wazua Tue, Apr 21, 2026

Being Indian in Kenya feels like ‘Having an Abusive Lover’
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 9:41:42 AM

Couple of things:

1. The world is now a global village.

You cannot tell people to "go back" to where they came from whilst they were born here like you. Which village did you yourself come from? Recall 2008 PEV, "the Kikuyus can go back to Central" na kama imejaa hata the Congo Forest if they don't like it, maybe even the Luos to Sudan if Raira is unhappy?

Skill and culture exchange is useful for elements of continuous improvement therefore tolerance is a modern day virtue.

2. I agree, the Indian community in Kenya can do a lot more to integrate with the locals and remove mutual suspicion.

However, there is a lot of negative sentiment toward Indians in Kenya, whether Kenyan Indian or an Indian from Bombay. When we talk of them not integrating, maybe "we" also make it hard for them to do so by "punishing" their kids for the parents sins?..If you go to the middle class Nairobi schooling system, Indians integrate well however put the "community" into private space and we have a "problem".

Personally, Kenyan born Indians are quite OK. A challenge I've experienced is with those who arrive from their mother country with what seems to be a racial issue to black/dark skin including as @sparkly says, not just against us nyeuthi but even amongst themselves based on the caste system.

To get over the 2nd point, what is our role as "locals in making it easier for them to integrate?

3. How much do cultural differences play a part in this? e.g. forever eating meat whilst they forever not eat :) The "Vegetarian Only" apartment blocks and their "idol worshipping" [as per the Christian majority] at the many upcoming temples in the country or even "sanamu" erection e.g. in Kisumu.

4. How much does the economic class difference play a part in this? Perhaps the hoi polloi will always be at odds with communities that are perceivable wealthier than them.
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 10:42:52 AM

Kama ni kubaya rudi nyumbani. The options are wide open. What's wrong with people living as voluntary migrants or immigrants.

Consider also going back home to the Congo area where you voluntarily migrated from with the rest of your Bantu brothers and sisters

And remind the Nilotic peoples to go back to Pubungu Pakwach in Sudan

The Cushites should feel free to move back nortwards from wherever they came from

Sasa tuone Kenya itabaki na nani
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 11:14:13 AM

Maybe before we can advise Indians on how they can integrate we should review or ask ourselves to what extent we the indigenous kenyans i.e okuyos, luos, kaleos, maasai, pokot etc have integrated with each other.
gadj
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 12:33:02 PM

The Indians can never integrate with the locals not in our live times just forget let them continue with their business & us with ours. They themselves consider the black people has outcasts (watu wa chini) how then do u expect them to even consider intermarriage?
vin
#15 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 1:37:49 PM

My brother you have really said it all.Cool way of seeing these situations.I like the way you have said it.

Coolbull wrote:
We have all suffered including our tormentors. It is as a result of living in a sinful world.

Let me pick Kikuyus, most have suffered worse in the very hands of their own.

Let me pick family, some have suffered worse in the very hands of their fathers, mothers, brothers and/or sisters.

Evil appears in different forms; racism, tribalism, nepotism and the other negative isms

In short, this guy should stop crying wolf. Most certainly he is in the 'class' of privileged Kenyans. I don't demean his sentiments, though.

Baby-crying seems to be the norm of the privileged. It reminds of Omtata doing illegal deals within NSSF building then after kushiba came down to town to fart on the government.

Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
wanyee
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 2:09:32 PM

In SA's Kwazulu Natal ...Indians there are more integrated locally, i bumped into many mixed black/indian persons ,..hell there are even kijiji's for Indians there, i even saw indian chokoras..they are quite local there as they come..but come here i don't know where they get their AIRS from..cant explain
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 6:24:20 PM

Maybe before we can advise Indians on how they can integrate we should review or ask ourselves to what extent we the indigenous kenyans i.e okuyos, luos, kaleos, maasai, pokot etc have integrated with each other.

Integration happened a long time ago, we go to the same clubs, drink the same beers, sports, invite each other to partys like weddings, intermarriages today have become the norm today . all of our big Towns today are host almost every body from everywhere . Thanks to our civil service and the private sectors of the economy. The problem starts when politics enter the scene. I blame baba.
#18 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 9:38:17 PM

gadj wrote:
The Indians can never integrate with the locals not in our live times just forget let them continue with their business & us with ours. They themselves consider the black people has outcasts (watu wa chini) how then do u expect them to even consider intermarriage?

Reminds me of one daring soul who married a local lady in my hometown. Dude was promptly disowned and disinherited by his 'brothers' and had to literally begin life afresh. I still recall in my college days how he and his very kikuyu wife used to escort their daughter to the bus-stop apande matatu ya kumpeleka shule.
#19 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 9:41:36 PM

Kama ni kubaya rudi nyumbani. The options are wide open. What's wrong with people living as voluntary migrants or immigrants.

Sasa hapa ndipo shida ilipo dada. Imagine a situation where you were born in Kenya, as were you parents, grandparents and great-grandparents. Ukiambiwa urudi kwenyu utaenda wapi?
#20 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 10:13:01 AM

Pack a bag.

At the first sign of "trouble" run and then come back to sort the resulting mess.

As the Un-native Chinese getting it from "native" Vietnamese