wazua Wed, Jun 24, 2026

Kisumu and Nairobi worst perfoming counties
#11 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 1:10:15 PM

My governor (Waithaka) is so useless,he does not even appear in the list of failures......mafi ya kuku!!
kiash
#12 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 1:34:06 PM

Kumbe @Cyprian Awiti despite the hugest tumbo he can still perform.

If this trend is sustained for some years, the former marginalized counties may soon overtake Nairobi in matters developmentsmile

ION, I feel this salary and expenditure issues are not totally on the governors' shoulders. Think about Nairobi, if he tries to fire people he doesn't need, the Sonko's and Shebesh's of this world will camp at their offices saying they are firing "their people". I think Mombasa is even worse. Not to mention the greedy MCAs.Sad Its tricky.

Yeah and people will start re-migrating to those areas. By the way is there any reduction of rural to urban migration since devolution was started? Hakuna NGO imefanya study? This would be one good effect .
Pedes
#13 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 1:49:15 PM

In some of these counties the construction of a couple of public lavatory is development, because they did have one in the first place. If NBI/MSA were to do the same it wouldn't be thought of in the same capacity development.
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
timizo
#14 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 2:34:14 PM

This is just one report which may not be 100% fair to all the governors. Let me give an example.
1. There is a significant number of funds that is given to Turkana because of its size.
2. Low population density.
3. Very few % of people in need of county government as services compared to total county population. More developed counties with more people living in urban areas have more people in need of county services.
All these factors means that a county like Turkana can operate with a small number of county staff and therefore can have more funds allocated to development expenditure.
-Added services offered to residents which are not development in nature. All those Ambulance and Police cars bought by Machakos will result to better services to residents but huge amounts of non- development expenditure incurred to maintain them.
- Better Quality services will result to more recurrent expenditure.

But I expect some counties to be doing very well like Kiambu - a small county in size with a large population of non Kiambu residents doing well and working in Nairobi who do not depend on county services like medical etc. but who helped it get a huge allocation.
#15 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 2:52:01 PM

@timizo you raise some good argument. I was also wondering why NFD has low recurring expenditure while the big 2 cities are in the bottom 10. I thought maybe wages huko are low. Nice point. Higher population leads to higher labour force for schools, hospitals etc

But why are all the other 7 counties in top 10? The 2 Abagusii counties are in the top 10! These are densely populated areas!

Your point 1 is not valid. We are comparing percentages not absolute figures
#16 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 3:11:15 PM

I think those counties with low % are redirecting funds to politicians in the cold and booking them as admin & salaries expenses.
#17 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 3:29:21 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
majimaji wrote:
How can citizens fire/impeach a Governor for non-performance? I have in mind the Nairobi one.

They should start with the Kiambu one.

wewe ngoja General Mpobiz of KDF(Kavogo Defence Forces) akushike

Utafinywo hizo niniismile
timizo
#18 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 4:21:21 PM

@timizo you raise some good argument. I was also wondering why NFD has low recurring expenditure while the big 2 cities are in the bottom 10. I thought maybe wages huko are low. Nice point. Higher population leads to higher labour force for schools, hospitals etc

But why are all the other 7 counties in top 10? The 2 Abagusii counties are in the top 10! These are densely populated areas!

Your point 1 is not valid. We are comparing percentages not absolute figures

On point 1, I wanted to demonstrate that since population largely determines recurrent expenditure, allocation based on county size may be helping big counties increase their expenditure on development expenditure. Poor counties also should have more access to development cash because this also is a factor in allocation of money. Of course governors performance is also a factor but not 100% indicative of the true position.
Remember there are those that took time before they started to implement development projects. May be we need to come out with an index to really rank how best governors are doing

But we need to seriously be checking the following websites if we would want to really evaluate what our governors are doing.

http://www.cob.go.ke/

http://www.crakenya.org/

http://www.kenao.go.ke/

Parliament is doing zero work on its oversight role and I consider them to be the biggest enemy of this country. Akina Keter thinks oversight is storming a waybridge office.

Alba
#19 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 5:51:39 PM

The thread opener must really hate Kidero
#20 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 6:13:12 PM

Kumbe hapo top 10 Cord beat Jubilee 7/3 ndiye hakuna kelele!!!!!