wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

My Landlord Is Evicting Me!
#21 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 7:35:42 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Pole Doc,Lakini nyumba ni yake. He has given sufficient notice na he actually did not need a reason to hike rent. If that is how much your neighborhood pays( 25K) basi you had your fun. if not, just move out. There is more than meets the eye.

@Bwe, 25k will make these houses the most expensive in a kilometer radius. Will there be a huge demand for the houses at that price? No.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 7:41:27 PM

bkismat wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
ni kuhama! and somepeople are still talking of bubble bursting..

Yes when all the tenants become unable to pay for the rent asked.

I am a Kenyan of average means (where have I heard that before?).

I cringe with worry when I think of the other 9 neighbours who are less average than I am. Some with 3 children in school. Some with huge bank loans. Some with businesses that are making less than 25k as profit in a month. A single mother with a 2-month old pair of twins. How will they cope?

#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 7:47:41 PM

Take him to the rent tribunal or obtain a court order maintaining the status quo and when the matter comes up for hearing ask for adjournments and delay the case kabisa.You can appeal all the way to Supreme court and you know the speed of justice in Kenya.

Rent tribunal will not admit any case where rent is more than 2,500.

Even if he goes the court route, it would still be risky as case can be dismissed with costs.

Ahame

It is sad that there is no way to reign in arbitrary increases in rent.

We have rented a commercial space. Was 35k+VAT in 2011, 42k+VAT in 2012 and we are now paying 56k+VAT. We have a Lease Agreement but as long as the landlord gives 90 days notice, he can increase rent whimsically.
omhangla
#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 8:01:02 PM

mine is a different case. the caretaker is the sister to the landload and we disagreed on some issue regarding some repairs, i brought my own electrician since the one they refer to us does shody work. i have a one year lease with one month notice from either part. now, on 11th, she gives me a letter telling that i have been evicted and should leave by end month or if i leave before that, they will refund remaining rent. yesterday, i told them am ready to leave today they give me my deposit and rent balance for the remaining days. they refuse and tell me to vacate and come for the deposit after two weeks. i have stayed put. what is the best course action i can take?
#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 8:08:05 PM

Tebes wrote:
Maybe he has been caught by the taxman and is simply passing the burden to the consumer... you.

In one year you will have paid him Khs. 300,000.

Time to move on. Hama before February. Look for alternative house.

This guy just ruined my December Sad

Show him this notice revenue.go.ke/notices/pdf2012/INFORMATIONONLANDLORDS.pdf

He only recently started a church. He calls himself Bishop. KRA will be on his case soon enough.

rryyzz wrote:
Wewe pia increase consultation fees, citing inflation

Yes. I'm slapping a 50% fee increase on all my professional services. Inflation. smile

theman192000 wrote:
The title on your post is misleading. Did the landlord hand you an eviction notice?d'oh!

Metaphorically he did. Ever since that old man had his prostate removed, he's been acting a little weird of late.

bkismat wrote:
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Pole bro but it looks like ni kuhama.

Seems so. I like the place. It's convenient. I can sneak in at 11pm, 2am or 4am without bother. I can leave at 3am without issue. And the neighbours are behaved.
#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 8:22:08 PM

bkismat wrote:
[quote=jguru]My landlord just gave me notice to increase rent from KES 17000 to KES 25000 effective Feb 2014. That is a 47% increase in rent! The last increase in Jan 2013 was from 15000 to 17000.

Is this reasonable? Sad

The rent would be double what I was paying in 2011. He has undertaken no capital expenditure on the premises and has done no repairs. He attributes the increase to 'inflation'.

I have been a good well-behaved tenant.

Maka, A4A et al saidia with advice.

Or I just work harder and earn 47% more? Sad

Show him this notice
http://www.revenue.go.ke...ORMATIONONLANDLORDS.pdf[/quote]

Laughing out loudly actually this might make him change his mind.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Pole bro but it looks like ni kuhama .

Take him to the rent tribunal or obtain a court order maintaining the status quo and when the matter comes up for hearing ask for adjournments and delay the case kabisa.You can appeal all the way to Supreme court and you know the speed of justice in Kenya.

Is it Worth it?

@Jguru..Just Hama, then Pray hard and Work hard..aim for your own place.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 9:03:52 PM

pole.. tafuta kwingine. used to be a tenant and now that im a landlord, i feel increases should be gradual and reasonable

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#28 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 9:25:48 PM

Just move achana na huyo jamaa...and Lolest is right about RRT its for people who pay so little in terms of rent it does not have jurisdiction...You will just make your advo rich going to court...for the other tenants pole there is so little they can do...
#29 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 11:27:58 PM

jguru wrote:

Rent tribunal will not admit any case where rent is more than 2,500.

Even if he goes the court route, it would still be risky as case can be dismissed with costs.

Ahame

It is sad that there is no way to reign in arbitrary increases in rent.

We have rented a commercial space. Was 35k+VAT in 2011, 42k+VAT in 2012 and we are now paying 56k+VAT. We have a Lease Agreement but as long as the landlord gives 90 days notice, he can increase rent whimsically.

what is the term of the lease?
The Clown
#30 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2013 12:45:29 AM

There is so little value for the tenant in the rental property market nowadays. How does someone just decide to hike rent by 47% without first changing anything in the house.With all our Kenyan dust, potholed roads and poor services.

Unaweza pata landlord ameincrease rent just because there are rumours of a bypass or other civil project nearby.

I have been following A4architecht's and co. thoughts in the other thread and I agree sirkal needs to intervene in this real estate and land business.

I pay the equivalent of Ksh 25000 inclusive of water/electricity and get a fully furnished flat with security, garbage collection and posta delivers mail to my doorstep. Major supermarkets are a short walk away. Plus we have a swimming pool to cool our dark skins in the summer.
#31 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2013 1:07:49 AM

The Clown wrote:
There is so little value for the tenant in the rental property market nowadays. How does someone just decide to hike rent by 47% without first changing anything in the house.With all our Kenyan dust, potholed roads and poor services.

Unaweza pata landlord ameincrease rent just because there are rumours of a bypass or other civil project nearby.

I have been following A4architecht's and co. thoughts in the other thread and I agree sirkal needs to intervene in this real estate and land business.

I pay the equivalent of Ksh 25000 inclusive of water/electricity and get a fully furnished flat with security, garbage collection and posta delivers mail to my doorstep. Major supermarkets are a short walk away. Plus we have a swimming pool to cool our dark skins in the summer.

if this is @Kiash's, then this is really really cheap man ($300 p.m). Where do you live man? an equivalent of Kibera? lol...
CLK
#32 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2013 4:40:23 AM

The Clown wrote:

25,000 or 250,000??
furnished or finished??

When i grow up!!!
XSK
#33 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2013 7:57:51 AM

The Clown wrote:

Which country are you in? That amount is too little for services and location (close to an urban centre considering that major supermarkets are nearby) you have mentioned.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#34 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2013 8:23:46 AM

The Clown wrote:

if this is @Kiash's, then this is really really cheap man ($300 p.m). Where do you live man? an equivalent of Kibera? lol...

smile smile smile smile
#35 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2013 8:34:20 AM

@impunity why was i reading and relating this thread with ile yako ya socket plug na cypress pines?

d'oh! moya ikiwa landlord -(socket) ingine tenant-(plug) @magigically
#36 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2013 9:12:43 AM

Just move achana na huyo jamaa...and Lolest is right about RRT its for people who pay so little in terms of rent it does not have jurisdiction...You will just make your advo rich going to court...for the other tenants pole there is so little they can do...

actually you are both wrong. one can go to the rent tribunal and get orders and drag the matter for months if they so desire. even if their rent is 100k plus.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, January 02, 2018 11:33:33 PM

@Kaigangio went overboard here.