45 PM

@Madam Admin - Does what we are discussing look like politics to you?? Or you are among the Kenyans who like politicizing everything???

Why move the thread to Politics section??
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 4:12:42 PM

How are the benefits and costs of this law distributed among the stakeholders and interest groups?

What problem(s) is this law addressing, and whose problem is it, and why?

Crucially, what technology will be used, and who 'owns' this technology?

If hard power, in the form of fines and imprisonment is also to be used, could it be that the cost of disobedience is so high to the greatest beneficiaries?

What lies ahead? I suspect the undermining of basic human freedoms, and despair, if we don't work on our economic intelligence urgently - 'we' being the losing sides that haven't been considered or seem to be not considered for optimal benefit in this proposal - by each concerned deliberately choosing a mutualist perspective and course of action and being as open as possible in political engagement.
#18 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 4:16:31 PM

@Madam Admin - Does what we are discussing look like politics to you?? Or you are among the Kenyans who like politicizing everything???

Why move the thread to Politics section??

This is politics.
#19 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 4:40:49 PM

One thing people don't realize is that, life gets so difficult with these kind of rules. When the mama mbogas increase the price of tomato to sh50/nyanya, it will not affect CORD or Wiper or Jubilee sycophants alone. It affects everyone. So while, Jubilee sycophants are quiet, they don't know they will be in the same boat as everyone.
#20 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 4:44:01 PM

The sellers must also convince inspectors that food items on display were sorted, graded, processed, packaged, labelled, transported, and stored to standards specified by AFFA.

“All food crops produce and products dealers shall display and use a weighing scale that has been properly calibrated, serviced, inspected”.

Do these guys live in Kenya Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Good move by the govt. This has always been done for export produce since mzungu is very keen on the quality of food he consumes. But it is not done for local produce. Personally i want the govt to ensure that the sukuma and nduma etc i buy are not grown with sewerage water huko dandora and have been handled in a hygienic manner and are fit for human consumption. This will also ensure that farmers don't feed us with vegetables that have just been sprayed with dangerous chemicals (that kill us with cancer) since they have to observe the pre harvest intervals.

Also if i pay 30% tax, i don't see why other kenyans including the vegetable sellers shouldn't as long as their income reaches the taxation threshold. Some of these so called mama mbogas are millionaires, supplying hotels, schools etc, and can put the blue subaru middle class guys to shame income-wise.

http://en.wikipedia.org/..._critical_control_points
8 Pages<1234>»