Market
Review
Starehe Boys' Centre Vs Moi High School Kabarak
Both schools are great, wacha mutoto aende Moi... Starehe ni jina tu. Mzungu Griffin alipotokomea, kukawa na a lot of wetu na wao. And since then their performance is on a downward trajectory
kiwaru wrote:Both schools are great, wacha mutoto aende Moi... Starehe ni jina tu. Mzungu Griffin alipotokomea, kukawa na a lot of wetu na wao. And since then their performance is on a downward trajectory. You are very wrong! Starehe remains one of the best schools in KE. Admitting a high number of students from academies led to this drop in performance 4 years on. This was sorted out. You must be crazy to say Starehe ni jina tu. It's like saying Alliance or Mangu ni jina tu! Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
I would pick starehe, their old boys club is great for future networking and even employment opportunities for the boy. It works like this, potential employers are biased to alumnnis. I think starehe retains the edge over Kabarak on this issue, Second point is if the boy grew up in Nakuru,then its imperative he moves to a school out of town so he can start discovering the rest of the world. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
jguru wrote:kiwaru wrote:Both schools are great, wacha mutoto aende Moi... Starehe ni jina tu. Mzungu Griffin alipotokomea, kukawa na a lot of wetu na wao. And since then their performance is on a downward trajectory. You are very wrong! Starehe remains one of the best schools in KE. Admitting a high number of students from academies led to this drop in performance 4 years on. This was sorted out. You must be crazy to say Starehe ni jina tu. It's like saying Alliance or Mangu ni jina tu! What was their position again last year??? Btw, I firmly believe that this (among other top schools) pick the creme de la creme from primary schools... why would the same school go ahead to tapa tapa in KCSE. Just my opinion. ... and am not crazy
McReggae wrote:Iganamagana wrote:rryyzz wrote:Toxicity wrote:If you had calling letters to these schools and you had one week to make a decision which one would you choose over the other and what will be the reasons?
Help a parent here! @All, you have said Starehe, but are not giving the reason. What's your reason?? They mould the kid into a model citizen. It's beyond academics. Yeah, their University performance attests to this!!!! There is one we found in a first year engineering class having re-winded year two and graduated 4 years behind us. Another one changed courses from Engineering to BA-general and still graduated after 6 years instead of 4. Yeah, I fully agree, they mould them into a modol citizen! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
McReggae wrote:jguru wrote:McReggae wrote:kiwaru wrote:McReggae wrote:Iganamagana wrote:rryyzz wrote:Toxicity wrote:If you had calling letters to these schools and you had one week to make a decision which one would you choose over the other and what will be the reasons?
Help a parent here! @All, you have said Starehe, but are not giving the reason. What's your reason?? They mould the kid into a model citizen. It's beyond academics. Yeah, their University performance attests to this!!!! @McReggae ... how's their university performance? Mixed, some A students really turn out poor!!! Some A students from Alliance, Mangu, Strathmore and Precious Blood turn out poor in UNI too. Mine is not based on research but during my time, the prevalence rate on Starehe students was higher!!!! Kwani imekuwa ni malaria tena? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Toxicity wrote:Iganamagana wrote:rryyzz wrote:Toxicity wrote:If you had calling letters to these schools and you had one week to make a decision which one would you choose over the other and what will be the reasons?
Help a parent here! @All, you have said Starehe, but are not giving the reason. What's your reason?? They mould the kid into a model citizen. It's beyond academics. Yes please give the reasons....to be more detailed the young man grew up in Nakuru and performed pretty well in last year's KCPE, The parents want him to go to Starehe but he is insisting on Kabarak(The brother and two cousins have gone through Kabarak). Starehe for me as well but how do you change the mind of the young one? hence I asked for the reasons to convince .... Take the boy to the school that he wants, thats where his heart his, this might go along way in shaping him, atleast the two schools are comparable. You might have an idea what happens to those kids who go to schools because their parents said so, took up courses because the parents said so, etc, i assume he is a bright one, huyo hata akienda Naykemincha atapita.
Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:jguru wrote:McReggae wrote:kiwaru wrote:McReggae wrote:Iganamagana wrote:rryyzz wrote:Toxicity wrote:If you had calling letters to these schools and you had one week to make a decision which one would you choose over the other and what will be the reasons?
Help a parent here! @All, you have said Starehe, but are not giving the reason. What's your reason?? They mould the kid into a model citizen. It's beyond academics. Yeah, their University performance attests to this!!!! @McReggae ... how's their university performance? Mixed, some A students really turn out poor!!! Some A students from Alliance, Mangu, Strathmore and Precious Blood turn out poor in UNI too. Mine is not based on research but during my time, the prevalence rate on Starehe students was higher!!!! Kwani imekuwa ni malaria tena? But you agree au sio? Re-sits na kurewind kibao!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
I would rather take the child to Starehe who will build the kid wholesome followed by exposure and networks as had been mentioned. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Member Joined: 3/5/2008 Posts: 532 Location: Nairobi
starehe. Rich heritage and diversy culture. Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. โAlbert Einstein.
I agree that Starehe is better. The culture more than the grades...if you can convince the boy, sawa. But LET HIM MAKE HIS CHOICE!! People always have ideas on what is better but it's best when you start entrusting the boy with decisions at this age. BTW, people assume that by attending a big name school you are assured of passing. I believe this is wrong. Some, jusst like footballers, shine in smaller teams only. Unaenda Barca unakaa ordinary game yako inaanguka!
kiwaru wrote:jguru wrote:kiwaru wrote:Both schools are great, wacha mutoto aende Moi... Starehe ni jina tu. Mzungu Griffin alipotokomea, kukawa na a lot of wetu na wao. And since then their performance is on a downward trajectory. You are very wrong! Starehe remains one of the best schools in KE. Admitting a high number of students from academies led to this drop in performance 4 years on. This was sorted out. You must be crazy to say Starehe ni jina tu. It's like saying Alliance or Mangu ni jina tu! What was their position again last year??? Btw, I firmly believe that this (among other top schools) pick the creme de la creme from primary schools... why would the same school go ahead to tapa tapa in KCSE. Just my opinion. ... and am not crazy KCSE Ranking for the last 8 yearsLet's wait for KCSE 2013 results next month. Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
Starehe. The name and network might come in handy in his future en-devours. Also close proximity to CBD=wider variety of extra-curricular activities eg music (violin etc), languages (German, Japanese etc) arts. We've all seen that caltex uniform in town.
I try to avoid generalisation but what McDobba has said you cant ignore... I dont know about other chuos but at The Uni... Stareheans had a rough time fitting in. My class had an initial group of about fifty in first year, by fourth many had been discoed or sought alternnative. in most retakes supps they were always represented. The backgrounds and composition could have had a hand in it let me say I have many friends Starehean and the presumptions I see above do not necessarily hold... network ...Ok but dont take to the bank both institutions its a mixed bag of githeri. look at alumni not forgetting Starehe has age advantage Now that time back then Mo1 was the tenant No1 and Kabarak had everything a student could dream of... twas a mixed school, Is still? And they have a uni.... let tour the two schools see the dorms dinning other facilities etc talk to past students / teachers and make his own choice - let not the parents relive their dreams via the boy. Tell him Choices have consequences "๐๐กKQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder ๐๐ " overheard in Wazua
Siringi wrote:I try to avoid generalisation but what McDobba has said you cant ignore... I dont know about other chuos but at The Uni... Stareheans had a rough time fitting in. My class had an initial group of about fifty in first year, by fourth many had been discoed or sought alternnative. in most retakes supps they were always represented. The backgrounds and composition could have had a hand in it let me say I have many friends Starehean and the presumptions I see above do not necessarily hold... network ...Ok but dont take to the bank both institutions its a mixed bag of githeri. look at alumni not forgetting Starehe has age advantage Now that time back then Mo1 was the tenant No1 and Kabarak had everything a student could dream of... twas a mixed school, Is still? And they have a uni.... let tour the two schools see the dorms dinning other facilities etc talk to past students / teachers and make his own choice - let not the parents relive their dreams via the boy. Tell him Choices have consequences I agree. I also opine that the Starehe and Kabarak alumni be the ones to give the pros and maybe the cons if they are there. All this is people trying to re-live, through the little boy's dilemma, their dreams of choosing their favourite high school.
Starehe used to be great in the 90s and early 2000s. Since Griffin died, there was major upheaval with lots of tribalism and such ruining the school with lots of good teachers and administrators from some parts of the country leaving en masse. Sad to say, the African again comes up short. As we say here at Wazua, past performance is not an indicator of future performance. Be careful and visit both schools and investigate thoroughly before you decide. It might be that Kabarak is now the better choice. Sad to say.
Toxicity wrote:If you had calling letters to these schools and you had one week to make a decision which one would you choose over the other and what will be the reasons?
Help a parent here! What to expect from Kabarak (From experience) 1) Good facilities, dorms, labs, classes 2) Will adjust well to dealing with people of the opposite gender since school is mixed 3) Can excel academically if interested, can also excel in extra curricular activities including musical instruments and sports if inclined 4) Exposure to professionals through lectures and other activities including academic tours 5) Discipline is not negotiable in Kabarak. Expulsions of repeat offenders is common 6) Religion, if interested 8) Will learn to live with the sons of both the mighty and the lowly 9) Will rub shoulders and get beaten by students who scored less that 350 marks in KCPE if not focused (and learn that the insurgents can very quickly become the incumbents) Kabarak was only set up around 1978 so the alumni network is not very well established. Initially, it admitted around 85% of its students from one community which has not worked very well in building a strong alumni network. This anomaly was just corrected around 10 years ago but there is still a bias in admissions.
As an Old Starehian, I would recommend Starehe if you are from an ordinary or poor background of "wanainchi". However, if your background is from the rich "wenyeinchi" then Kabarak is a better option.
Now how did this one end here....admin really like interfering with our fun at the club!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
mv_ufanisi wrote:Starehe used to be great in the 90s and early 2000s. Since Griffin died, there was major upheaval with lots of tribalism and such ruining the school with lots of good teachers and administrators from some parts of the country leaving en masse. Sad to say, the African again comes up short. As we say here at Wazua, past performance is not an indicator of future performance. Be careful and visit both schools and investigate thoroughly before you decide. It might be that Kabarak is now the better choice. Sad to say. Starehe suffered from what is currently afflicting the economy of India... a brilliant Founder together with 2 average guys. The real drive behind the success dies and due to socio-political environment, an illiterate Kenyan takes over. He also declared that he could not work with those people. The Kenyans who were left behind had the following issues: 1. Most of the old boys in administration were left-overs... Mr Mugo (current principal was supposed to have gone to Elec Eng but somehow ended up as a Physics teacher, Mr (or Dr) Hongo current something in Kisumu county govt (nothing to write home about academically or otherwise, Mr Edwin (his skills range from boxing to fraud), Mr Okono (demagogue) The creme de la creme of Starehe is so busy trying to conquer the world (law, finance, medicine, politicks, management, government, etc) that they have little time for the school - especially since the current administration is keen on keeping it "ÓURS" 2. The current high school admission environment is a cash cow and so one of the determinants for admission is how much one can generate on the side ... In the table above the performance effects of Griffin's death in 2005 start manifesting about 5 years, right about when the first "corrupted" lot was doing KCSE - from position 2 (2009) to 11 (2010)
Market
Review
Starehe Boys' Centre Vs Moi High School Kabarak