#11 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:39:53 AM

Siringi wrote:
This I support but some mboys will not see beyond kutendasmile
IEBC and 2017 tryanny seen it on twirra tayari

C&P

The Government will register all Kenyans afresh in a new national digital database.

The registration aims at addressing security issues as well as assist in national planning.

It will also assist the government in identifying persons with forged or fake identification documents.

The database will contain biometric details of all persons, land, establishments and assets.

The Ministries of Information, Communication and Technology and Interior and Coordination of National Government will spearhead the registration.

Deputy President William Ruto has said that there were gaps in the different registers currently being held by the government.

“In order to address the prevailing security challenges, we intend to consolidate all current registers of persons into a single national register with accurate and relevant information,” Mr Ruto said.

MISSING LINKS

He said there were missing links in birth registration, Personal Identification Number, Public Service Commission, National Social Security Fund and National Hospital Insurance Fund registers and voter registration, among others.

He spoke when he met commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to seek their input on how best the government could register all Kenyans.

He said the government decided to consult the IEBC because it has the technical expertise on registration matters since it used biometric voter listing in the run-up to the 2013 General Elections.

The Commission chairman Issack Hassan welcome d the proposed registration saying it is an important undertaking that will make the work of IEBC easier and also help to cut costs.

“With an accurate and credible database an electoral commission will not need to conduct a parallel voter registration as it can draw information from the national database,” Mr Hassan said.

The IEBC chairman said digital registration was the practice in developed democracies.

GUIDE IN PLANNING

ICT Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i said the new register will guide the government in planning as well as help the IEBC in planning future elections since there will be readily available information.

“This is your know-your-citizen-campaign that will help us develop a reliable master database that will assist in national planning and security,” Mr Matiang’i said.

Interior Cabinet Secretary Joseph ole Lenku said registration of persons was an important component in tackling security challenges.

“We must know who is a Kenyan and who is not. We can only do this from a credible digital database,” Mr Lenku said.

A technical team from the two ministries is working out modalities of rolling out the registration programme.

It is anticipated the registration will take a period of up to six months once the government puts the required infrastructure in place.

/url]

This is long overdue I hope we will be able to use our national ID's as vote registration slip NSSF,NHIF,university admission number etc instead of haivng so many IDs and cards in your wallet

no such thing exists in kenya!

Noted
#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:43:46 AM

Siringi wrote:

C&P

The Government will register all Kenyans afresh in a new national digital database.

The registration aims at addressing security issues as well as assist in national planning.

It will also assist the government in identifying persons with forged or fake identification documents.

The database will contain biometric details of all persons, land, establishments and assets.

The Ministries of Information, Communication and Technology and Interior and Coordination of National Government will spearhead the registration.

Deputy President William Ruto has said that there were gaps in the different registers currently being held by the government.

“In order to address the prevailing security challenges, we intend to consolidate all current registers of persons into a single national register with accurate and relevant information,” Mr Ruto said.

MISSING LINKS

He said there were missing links in birth registration, Personal Identification Number, Public Service Commission, National Social Security Fund and National Hospital Insurance Fund registers and voter registration, among others.

He spoke when he met commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to seek their input on how best the government could register all Kenyans.

He said the government decided to consult the IEBC because it has the technical expertise on registration matters since it used biometric voter listing in the run-up to the 2013 General Elections.

The Commission chairman Issack Hassan welcome d the proposed registration saying it is an important undertaking that will make the work of IEBC easier and also help to cut costs.

“With an accurate and credible database an electoral commission will not need to conduct a parallel voter registration as it can draw information from the national database,” Mr Hassan said.

The IEBC chairman said digital registration was the practice in developed democracies.

GUIDE IN PLANNING

ICT Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i said the new register will guide the government in planning as well as help the IEBC in planning future elections since there will be readily available information.

“This is your know-your-citizen-campaign that will help us develop a reliable master database that will assist in national planning and security,” Mr Matiang’i said.

Interior Cabinet Secretary Joseph ole Lenku said registration of persons was an important component in tackling security challenges.

“We must know who is a Kenyan and who is not. We can only do this from a credible digital database,” Mr Lenku said.

A technical team from the two ministries is working out modalities of rolling out the registration programme.

It is anticipated the registration will take a period of up to six months once the government puts the required infrastructure in place.

/url]

This is long overdue I hope we will be able to use our national ID's as vote registration slip NSSF,NHIF,university admission number etc instead of haivng so many IDs and cards in your wallet

Noted

I thought in the last election all one needed was an ID? Thus this has already worked? Or you mean elimination of the need to register as voter yet you already have an ID?
#13 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:53:16 AM

Siringi wrote:

C&P

MISSING LINKS

GUIDE IN PLANNING

/url]

Noted

I thought in the last election all one needed was an ID? Thus this has already worked? Or you mean elimination of the need to register as voter yet you already have an ID?

Yes,
#14 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 12:47:35 PM

Siringi wrote:

C&P

MISSING LINKS

GUIDE IN PLANNING

/url]

Noted

Yes,

typical outsider talk - voter registration is not just collecting the details of who you are but more importantly... where you want to express your suffrage. I have a farm in Nakuru, a house in rongai, I work in Machakos and have a beach villa at the coast - where do I vote? That is the core aspect of voter registration! expressing WHERE i am to vote to assist in planning as the EMB facilitates my right to vote.
jokes
#15 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 1:14:13 PM

if it eliminates the need to carry all those cards in my wallet i am for it, but i highly doubt this
kwani watu wata-tegeneza pesa wapi, na job creation nayo?

I will wait and see lakini serikal ni hile hile.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 2:31:20 PM

Siringi wrote:

C&P

MISSING LINKS

GUIDE IN PLANNING

/url]

Noted

Yes,

typical outsider talk - voter registration is not just collecting the details of who you are but more importantly... where you want to express your suffrage. I have a farm in Nakuru, a house in rongai, I work in Machakos and have a beach villa at the coast - where do I vote? That is the core aspect of voter registration! expressing WHERE i am to vote to assist in planning as the EMB facilitates my right to vote.

Typical IEBC employee talk....Why are you making an assumption that the voter is not logical and ignorant?

If i want to vote in machakos but live in coast then its upto me to make those arrangements? What makes you think that if you force me to register in coast while i stay in rongai; i will travel on the material day to vote?

With digital voting I dont think the turnout should affect planning in a great way
#17 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 3:16:10 PM

Siringi wrote:

C&P

MISSING LINKS

GUIDE IN PLANNING

/url]

Noted

Yes,

Typical IEBC employee talk....Why are you making an assumption that the voter is not logical and ignorant?

If i want to vote in machakos but live in coast then its upto me to make those arrangements? What makes you think that if you force me to register in coast while i stay in rongai; i will travel on the material day to vote?

With digital voting I dont think the turnout should affect planning in a great way

Na ballots? Is there a country that has eliminated the need of ballots completely for the digital?
#18 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 5:31:58 PM

Siringi wrote:

C&P

MISSING LINKS

GUIDE IN PLANNING

/url]

Noted

Yes,

Who told you I am an IEBC employee? Some of the IEBC employees think like you do and that is the reason I am doing my job! you just said it "If i want to vote in machakos but live in coast then its upto me to make those arrangements? " <-- that is called voter registration! you decide where you want to vote and instruct the EMB to facilitate your voting. this information is not part of the civil register as you know - it is given to an independent body called the EMB (at least in english speaking countries). Who told you that digital voting in whatever means it takes does not require planning? if it takes 3 minutes for a person to identify themselves and select all the candidates they are voting for and finish - how many people can one machine facilitate until the end of closing? how many machines will you need to facilitate people voting until the end of voting? you see you are very pedestrian in the way you view elections - you just show up and vote and then wonder what the EMB has been doing for five years have literally no clue of how much planning and effort facilitated your choice to vote! halafu when your candidate loses you walk out saying IEBC stole... oh... like they have time to plan to steal when organising an operation of around 200k people to facilitate kenyans to vote. pedestrian thoughts my friend pedestrian!! ungekuwa karibu ningekupiga ile kofi ya shedef kwa kisogo!
#19 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 5:54:44 PM

Siringi wrote:

C&P

MISSING LINKS

GUIDE IN PLANNING

/url]

Noted

Yes,

Na ballots? Is there a country that has eliminated the need of ballots completely for the digital?

A few countries have done it but some have even rolled back to 'manual' because of one thing - confidence over the systems in use! the UN declaration of human rights states that
The will of the people shall be the basis of the authority of government; this will shall be expressed in periodic and genuine elections which shall be by universal and equal suffrage and shall be held by secret vote or by equivalent free voting procedures.

so elections have to be
1. periodic
2. genuine
3. offer equal suffrage
4. secret
5. free

the question of digital voting is this - is it 'secret'? how sure am I that people cannot deduce that I actually voted for this guy?

is it 'genuine' i.e. does my vote count? were the counted votes really votes that were from real/qualified people?

while it can be argued that these systems work and they do work the question is - how much 'insider' knowledge and skillsets does it to without a doubt trust that the process worked i.e. that you voted and that your vote was counted as it was required and that only votes by eligible people were counted!! should we just agree that? do we have an idolatry with efficient systems that sacrifice transparency at the alter of efficiency? should efficiency be pursued at any cost? Does our embrace of technology put knowledge, power, and control into the hands of a few i.e. the few who can actually assure themselves that the thing works as required? while doing that control may pass from the many to the few who have that special knowledge required to understand and evaluate whether there are adequate safeguards to ensure fairness and accuracy.

Elections are not just elections for the sake of elections - Elections must be fair and must be seen and demonstrated to be fair!
Outvestor
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 6:30:15 PM

Estonia may well be headed that way :

1. Electronic Voting In Estonia

For the IT geeks, the source-code of their server-side platform is up on Github.

2. Estonia's e-voting platform
¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı