Investor
Stocks
Equity Afia- Another first from Equity
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
The health sector in Kenya is no where near exploitation, he will make money given that he can afford modern equipment "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Member Joined: 7/9/2011 Posts: 730 Location: Nairobi
sparkly wrote:The Directors are letting their hobbies and personal interests cloud their minds.
This is something that can be done under Britam. clinic=hobby our goals are best achieved indirectly
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/11/2006 Posts: 971 Location: Home
sparkly wrote:target1360 wrote:the captain has begun loosing focus.reminds me of msc and dairy,,ethanol and electricity generation. he should stick to his area of competence if you ask me.has equitel even been launched? I also don't see how Equity will compete with the Big Banking Boys of Africa if they start building clinics all over Kenya. I wish Wazua had a like button. Well, were the "other"shareholders informed of this decision? Like someone posted, Bebapay, Equitel and that loan product in which it partnered with Safaricom were all DOA.
Come on chaps, this is a brilliant CSR project that everyone should be welcoming. Just like the Mpesa Academy
Kenyans restrict their imagination too much. Suggesting Equity stick to Banking only is too 1920's!!! You have been given an example of Samsung. Now I will give you another one. Google!!! Google started as a search engine. They moved to full blown software development. Now they have gone into areas most people cannot even imagine. See links below: Link 1: Google Launching A Company To Cure <<you will never guess>>Link 2: Google XAnother classical example is General Electric. They are in: Electrical distribution Electric motors Energy Finance Gas Healthcare Lighting Locomotives Oil Software Water Weapons Wind turbines Link: General ElectricEquity is just getting started! I told you this on February last year. See post#21 in this thread. In ten, twenty years (God willing) we will be having a totally different discussion. Some of us in yachts and some of us in boats at Uhuru Park. Choices will have consequences. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:Kenyans restrict their imagination too much. Suggesting Equity stick to Banking only is too 1920's!!! You have been given an example of Samsung. Now I will give you another one. Google!!! Google started as a search engine. They moved to full blown software development. Now they have gone into areas most people cannot even imagine. See links below: Link 1: Google Launching A Company To Cure <<you will never guess>>Link 2: Google XAnother classical example is General Electric. They are in: Electrical distribution Electric motors Energy Finance Gas Healthcare Lighting Locomotives Oil Software Water Weapons Wind turbines Link: General ElectricEquity is just getting started! I told you this on February last year. See post#21 in this thread. In ten, twenty years (God willing) we will be having a totally different discussion. Some of us in yachts and some of us in boats at Uhuru Park. Choices will have consequences. Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
Philips had light bulbs as their core business for so long. They are now the largest manufacturers of medical and diagnostic equipment. Hitachi started in consumer electronics and now they are in over 20 disciplines including Financial services such as insurance etc. They are also the ones that built the Bullet Train in Japan and are upgrading the entire railway network in England. For most of these companies, and for Equity, the largest drive is to trend on areas that present the largest opportunity and more so to keep your funds together. There is no point for someone taking money from Equity to go pay for healthcare. If Equity can ensure that the money you take for healthcare is spent in an Equity health facility, Equity wins both sides. Health and Education are some of the primary cost areas for the common mwananchi and that is the league that Equity needs to play in. That is why in my unsolicited opinion, i would 100% support EGF to start also Equity Academies so that we give school fees money to parents to spend in Equity Academies. Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
Fomoney wrote:Lolest! wrote:The clinics are run by the Equity Foundation.
CSR? For a profit. Only CSR to places like children's homes is real CSR The rest is marketing-increasing brand visibility. Much like politicians whose contributions to fundraisers is for making them more visible
I think JM has ran out of ideas. If one lacks ideas, the best thing to do is use the old idea in another location that has similar characteristics as Kenya prior to equity. He should aim at colonizing another country and be a top tier bank in that country...perhaps in Africa or Asia A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
S.Mutaga III wrote:I think JM has ran out of ideas. If one lacks ideas, the best thing to do is use the old idea in another location that has similar characteristics as Kenya prior to equity. He should aim at colonizing another country and be a top tier bank in that country...perhaps in Africa or Asia All in the pipeline my friend. All in the pipeline. Chill, get a cup of coffee and watch. Either from the inside or from the outside! Let's revisit this conversation every two years. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:S.Mutaga III wrote:I think JM has ran out of ideas. If one lacks ideas, the best thing to do is use the old idea in another location that has similar characteristics as Kenya prior to equity. He should aim at colonizing another country and be a top tier bank in that country...perhaps in Africa or Asia All in the pipeline my friend. All in the pipeline. Chill, get a cup of coffee and watch. Either from the inside or from the outside! Let's revisit this conversation every two years. JM has not gotten member where it is by sitting on his laurels and hoping customers will show up. He has gone out there and hustled for every coin. He has led in innovation at almost every level - too bad CBA upstaged him with SHWARI - but this is just his type of thing. I have written severally on this forum that Healthcare needs an Equity Hospital/The Indian model. Someone who will provide basic outpatient healthcare without charging 10K plus as happens somewhere in Upperhill and along Parklands road. We sorely need this and I can only hope meba succeeds. You see in India, healthcare is so cheap, heart surgeries cost just a few thousand dollars inclusive of flight cost, accommodation, doctors fees, the works. Someone needs to shake up healthcare and I wish meba all the best. Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Kenyans restrict their imagination too much. Suggesting Equity stick to Banking only is too 1920's!!! You have been given an example of Samsung. Now I will give you another one. Google!!! Google started as a search engine. They moved to full blown software development. Now they have gone into areas most people cannot even imagine. See links below: Link 1: Google Launching A Company To Cure <<you will never guess>>Link 2: Google XAnother classical example is General Electric. They are in: Electrical distribution Electric motors Energy Finance Gas Healthcare Lighting Locomotives Oil Software Water Weapons Wind turbines Link: General ElectricEquity is just getting started! I told you this on February last year. See post#21 in this thread. In ten, twenty years (God willing) we will be having a totally different discussion. Some of us in yachts and some of us in boats at Uhuru Park. Choices will have consequences. @Maich Wacha matusi!! You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/28/2008 Posts: 2,276 Location: Kibish
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,098 Location: Nairobi
Sober wrote:watu wameiona Government imelala. Soon Safaricom will also open up Universities and colleges Safaricom is opening a top-notch school in Thika. M-Pesa Academy or something like that. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
mkeiy wrote:target1360 wrote:the captain has begun loosing focus.reminds me of msc and dairy,,ethanol and electricity generation. he should stick to his area of competence if you ask me.has equitel even been launched? How many sectors is Samsung group involved in? Virtually all sectors. Top-notch shipbuilder. Leader in chip dev't & manufacturing. Leader in display panels. Builder of the tallest building in the world. Leader in smart phones/phones. One of the top insurance companies in their home market. One of the leading soft drinks producer in their home market. Also involved in petrochemicals, automobile, medicine etc etc. It's been done successfully elsewhere. It can be done here. Cut Mwangi some slack. And Apple designs & sells (it doesn't even manufacture) fewer products [phones, computers, tablets and software] and makes 5x the profits of Samsung. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
We need QUALITY LOW-COST healthcare in Kenya. Let Equity do what they can do about it. 1) ATMs at all clinics will be Equity. 2) Your payment card will be managed by Equity. 3) The doctors, nurses, etc will have accounts, loans at Equity 4) The branding will promote Equity Bank 5) The clinics will be financed by Equity [loans to the entrepreneurs] 6) Equity has social connections and goodwill. Imports can be financed by Equity. 7) If you need money for treatment, Equity will lend it to you. At 3% per month. Payable by your relatives who will sign guarantees. So Equity gets a huge boost! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 3/14/2012 Posts: 577 Location: Nairobi Kenya
Go Equity! How about some support for a Kenyan brand venturing into a new market. Venturing out of your comfort zone is part of entrepreneurship. Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
Mwangi and by extension Equity revolutionized the banking in kenya as we know it today.
I believe HE CAN! change the way we know healthcare today. Its Possible
I am a Loyal Member and will continue to be
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
MaichBlack wrote:Kenyans restrict their imagination too much. Suggesting Equity stick to Banking only is too 1920's!!! You have been given an example of Samsung. Now I will give you another one. Google!!! Google started as a search engine. They moved to full blown software development. Now they have gone into areas most people cannot even imagine. See links below: Link 1: Google Launching A Company To Cure <<you will never guess>>Link 2: Google XAnother classical example is General Electric. They are in: Electrical distribution Electric motors Energy Finance Gas Healthcare Lighting Locomotives Oil Software Water Weapons Wind turbines Link: General ElectricEquity is just getting started! I told you this on February last year. See post#21 in this thread. In ten, twenty years (God willing) we will be having a totally different discussion. Some of us in yachts and some of us in boats at Uhuru Park. Choices will have consequences. As an investor/business man you change strategy if- 1. You have exhausted your niche/market and can apply your resources elsewhere at a higher ROC; 2. What you are doing does not make you money and you change your strategy to do something that is profitable. Has EB exhausted banking? Is health more profitable than banking? If the answer to these questions are anything less than a definite yes, then JM is going to the casino with shareholders money. Life is short. Live passionately.
Investor
Stocks
Equity Afia- Another first from Equity