wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

mungiki- how many must die
B.Timer
#21 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 9:32:00 AM

Eti give land back - sounds familiar - Mugabe-conomics.
Unwittingly,folks are pushing Mugabeism here in Kenya,or a socialism of sorts.
Apart from the Kenyattas and other Kikuyus punching bags,lets not conveniently blind ourselves to who else owns large swathes of land in this country,- stand up the Delamares,Criticos,Kuki Gullmans,Mois,and all the Ranchers aroung Laikipia and elsewhere.
Think again folks.

Having said that,

I thought Mungikism sprouted for the very first time in the Rift valley as a result of ethnic cleansing during the clammer for multi partism and the subsequent elections.
The original raison d'etre,was fighting back rival warriors who were ejecting the Kikuyu out of Rift valley.
Over the years the group has metamorphosed to a monster with a completely diferrent agenda.
Left unchecked,spells doom to all,not to Kikuyus only,as some people have tended to believe. Case in point is - doing business in Nairobi,one has to content with their illegal 'taxes'. Even putting up a building,you got to pay them.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
Brewer
#22 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 9:37:00 AM

Tusker Baridi- you really reached to your backside and hurled your stuff on anything in sight,just to isolate and smear Central Province,and any persons appearing to lead them,a strategy too easy to see nowadays. People are trying to grapple with Mungiki and if you are providing solutions,you may need to appear like you understand the problem first.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 9:45:00 AM

@all

This mungiki thing can only thrive in the larger murang'a / kiambu and nairobi by extention because that is where its origin and culture is found

i remember three / four years ago at their height of impunity in the above mentioned areas they also tried their luck in Meru....they were given matching orders but the stupid thugs thought it was a big joke.......the following day a few of them were lynched and other beaten almost to death.......they have never come back!!

the point is dont give them any breathing space coz they are like camels.....they put their heads first in your tent,then the neck and thereafter the whole body and at that time it will be difficult to get it(camel) out.......so get rid of them before they pitch a tent......na hiyo ndio kazi inaendelea kirinyaga and am proud of those kirinyaga vigilantes!

@TB.......i would advice you leave these central guys alone to sort out their problem...after all its their children/bros/sis/etc,so stay out of it!

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 9:49:00 AM

I think TB has a point. Mungiki certainly have patrons otherwise they would have been stamped out ages ago. But I still differ with TB on his generalizations. Mungiki is no longer a Kikuyu problem though the most pain is certainly being felt in CP at the moment. Its just a matter of time before everyone feels it too. Soon there will be copy cat gangs all over,and everyone will suffer.

God is good
#25 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 10:16:00 AM

kingfisher - LOL... ati the mungiki went to harass Merus? LOL... Who next will they try to harass? The Masais?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
mozenrat
#26 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 10:39:00 AM

How quickly we forget... Just a few short years ago everyone knew... Mungiki DID NOT originate in Central province...It was started in the Rift Valley... specifically in the Laikipia region where Kyuks were being threatened with Molo-like murders.... Membership grew and spread to Central kenya... When the threat that existed in Laikipia subsided,these young men suddenly had nowhere to go and nothing to do... Then Dandora came knocking requiring the same 'Security services' for their matatus from the Taliban or some other group... I actually remember a demonstration by Matatu owners in that area in support of Mungiki who had supposedly 'liberated' them only for them to cry out when they realised that there was no difference between the two groups.... Muranga was just a latter-day base of operation... AND NO Mungiki has nothing to do with Mau Mau...
#27 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 11:42:00 AM

Reference to Mungiki as a central Kenya problem is simply coz it seems that only businesses within the region are targeted. Personally I think its a kenyan problem and as long as the gava is happy to watch them on the news,it will become even worse.

I think the challange for central kenya is to admit your past,the fact of the matter is that Kenyatta and his cronies grabbed all the lands in central (word on the street has it that Kenyattat owns or used to own all the land btn Nai and thika) and pushed Mau Mau fighters to Laikipia,Molo and Nyahururu.

That Mungiki has its origins in Laikipia probably explains why they are refered to us descendants of Mau Mau. I don't think they can justify their actions,as far as I am concerned they are simply criminals out to benefit from the hard work of others.

The Kenyattas,Moi's,Koinange's and the other large land owners must return the land to the people,there is no way we can make them our leaders just for them to turn around and steal from us. It may not happen now but they will return all that land they took.

Infact this people are the one's perpetrating the existence of Mungiki. Btn UK,MK,Saitoti and other Central Kenya leaders thay have the ability to completely wipe out this sect,but they won't coz they are using them for their selfish ends.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
murenj
#28 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 12:21:00 PM

.GUKA.I hope your daughters are not in this thing.....

The cunning of the Buffalo
dashauto
#29 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 12:47:00 PM

obi 1 kanobi

Well said. need I say more. Let the likes of Kenyatta,mk,moi,Koinange,Delamere et al give back the stollen land. Otherwise things will never be the same again.

You can accuse 'them' of perptrating the 'mugabe thing' But unfortunately,that might be the way to go. kwani Kenya ni ya nani?

Wakwende!!! Kenyans have been pushed to the wall and the only option left is to hit back. And hitting back.................

God is never PUZZLED!!!!!!!
B.Timer
#30 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 12:49:00 PM

Justice must be done on the whole issue of Mungiki as we know them today.
They do not have more rights than the rest of us.
They must toil,soil their hands and break a sweat if they expect to earn a living and or create wealth.
This argument about their supposed deprivation of land at independence doesnt quite wash.
At independence,Kenyas population was a paltry 8million or there abouts. I am not aware that,at that time there was anything akin to the current kind of rat race for land.
Any one who knew the value of land and made an effort to get it,got it.
Some got it in the rift valley - bought it from departing Johnies.
If some,ne'er do wells made no effort at all,or got it but later sold it off,then,they have to deal with the situation they find themselves in,without demanding for illegal levies and generally making life difficult for everybody else.

Those wily foxes in govt then,who amassed large tracts of land for themselves,though immoral,they own it legaly and there can not be any civil/legal basis to disposes them of their asset.
Over the years some have sold part and/or and invested the proceeds in different sectors of the economy,- do we also snatch those other investments from them?

The Kenyatta family has,and continues to sell substantial part of their land.
Criticos sold/attached his land for financial facilities.
How do you begin to sort that out - i.e if we were to be mad enough to take that route.

I say,let the Delamares be.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
kanda
#31 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 12:52:00 PM

@Obi
you make valid points. however the problem is not a simple one that can be 'wiped out' overnight. actually i wonder what you mean by 'wipe out'. some time last year,the prime minister alluded to 'talking' to them in an attempt to rehabilitate them (yea i think thats should be the right term). whatever happened to those plans? dialogue has been shown to work sometimes.....obama is trying it and the results might just surprise..when iran agrees to halt nuclear proliferation and al qaeda quits terrorizing america.
nanfor
#32 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:07:00 PM

Simplistic solutions like killing all the mungiki have not solved this problem.

Simpleton attitudes from Tusker Baridi and co. don't only not solve the problem but do not deserve an audience. I know alot of kikuyu and they aren't mungiki.

However,I have a bone to pick with those who bring up land as the problem when anything goes wrong. Who's land are you talking about? How far in history should we go to find the so called 'rightful landowners'? So now Tusker and co want all the kikuyu to beat up Kenyatta on an assumed notion that they stole land. Ah,lets go and kill all the delameres and those that own ranches. Actually Moi is still alive,lets deal with him right now! Grow up!

We are in 2009,trying to convince anyone that land was stolen or not in 1963 is very stupid. Made more stupid by the fact that all of you here were not born then. I hazard to guess that most of you never saw Kenyatta. All your arguments are based on heresay,innuendo and romour. If it were true,why not start in Mau forest,where everyone is burning land that is causing drought and floods all over Kenya?

Mungiki is a social issue. I have said so before and stand by it. When parents fail to lead their children to the right path and look the other way as they do criminal acts,mungiki is the outcome. For those who think it is a solely kikuyu problem,then think again. I would like you to visit a slum and then let us see if the youth in that area will let you go because you aren't a kikuyu.

Killing people never solved the problem. Remember when the took out the Taliban,you cheered. Now another group is taking out the mungiki. You are still cheering.

The only solution will be social change. those cheering that the kikuyu are dying might regret it later when their own do the same. By that time,the mungiki may have been solved but what we shall have are hooligans who uproot the railway that feeds their own areas. Go figure!

Parents should stop blaming the gov't when their children burn schools. Parents should spend more time with their kids instead of going to the bar or kesha. parents should be parents and let children know they are responsible for their lives and not kenyatta,delamere,the white man,Odinga,or any other boogeyman you will come up with.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:12:00 PM

Kenyan must learn to family plan. If you give a man 10 acres today,they will be 16 people living there in 30 years time. People are giving birth with no breaks. That is our biggest problem. Delamere land can still be put to proper economic use in a way the environment can be protected. Sub-dividing it put an end to this and the PM has said it before. The carrying capacity for land in Kenya is for 35 million people. With Mau gone,this number will come down. Uganda 100 million. Tanzania 90 million. Hao wengine mumeza wanamalizia wengine.

Let us not look at who owns what. Let us look at how best we can use our land without bringing politics.

Fundamentals + Sentiments = Position
mozenrat
#34 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:12:00 PM

Nanfor.... Umeongea kama wanaume Ishirini na tano point fae... Have one on me...
Ngalaka
#35 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:32:00 PM

When these Mungiki misfits are not extorting money from hard working Kenyans,they fashion themselves as dogs of war,ready to be hired for any dirty jobs.
- During the PEV some Kikuyu personalities,bought those services from Mungiki.
- In the run up to the election,Raila did business with them,and managed to convince them to follow/vote for him.

During the negotiations for the Accord which culminated in the Grand coalition Gov't,Mungiki were swearing in Railas name.
Raila then,in some choice words paid glowing tribute to them,as he defended them,much to the chargrin of his larger constituency.

When Raila was finally co-opted into gov't,in an arrangement that most were beguiled to thinking - he wielded lots of leeway,Mungiki fraternity were toasting and popping up the champagne for their hero!!!!

All that not withstanding,a solution that works need be found.
Mungiki must be stopped on their tracks, pronto.

Kibaki are you listening????

Things arent always the way they look like
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#36 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:33:00 PM

@B-Timer,your arguement does not wash.

The Mzungu took land from Kenyans,and sold to other kenyans. The only reason some kenyans did not grab land after independence like the learned thugs is coz they did not know how,or why.

To them land was a communal asset to be shared,they didn't know one would be issued with a title deed that would make land the personal property of one person. In short they were robbed,or disenfranchised.

This arguement about re-possessing land from the rich being an injustice does not make sense,I don't think the kenyatta's or the Moi's would suddenly become paupers if 90% of their land was re-possesed,they have other assets. Kenyatta's (substantial shares in CBA,AIG among others. ownership of Brookside and Tuzo,Blushield insurance,numerous city buldings,heritage hotels,peponi school). Moi's (Substantial shares in CFC Bank,Unga Limited,Transnational bank,ownership of various businesses including Kabarak University and Sovereign Group.

All this assets have been accumulated through theft of gava cash and sale of government property

Majority of Kenyans live on less than $ a day,tell me where is the justice here. Warudishe shamba,if they must own land,then let them be given half of Turkana or Marsabit.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
Mainat
#37 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:43:00 PM

The worst thing about many issues in Kenya is we refuse to deal with the issues one by one and directly but instead look to bring in other issus and deal with them collectively. There is a squatter problem in Central-specifically some pockets of Nyeri (but even larger Pwani),RV. Deal with that. There is a Mungiki problem. Crime & extortion. Deal with that. There is an unemployment problem among the youth-Kenyawide. There is land corruptly acquired-again Kenyawide. Deal with that.

The other worst thing is Kenyans don't listen to each other or learn becuase they read Nation etc. AE Mathenge and myslef come Karatina/Kirinyaga areas. We've told what the issue relating to those killings. Yet blah blah...

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#38 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:48:00 PM

U guys can argue to antarntica and back but as wananishi,the easiest method we have is hanging these naughty foot soldiers to dry b4 knowing the nxt step. Those allocating blame to land tycoons,be the first to set foot in the delamare.... then come tell us how the gun shots on ua butt are recuperating.....

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
#39 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:53:00 PM

The work of gava,is to organize and lead the kenya society,

80% of kenyans are subsistence farmers (or so says the stats),the former land owners (who are now big business owners) have options away from the land,but most kenyans don't. Stats also show that the most successful agricultural practice are the small scale farmers.

The gava needs to re-organize the society,the highlands are best for small scale agriculture and it should be so,the Tana delta's and the low lying irrigation depedent areas can be used for largescale farming.

The Mungiki's should not be rewarded with anything or for that matter even acknowledged as a group,but they are an indication of deep underlying socio-economic issues that we are facing currently.

The first step to solving this problems is to address the institutionalized grabbing of public property (primarily land) since independence. The only reason people are trying to grab Mau forest is because they have seen their leaders doing the same.

#40 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:57:00 PM

I really don't understand why you guys keep on responding to this Tusker Baridi guy....i have been following his posts in different topics and almost all of them have been anti-kikuyu. He is always the first person to defend Raila while at the same time trashing MK & all PNU MPs especially Kikuyu MPs....You need to move on and please stop this pointless anti-kikuyu campaign you seem to potray in your posts.

Just look at some of his posts on Equity Bank...

life is too short to blend in