wazua Fri, Nov 22, 2024

10 Pages<1234>»
SHOCKED - Less than 15,000 Nairobian's earning above 100k
tnai9
#21 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 8:55:53 AM

what should come out clearly is what is this take home? Is it just your gross salary less PAYE and statutory deductions? Or further less SACCO loans and savings, Insurance policies etc, etc? If Its less all deductions then its true, not many Nairobians are taking home more than 100k.
As an example, I know someone whose gross salary is 642K but his take home is normally between 90 and 99K after all deductions.
Further, the fact that there are only 16000 mortgages doesn't mean its only those who can afford. I know many Nairobians and Kenyans go the route of buying plots and constructing. I believe quite a number of Kenyans can afford 50k-120K from their salaries as mortgages but they choose a different route.
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
a4architect.com
#22 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 9:29:25 AM

Most of Nairobi income is not captured in the data since self employment/informal sector caters for nearly 90% of employment in Kenya.

http://www.ilo.org/globa...5529/lang--en/index.htm

There is a huge number of kenyans earning over 100k per month but not in any of govt records eg the thousands of cyber cafe, bar/rest,private school etc owners.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 10:10:58 AM

80k is enough for a 20k per month rent, 20k car loan payments and a good amount of booze every now and then

net should be slightly over 60. Lets call it 60. That poor fellow is left with 20 for fuel, investments, clothing, entertainment, food and drinks, social issues na ghadhaligha

99k will come to around 80k net, toa 40k jama anabaki na 40k za kujienjoy smile
#24 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 10:13:14 AM

all wazuans who take home more than 100k - inua mikono juu, tuone ni wangapi.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 10:52:40 AM

So many Nairobians earn more than 100K(formal employment).Otherwise living in Nairob on a gross of less than 300K is a hustle
mutiso09
#26 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:01:04 AM

But this should not be surprising in anyway - but again there are loans and some guys earning 50K brag you might think they earn a million.

And those who earn 100K and less than 300K find life more hard in Nairobi
XSK
#27 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 3:38:26 PM

mutiso09 wrote:
But this should not be surprising in anyway - but again there are loans and some guys earning 50K brag you might think they earn a million.

And those who earn 100K and less than 300K find life more hard in Nairobi

@Mutiso09

Kwani how much do you earn? You must be joking about that statement above unless you don't mean what you said and said what you didn't mean! smile

300 k is kidogo for formal employment? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#28 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 5:15:25 PM

what! ati earning less than 100k is a hustle, enyewe hustling means different things to different individuals, hata deputy pork is seen as a hustler by the pork
#29 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 10:30:59 PM

100k is a decent pay and should allow one to do the following; pay rent for 25k, car loan 15k, fuel 10k, school fees 15k, kujienjoy 10k and the rest savings. The food and house costs niza bibi
urstill1
#30 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:23:03 PM

urstill1
#31 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:38:32 PM

tnai9 wrote:
what should come out clearly is what is this take home? Is it just your gross salary less PAYE and statutory deductions? Or further less SACCO loans and savings, Insurance policies etc, etc? If Its less all deductions then its true, not many Nairobians are taking home more than 100k.
As an example, I know someone whose gross salary is 642K but his take home is normally between 90 and 99K after all deductions.
Further, the fact that there are only 16000 mortgages doesn't mean its only those who can afford. I know many Nairobians and Kenyans go the route of buying plots and constructing. I believe quite a number of Kenyans can afford 50k-120K from their salaries as mortgages but they choose a different route.

According to the law no one should have a take home less than ⅓ of the gross. I therefore do no trust your statement.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 9:25:33 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
100k is a decent pay and should allow one to do the following; pay rent for 25k, car loan 15k, fuel 10k, school fees 15k, kujienjoy 10k and the rest savings. The food and house costs niza bibi

Which rest? with a gross of 100K you net is exactly 75,704 assuming the only allowable deductions are NSSF and NHIF.

If you contribute to a pension,sacco shares, insurance premiums etc, you net pay further goes down.

If your wife is not working and you have a kid in kindergaten/primary school,fuel ya gari,repairs, support your family,tithe.education(either for you or your spouse,stima,save for a plot,side farming huko ocha and other emergencies your expenses per month easily exceed 100K

People who earn less than 100K in nairobi are barely living and those earning less than 300K are just hustling.
#33 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 9:31:08 AM

urstill1 wrote:
tnai9 wrote:

According to the law no one should have a take home less than ⅓ of the gross. I therefore do no trust your statement.

According to what kenyans do, the insurance premiums are deducted from the bank and not by the employer,So in essence your pay before insurance premiums maybe 1/3 of your gross but once you deduct the premiums it falls below 1/3.

You should also know that that law is rarely implemented.I have seen a payslip of a police officer earning a gross of 20K, net of 18,229 before deductions and take home is Kshs.2,000 per month.The deductions were sacco shares, education loan,development loan and emergency loan

bird_man
#34 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 9:37:06 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Which rest? with a gross of 100K you net is exactly 75,704 assuming the only allowable deductions are NSSF and NHIF.

If you contribute to a pension,sacco shares, insurance premiums etc, you net pay further goes down.

If your wife is not working and you have a kid in kindergaten/primary school,fuel ya gari,repairs, support your family,tithe.education(either for you or your spouse,stima,save for a plot,side farming huko ocha and other emergencies your expenses per month easily exceed 100K

People who earn less than 100K in nairobi are barely living and those earning less than 300K are just hustling.

As someone said ...the word "hustling" means different things to different people.If you live in Rongai & earn 300K,do some Sacco savings,some Sacco loans,married a modest wife,modest schools,driving a Premio then you are good.If you earn that & live in Lavington,drive a Merc,take your kids to GCE,married the village model....shauri yako!You will hustle even on a 750K salary.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
xtina
#35 Posted : Saturday, April 19, 2014 1:15:33 PM

Some employees have side hustles that depend on their job but earn them far more than their formal jobs. Eg policemen, real estate caretakers and property managers, civil servants etc. Most of this is the rent seeking type for the guys who give tenders/contracts, or can set you free after u overlap or can spare you from auctioneers when you can't pay rent.

You are right. I earn 52k in my current job. I do this on purpose because If I take on another higher-paying job I won't have time to focus on my other things. I have a business, shareholder in another business, stocks and I teach part-time. Articles and research like that make me laugh.

xtina
#36 Posted : Saturday, April 19, 2014 1:20:26 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
Most of Nairobi income is not captured in the data since self employment/informal sector caters for nearly 90% of employment in Kenya.

There is a huge number of kenyans earning over 100k per month but not in any of govt records eg the thousands of cyber cafe, bar/rest,private school etc owners.

My landlord looks like a manure farmer and he has 3 rental flats. I look up to him.
#37 Posted : Monday, April 21, 2014 4:08:52 PM

xtina wrote:
a4architect.com wrote:

My landlord looks like a manure farmer and he has 3 rental flats. I look up to him.

Waa!! you have a job, 2 biasharas, stocks and do part time teaching and you still have a landlord - and someone mentioned that 300k is not enough - wewe ni hustler. smile
#38 Posted : Monday, April 21, 2014 4:11:02 PM

urstill1 wrote:

hehehe, I don't work for kra, nor a credit department in any of the banks.

In fact mimi ni stay at home dad. smile
XSK
#39 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 3:16:23 PM

urstill1 wrote:

hehehe, I don't work for kra, nor a credit department in any of the banks.

In fact mimi ni stay at home dad. smile

when I become wealthy I want to be like you!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
mv_ufanisi
#40 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 4:17:10 PM

Ni wengi sana. A lot of Wazuans make more than 100k in profits from stocks monthly if not more.