Tragedy of Kenyan stars: Henry Motego
#21 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 4:02:53 PM

Am wrote:
I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.
What's with us Kenyans and disrespecting our heros. I'm sad.

It is not true that Julius "Awilo" Owino Collects used water bottles for recycling. Those are Pure lies. What is soo hard in media people researching and Investigating a story Proper before they publish. The other day I read In the nation that George "Jojo" Waweru, former Tusker and Harambee stars centre back is seriously into liqueur cheaper than Changaa. Lies again!! Very sad..

Am, blame the messenger?

What is the true story please.

All I know from the bottom of my heart and soul is Kenyan football will never go anywhere in my lifetime.

When foolish people are elected by equally foolish fans who go around stoning people, there is no hope whatsoever.

I feel very bad because I know I was brought up in a generation of the best footballers in Africa. Yet, we treated them as rubbish.

Then we want to blame Moi for all our problems.

FKF or whatever its called now will never go anywhere.

I mean today there's another story

http://www.nation.co.ke/...88/-/9lci3/-/index.html

If I was a Kenyan footballer, I'd go play in another country and never play for the national team.

Did you know there's a Kenyan footballer in the MLS team that won the MLS cup? Lucky bastard coz he's never been called upon to serve his "sovereign" country.

@Alma, All that you say is very. My Point was the story that is poorly researched as said in the earlier post..
#22 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 4:06:29 PM

Am wrote:
Am wrote:
I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.

It is not true that Julius "Awilo" Owino Collects used water bottles for recycling. Those are Pure lies. What is soo hard in media people researching and Investigating a story Proper before they publish. The other day I read In the nation that George "Jojo" Waweru, former Tusker and Harambee stars centre back is seriously into liqueur cheaper than Changaa. Lies again!! Very sad..

Boss, you strongly say 'lies, lies', yet you don't state your facts. So, what does Jojo and Awilo do nowadays?

Sorry, the Story about the two Pissed me off. But Still, I wont dwell on the two Individuals who yes, are not doing too well Wanyama way - but don't do what the story said they do. I do not have to expose them here. George waweru is not into cheap liquor and Julius Owino doesn't collect used bottles from the streets for recycling. They are working hard each and every day to make their lives better, like you and I.

Whats wrong with collecting used bottles and selling to make money? I do that everyday yet I'm in middle class.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

@Impunity = @Waititu
Wainadi
#23 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 4:13:03 PM

I saw Peter Dawo on Ketwende foo jana and almost cried, I actually cried by the way.
The guy lives in a single mabati house in Kisumu slum and is a single parent of two.
He looks so low just like Osuofia when acting a poor man in Nigeria movies.
He coaches some low key village football team in Kisumu and cant even afford 30 bob for matatu so uses bodaboda and pays 10 bob.
This is the guy who score 99% of all his goal by the header and ensured Gor winning the 1987 Mandela cup!

Dawo is the chair of the Muthaura jua Kali artisans on jogoo rd next to Gikomba. I know KURA is negotiating with him to move those guys so that they can implement the Eastern ring roads...

Shame on you
Its all good.
Wainadi
#24 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 4:16:37 PM

I saw Peter Dawo on Ketwende foo jana and almost cried, I actually cried by the way.
The guy lives in a single mabati house in Kisumu slum and is a single parent of two.
He looks so low just like Osuofia when acting a poor man in Nigeria movies.
He coaches some low key village football team in Kisumu and cant even afford 30 bob for matatu so uses bodaboda and pays 10 bob.
This is the guy who score 99% of all his goal by the header and ensured Gor winning the 1987 Mandela cup!

Dawo is the chair of the Muthaura jua Kali artisans on jogoo rd next to Gikomba. I know KURA is negotiating with him to move those guys so that they can implement the Eastern ring roads...

Bob Ogolla is the chair of the artisans.
Its all good.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 5:35:41 PM

This is a problem with sports and it's global and not limited to Kenya. The main issue is that money and fame come a bit to early and sportsmen usually retire in mid-thirties when their contemporaries in other professionals are just taking off. Blacks fare much worse because they often come from tough backgrounds and they are unable to handle the thrills that come with money and fame.
Many retired boxing champions are languishing in debt in USA and some have attempted ill advised comebacks to try and end their penury.
A player known as Djemba Djemba had more than 25 bank accounts but was later so broke he could not even move out of UK .In Nigeria,Rashid Yekini was a nut case in the later stages of his life and spent his time loitering barefoot in the streets of Ibadan.
#26 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 5:47:48 PM

This is a problem with sports and it's global and not limited to Kenya. The main issue is that money and fame come a bit to early and sportsmen usually retire in mid-thirties when their contemporaries in other professionals are just taking off. Blacks fare much worse because they often come from tough backgrounds and they are unable to handle the thrills that come with money and fame.
Many retired boxing champions are languishing in debt in USA and some have attempted ill advised comebacks to try and end their penury.
A player known as Djemba Djemba had more than 25 bank accounts but was later so broke he could not even move out of UK .In Nigeria,Rashid Yekini was a nut case in the later stages of his life and spent his time loitering barefoot in the streets of Ibadan.

You are not listening to what we are saying.

If a motherf***er was earning 1 million a month and spent it in Karumaindo, no one would give a damn.

But we are talking about Kenyan sportsmen who were used and abused and later used....as tissue by the so called "officials"

It is sad, very sad, that we allow waste to happen.

All we do is make "suspects" presidents, recycle "old men", elect "bling bling malayas", and put them on a pedestal.

This story in Kenya is sad.

If you love your country. Sacrifice your talents. Do right for the common Kenyan.

We shall f*** YOU!

Then the rest of us can call others "kiash". The story here is that

There is no good that comes out of doing something good for Kenya. Infact, we shall make sure that you are as broke as Peter Dawo to prove a point.

This is Kenya @50
#27 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 8:11:47 PM

entitlement nayo!!
#28 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 9:21:45 PM

Am wrote:
Am wrote:

Boss, you strongly say 'lies, lies', yet you don't state your facts. So, what does Jojo and Awilo do nowadays?

Sorry, the Story about the two Pissed me off. But Still, I wont dwell on the two Individuals who yes, are not doing too well Wanyama way - but don't do what the story said they do. I do not have to expose them here. George waweru is not into cheap liquor and Julius Owino doesn't collect used bottles from the streets for recycling. They are working hard each and every day to make their lives better, like you and I.

Whats wrong with collecting used bottles and selling to make money? I do that everyday yet I'm in middle class.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Point! Would even make the environment cleaner.

BTW, I thought these professionals also do other things apart from football? Joe Kadenge played in the same times and we don't hear of him begging around.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 9:31:02 PM

Joe Kadenge has his Peugeot taxis...but there's a real issue here. How much do we pay our footballers esp after they appear for the national side?
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 10:07:13 PM

Joe Kadenge has his Peugeot taxis...but there's a real issue here. How much do we pay our footballers esp after they appear for the national side?

should they be 'paid' salaries or simply allowances? ION allowances are enough if they are not professionals.
anti mainstream
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 11:34:56 PM

footballers have few transferable skills after retirement that is why they should get into sports management or the media jobs
better yet the clubs or fkf could fund their training to become coaches as is the case in other countries

all young people now have the same personality..but i chose knowledge over pop culture
Tokyo
#32 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 3:29:56 AM

They are mature adults and should be responsible at least. Somebody like Peter Dawo should be earning more if he thinks beyond football
work to prosper
#33 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 10:08:33 AM

@maka toa goggles ati Muthaura what?
#34 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 10:17:06 AM

anti mainstream wrote:
footballers have few transferable skills after retirement that is why they should get into sports management or the media jobs
better yet the clubs or fkf could fund their training to become coaches as is the case in other countries

Each football team has 20 - 30 players. how many openings do we have in sports management, media and coaching?
Tokyo wrote:
They are mature adults and should be responsible at least. Somebody like Peter Dawo should be earning more if he thinks beyond football

You just don't get it, do you?? Football is [or at least should be] the job. In the other countries football/sports is a full time job - you focus all your energy and time on the sport. how do you expect us to compete as a country if we do it part time?

The sports person should make enough money to live off and invest - just like happens elsewhere. If they unfortunately waste the money, then that's on them!

But then again I think teachers, doctors, nurses etc. should also think beyond their careers instead of complaining about salaries and working conditions!
#35 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 10:31:28 AM

And this is not rocket science!

If we can clean up football [and other sports] then there is a lot of money to be made! If football is properly managed then we'll have good players [instead of talented individuals "thinking beyond football"] we'll get people back into the stadiums, sponsors, TV deals etc.

If we can get 30,000 people into a stadium [It happens in Tanzania every week!] paying an average of 200/= each, that is a cool 6,000,000/=. Even when you have 15,000 people, that is a cool 3,000,000. Add sponsors - of course businesses/institutions would jump at the opportunity to be associated with a team in a properly run, widely followed league. Then there is TV deals, merchandizing - T-Shirts, Caps, Scarfs etc.

Now how much do you think we would be able to pay players in such an environment. Kshs. 100,000/= per month - easily!!! Heck, even if some players get 50,000/= per month that's a very good start. And that is before bonuses, allowances when you play for the national team etc. And there is always a chance you might end up in a better paying league where your Kshs. 100,000/= a month can easily turn to £100,000/= a month [Or a week if you a really good!!!]. And we haven't even talked about endorsements - from fiatu fyako to Nike!!!
#36 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 11:28:11 AM

Sports personalities are generally not that sharp and very few are able to transition successfully from sports fame and back to normal life.

Thats why my favourite sports man is the arrogant Floyd money Mayweather. He has sick skills and brains.

Motego, Dawo or Awillo should however not lay the mess that their lives have become on sports administrators or kenyans, everybody carries their own cross. if anything, their fame gave them a better start than many Kenyans out there.
kollabo
#37 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 1:12:12 PM

Motego played in the same team with Shollei (CEO Ecom),

Francis Oduor played in the same team with Asibwa (KQ),

Dawo played in the same team with Shikanda (Vet),

...when did the rain start beating them?
hamburglar
#38 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 7:07:02 PM

entitlement nayo!!

Ditto.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 7:59:04 PM

anti mainstream wrote:

Each football team has 20 - 30 players. how many openings do we have in sports management, media and coaching?
Tokyo wrote:

You just don't get it, do you?? Football is [or at least should be] the job. In the other countries football/sports is a full time job - you focus all your energy and time on the sport. how do you expect us to compete as a country if we do it part time?

The sports person should make enough money to live off and invest - just like happens elsewhere. If they unfortunately waste the money, then that's on them!

But then again I think teachers, doctors, nurses etc. should also think beyond their careers instead of complaining about salaries and working conditions!

wise people would deduce that Kenya is not one of those countries and JIPANGA!! people cannot live their lives expecting goodwill of the society to sustain them in their old age if the path they have taken has not profited anyone before them. if you start practicing F1 today in kenya - don't expect to earn like the worlds' greats.
#40 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 8:03:04 PM

wacha nifunulie watu siri! if what you are doing doesn't pay your bills now - its unlikely to pay your bills tomorrow when you retire so... CHANGE THE JOB!! NO ONE IS HARD WIRED TO DO JUST ONE THING!