wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

How did we let Ariel overtake Omo
#21 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 6:19:57 PM

The latest market share research indicates Ariel is the top detergent brand in kenya.

How could we ? How do you walk to a supermarket, choose a foreign brand over our homegrown guided by nothing else apart from an aggressive marketing campaign ? Are we really that cheap and easy to confuse, sorry, convince.

Then sit down and complain about youth unemployment ! ! !

Its basic economics. There is a wazuan who had a beautiful tagline about producing what you consume and consuming what we produce.

In my household, the only imported brand allowed is pampers.

When reckitt closed their Kenyan operations, I dropped their brands I.e. dettol, jik and harpic. Even the fact that they outsource some of the manufacturing locally to orion chemicals was not good enough for me. Roberts and ace were my natural choices.

Damn Kenyans and their poor choices.

Why yet Bouncy is locally manufacturedd'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#22 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 6:38:16 PM

The latest market share research indicates Ariel is the top detergent brand in kenya.

How could we ? How do you walk to a supermarket, choose a foreign brand over our homegrown guided by nothing else apart from an aggressive marketing campaign ? Are we really that cheap and easy to confuse, sorry, convince.

Its basic economics. There is a wazuan who had a beautiful tagline about producing what you consume and consuming what we produce.

When reckitt closed their Kenyan operations, I dropped their brands I.e. dettol, jik and harpic. Even the fact that they outsource some of the manufacturing locally to orion chemicals was not good enough for me. Roberts and ace were my natural choices.

Why yet Bouncy is locally manufacturedd'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

@zze123, bouncy has always been manufactured in China. I actually checked the packaging. Now if I have to choose between two imported products and one is from china. . . . .
#23 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 6:42:45 PM

How could we ? How do you walk to a supermarket, choose a foreign brand over our homegrown guided by nothing else apart from an aggressive marketing campaign?

Homegrown??
Most people believe that Omo is a local brand. Omo is as foreign as Ariel. Just because we used 504s for a long time doesn't mean we should not buy better more efficient Toyotas. Omo has failed somewhere hence the punishment by consumers.

My defn of local is simply where the manufacturing plant is located. Hope the good people at Unilever can hear the complaints about quality. But for the love of our crawling economy, please buy sunlight not Ariel.

I think it will be hard to move people from Ariel. If you go to the mtumba/2nd hand boutique sellers they all tell you they use Arial because it cleans and brightens at the same time. That's a big market and they are the reason why Arial is up there. Now ask the mamas who go around estates washing clothes for bachelors especially. Guys buy what they are told and those mamas recommend Ariel. It's sad that Kenyans may lose jobs but these are the consequences that come with the global market.
Another brand in foreseeable danger is Tusker. The brand is not growing but Heineken is experiencing massive growth in consumer numbers.

@2012, what you have said is so true yet so scary. And clearly, there are not many Kenyans who give a damn about local brands.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 6:58:35 PM

quicksand wrote:
Omo can continue sitting pretty on the shelves because it burns hands.

If you want to beat the competition,please beat their standard.

Sunlight/Ariel anytime.

Burns hands? Never noticed.
If you ask me I would tell you that is a concept that was sneaked into people's minds by devious marketing minds and then it stuck and became a yardstick. There is another, colgate triple action I think,..or Jameson's double distilled. You imagine it, therefore it becomes real.
If you asked somebody who has never been exposed to advertising to compare and contrast the 2 the concept of 'burnt hands' wouldn't come up. Probably. smile

It burns hands and I experienced it firsthand at the back of my fingers.
#25 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 9:44:47 PM

quicksand wrote:

Sunlight/Ariel anytime.

If you ask me I would tell you that is a concept that was sneaked into people's minds by devious marketing minds and then it stuck and became a yardstick. There is another, colgate triple action I think,..or Jameson's double distilled. You imagine it, therefore it becomes real.
If you asked somebody who has never been exposed to advertising to compare and contrast the 2 the concept of 'burnt hands' wouldn't come up. Probably. smile

Same here. Some time last year after using it, the skin on my fingers literally peeled off. Kuwashwa nayo?Sad Sad
#26 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 10:04:46 PM

We have enough witness accounts to make them improve the brand.I am stuck to Ariel.

The worst omo is the coloured one,causes the skin to chip after use.It's like acid.

Don't they ever do tests on real humans like Johnsons,Gillette etc etc?

They should know that we consumers are more interested in performance and not Brand after all Brand imo is for company's profits while performance is the consumer's ultimate choice.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 10:43:08 PM

We have enough witness accounts to make them improve the brand.I am stuck to Ariel.

The worst omo is the coloured one,causes the skin to chip after use.It's like acid.

They should know that we consumers are more interested in performance and not Brand after all Brand imo is for company's profits while performance is the consumer's ultimate choice.

I recall reading that some (all?) detergents contain enzymes to 'digest' dirt, especially that which is of protein nature. Problem is, the skin is also protein and is 'digestible' too and therefore an intricate balance is required. Hii ya Omo seems like they overdid it.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 11:07:32 PM

How is Toss?

i use toss, no complaints and i believe it is home grown unless evidenced is adduced to the contrary.

i believe in buy kenya build kenya but on the other hand quality of local products should be good
#29 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 11:33:26 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

I recall reading that some (all?) detergents contain enzymes to 'digest' dirt, especially that which is of protein nature. Problem is, the skin is also protein and is 'digestible' too and therefore an intricate balance is required. Hii ya Omo seems like they overdid it.

See,from Detergent to Carnivore! Kwani they test it on elephants after manufacture?

Now, should we allow ourselves to be eaten by omo so as to promote the local industry? Shows they don't care about our health.
#30 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 12:20:32 AM

How could we ? How do you walk to a supermarket, choose a foreign brand over our homegrown guided by nothing else apart from an aggressive marketing campaign?

Homegrown??
Most people believe that Omo is a local brand. Omo is as foreign as Ariel. Just because we used 504s for a long time doesn't mean we should not buy better more efficient Toyotas. Omo has failed somewhere hence the punishment by consumers.

My defn of local is simply where the manufacturing plant is located. Hope the good people at Unilever can hear the complaints about quality. But for the love of our crawling economy, please buy sunlight not Ariel.

I think it will be hard to move people from Ariel. If you go to the mtumba/2nd hand boutique sellers they all tell you they use Arial because it cleans and brightens at the same time. That's a big market and they are the reason why Arial is up there. Now ask the mamas who go around estates washing clothes for bachelors especially. Guys buy what they are told and those mamas recommend Ariel. It's sad that Kenyans may lose jobs but these are the consequences that come with the global market.
Another brand in foreseeable danger is Tusker. The brand is not growing but Heineken is experiencing massive growth in consumer numbers.

Tusker is not in ANY danger so long as thimioni is roaming the earth! Kindly. ..
Muheani
#31 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 5:42:31 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

See,from Detergent to Carnivore! Kwani they test it on elephants after manufacture?

Now, should we allow ourselves to be eaten by omo so as to promote the local industry? Shows they don't care about our health.

The day the house manager came into the living room, hands out and said " E,...angalia venye omo imeharibu mkono yangu....please buy Toss..." n Toss it has been.

#32 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 5:57:00 AM

Omo, sunlight Ariel are all foreign, if you are serious about keeping jobs in Kenya then buy toss and what Bidco makes panga soap. And yes Omo burns
#33 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 10:27:28 AM

Homegrown??

Tusker is not in ANY danger so long as thimioni is roaming the earth! Kindly. ..

Believe me @Simon, Tusker is not in a good place. They might not kill the brand because of it's heritage but in the next 10 years it will not be a cash cow for eabl unless they pull out some miracle. Here are the few things that are giving Tusker headaches:
• Heineken
• Keroche
• Castle
• Not recruiting good numbers - The young upcoming consumer is not driven by patriotism but by status, association and quality. 21yr olds look at Tusker as a beer for their parents.
• Mututho
• Eabl's bigger focus on Diageo brands than local.

accelriskconsult
#34 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 10:42:09 AM

Homegrown??

Believe me @Simon, Tusker is not in a good place. They might not kill the brand because of it's heritage but in the next 10 years it will not be a cash cow for eabl unless they pull out some miracle. Here are the few things that are giving Tusker headaches:
• Heineken
• Keroche
• Castle
• Not recruiting good numbers - The young upcoming consumer is not driven by patriotism but by status, association and quality. 21yr olds look at Tusker as a beer for their parents.
• Mututho

Yes in fact with a little increase in their marketing budget, Keroche's summit and summit malt will replace tusker and tusker malt respectively in a few years.

Those who partake of Jeremiah's waters should sample the summit brand vis a vis EABL brands and come back to this forum with their feedback
accelriskconsult
#35 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 10:44:48 AM

Homegrown??

• Heineken
• Keroche
• Castle
• Mututho

Yes in fact with a little increase in their marketing budget, Keroche's summit and summit malt will replace tusker and tusker malt respectively in a few years.

Those who partake of Jeremiah's waters should sample the summit brand vis a vis EABL brands and come back to this forum with their feedback
mkeiy
#36 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 11:27:10 AM

The youth of Holland, what are they drinking in the name of "status,association and quality"?

If just like their Kenyan counterparts, they would be seeing Heineken as a 'beer for their parents'.

Ujinga itaua nyeuthi!
#37 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 12:38:11 PM

Eti nini hiyo?

SMH!!!!

#38 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 12:50:20 PM

quicksand wrote:

Sunlight/Ariel anytime.

You can manage to hire people to "murder" wealthy and powerful individuals yet you cant afford to hire mama mboga to wash your clothes!
SMH.

#39 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 3:09:57 PM

quicksand wrote:

Sunlight/Ariel anytime.

You can manage to hire people to "murder" wealthy and powerful individuals yet you cant afford to hire mama mboga to wash your clothes!
SMH.

Link please.Anyway there are some clothes that I wash personally.
#40 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 3:10:14 PM

mkeiy wrote:

The youth of Holland, what are they drinking in the name of "status,association and quality"?

If just like their Kenyan counterparts, they would be seeing Heineken as a 'beer for their parents'.

Ujinga itaua nyeuthi!