US Midterm Elections 2014
Rollout wrote:harrydre wrote:only 1/3 of registered voters showed up to vote! It's hard to get 50% of people to vote in US even in general election because unlike in Africa where if my tribe is not on the table the whole region can go without food. Elections just don't have direct impact to people's lives like it has in Kenya so it's hard to get people to vote. HAHA, so when they speak of Hispanics Blacks Asians and their interests etc..how does that differ from tribe? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Does Hillary Clinton still have a chance?
washiku wrote:Does Hillary Clinton still have a chance? Yes, the republican voters have been dewindling in numbers!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
harrydre wrote:Kasin Kwisha!
His remaining years will be a nightmare.
He still got the veto powers!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 1,063 Location: Kenya
McReggae wrote:harrydre wrote:Kasin Kwisha!
His remaining years will be a nightmare.
He still got the veto powers!!! @Harrydare...look at you! How now. The man is still powerful and American politics are based on values not tribalism like your Jubilee government.
murchr wrote:Rollout wrote:harrydre wrote:only 1/3 of registered voters showed up to vote! It's hard to get 50% of people to vote in US even in general election because unlike in Africa where if my tribe is not on the table the whole region can go without food. Elections just don't have direct impact to people's lives like it has in Kenya so it's hard to get people to vote. HAHA, so when they speak of Hispanics Blacks Asians and their interests etc..how does that differ from tribe? I am surprised you don't see the difference! You don't need hispanic or Black godfather to get into US army, you will need a kalenjin or a kyuk godfather to get to Kenya police or Army. You don't need black IRS executive to be employed downstream in IRS but you will need a kale OR Kyuk kenya internal revenue to get a job as a there. The point is you'll hear Hispanics or Black interest but it's policy are very far from people's daily life, it's not something that will make someone emotional. That's why social issues really get americans to polls because social issues are closed to people; birth control and stuff. In kenya, election mean more than in US or developed countries, the road in your region will not be build if your region is not on the table.
Nabwire wrote:Rollout wrote:harrydre wrote:only 1/3 of registered voters showed up to vote! It's hard to get 50% of people to vote in US even in general election because unlike in Africa where if my tribe is not on the table the whole region can go without food. Elections just don't have direct impact to people's lives like it has in Kenya so it's hard to get people to vote. Hii ni uwongo, elections have a very direct impact on people, especially the poor. The person voted in will have control over what policies can pass and what wont. Case in point is Rahm Emmanuel in Chicago legislating what inner schools can stay open and which ones should be shut down. Please stop this pipe dream of painting the US as some sort of fairy land place where things work differently than in the rest of the world. Voters didnt turn out simply because they feel disenfranchised. Obama promised alot, yet unemployment is high(especially among the poor), jobs reports are not that good, police brutality is rampant etc etc, so his base just didnt show up which translated to a Republican victory We're probably talking about two different America, majority of voters are seniors people over 50yrs( worried about retirement) and the poor(worried about welfare). That's less than 30% of the country, the rest are people you have to work hard to get them. In 2008 when everyone was excited of Obama the turn out was the highest in 60 years and it was only 62%. You can illustrate using chicago stuff but alot of people don't share those experience, alot of people are not on welfare or worried about schooling. Alot of people haven't been out of work, you're talking about 6% unemployement even if those people all voted, it's still 6% of the voters! The reason why people don't vote is simply because election don't mean much, if democrat win or republican wins, majority of Americans lives will not change but in Kenya? Ask me, I am a Kale our lives changed when Moi left and changed again when Ruto got to be VP, thats a reality! Nabwire, once you get to a certain economic level in US then you'll understand what I mean. You just won't see the reason.
I'm glad you know what economic level I'm on, this nonsense of some people trying to paint the US as a perfect place needs to stop. The US goes through the same struggles that the rest of the world goes through, the only difference is there is a better social safety net. Its ludicrous to say that voting does not affect people's lives in the US. First of all, a 6% unemployment rate does not translate to only 6% of lost votes, please revise your Economics. Secondly, if the wealthy did not care about who gets voted in, why do Republicans continously fight to win the elections. Going by your logic, they should just sit back and let chips fall where they may. Elections dictate alot about any country's direction. A Republican win means alot, especially to the wealthy, because policies will be put in place that are favorable to Wall Street and businesses. But in your shallow thinking, you imagine that elections dont matter much.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
Rethuglicans are very goood at messaging and propaganda. Obama has done very well:
1. Unemployment is below 6% and still improving 2. US economy is growing at 3% which is much better than most western nations 3. Stock market is setting new records 4. Many people now have universal healthcare 5. Osama was terminated and the troops are leaving Afghanistan and Iraq
On and on and on...............
But the right wing has a very good propaganda machine that blows everything out of proprtion and makes it look like Obama is the worst president. Juzi there was a huge controversy eti because Obama saluted while holding a cup of coffee.
Also, most people who vote in mid terms are the elederly and country dwellers who have nothing better to do. And these are the people who are easily scared by republican scare mongers.
Recently Rethuglicans started a false rumour eti Obama wants to give 34 million green cards to illegal mexicans. The thought of America being taken over by mexican immigrants scared the elderly and the redneck simpletons to the point that they turned out in large numbers to the polls.
Right wingers are very adept at false rumour mongering because most country dwellers are simpletons. Bush won in 2004 largely because of the rumour eti another 9-11 was going to happen if Kerry was elected. Mara sijui ati Kerry is an atheist who wants to ban the bible. There was also the swiftboat lies etc etc
Believe it or not, congressional elections in the US are mostly won by peddling half truths and lies. You have these 10 second commercials that just tell lies. Essentially whomever raises more money wins because they can pepper the airwaves with lies
Nabwire wrote:I'm glad you know what economic level I'm on, this nonsense of some people trying to paint the US as a perfect place needs to stop. The US goes through the same struggles that the rest of the world goes through, the only difference is there is a better social safety net. Its ludicrous to say that voting does not affect people's lives in the US. First of all, a 6% unemployment rate does not translate to only 6% of lost votes, please revise your Economics. Secondly, if the wealthy did not care about who gets voted in, why do Republicans continously fight to win the elections. Going by your logic, they should just sit back and let chips fall where they may. Elections dictate alot about any country's direction. A Republican win means alot, especially to the wealthy, because policies will be put in place that are favorable to Wall Street and businesses. But in your shallow thinking, you imagine that elections dont matter much. You listen too much to political commercials, this is not even economics! Who told you republicans are the wealthy and democrates are the poor? Isn't it political commercials? Both political parties have their own wealthy people fighting self interest, oil and coal for republicans, Green energy and emerging technologies for democrats. Everything else is just packaging of the message! Policies will be put in place that favours wall street? What the f*** do that even mean? Wall street main street thing is just politics. Do you want to tell me you believe that Republicans want to take money from the people and give it to the banks in NYC located along wall street and Democrats what to take the money from those banks and distribute to the people? Do you see how stupid that sound when you break it down? If you want to know want to know how a 22-40yr old American making between $60k-$200k a year think about election, just find one and ask why if they voted; if they didn't they wouldn't tell you they didn't because they are disenfranchised, they'll tell you it doesn't matter to them and it make no difference to their lives. But if you talk to unemployeed person or someone waiting for welfare they'll probably be right but again those people make up a very small % of the population!
US Midterm Elections 2014