BMW 320i
Money Whisperer
#21 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 10:55:55 AM

XSK wrote:
Money Whisperer wrote:
wilyum wrote:

jesu!!!! kuwa mpole

sawa. these cars perform...sema perform. power iko yuu, heavy body and rear wheel makes them stable and the low ride makes handling great. of course these same specs make them guzzle more (lakini kidogo compared to a japan of similar specs)and also makes them rubbish off road. ikikwama kwa matope you'd rather leave the car walk home ungoje matope ikauke. if you live in embakasi, work in westlands and married a gal from Kinungi then get that car

okay; westy work, emba home

why didnt you add mother-in-law kinungi?
"Money never sleeps"
#22 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 6:50:25 PM

Julie wrote:
@

@ Njuge

Good analysis. This just reinforces my resolve to settle for one.

Go for it gal.Some day you wil give me a ride in itsmile ......I find the Beamer more ladylike but for the mboys, a Merc or an Audi does.My silly thoughts though.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 8:16:58 PM

The sensorsPray Pray Pray I much prefer the uncomplicated but effective Japanese (Toyota) technology any day.

Atleast make sure you have a good mech who understands what he is doing.

Enjoy the ride though.
Rollout
#24 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 9:49:27 PM

It depend of what year the car is too, you can have a BMW but if it is old/high mileage, it will still drive like a old car! Series 3 are always good choice but it has to be newer, I.e not over 5 yrs old. BMWs suck the older they get. Kshs 30,000 to fix the headlight bulb, not a scam anyone with a newer BMW will tell you that the bulb alot is stupidly expensive
kizee1
#25 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 9:57:57 PM

Julie wrote:
@

@ Njuge

Good analysis. This just reinforces my resolve to settle for one.

Go for it gal.Some day you wil give me a ride in itsmile ......I find the Beamer more ladylike but for the mboys, a Merc or an Audi does.My silly thoughts though.

ladylike? maybe the 3series, how about the 5 and 7 series? how about the m series?
vky
#26 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 10:13:58 PM

Rollout wrote:
It depend of what year the car is too, you can have a BMW but if it is old/high mileage, it will still drive like a old car! Series 3 are always good choice but it has to be newer, I.e not over 5 yrs old. BMWs suck the older they get. Kshs 30,000 to fix the headlight bulb, not a scam anyone with a newer BMW will tell you that the bulb alot is stupidly expensive

heed the above words when making your purchase, i can count a few pals who bought high mileage cars in the name of bargain and as it turned out the only useful thing about those cars was to make their driveways look good
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
#27 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 11:51:27 PM

@wilyum, the bottom line is you are the user of the vehicle. Buy the car that will make you happy and you can afford maintaining it without a hustle. Personally, I feel guilty at times when I fuel my car and see what I pay but when I hit the Tarmac I am satisfied. When broke, I pick madams car which hates fuel with a passion but driving it is like sitting on the tarmac.

With cars, each choice has its consequences so be ready whether ni Demio ama ni karumia thii
mkeiyd
#28 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 9:33:19 AM

Gathige wrote:
@wilyum, the bottom line is you are the user of the vehicle. Buy the car that will make you happy and you can afford maintaining it without a hustle. Personally, I feel guilty at times when I fuel my car and see what I pay but when I hit the Tarmac I am satisfied. When broke, I pick madams car which hates fuel with a passion but driving it is like sitting on the tarmac.

With cars, each choice has its consequences so be ready whether ni Demio ama ni karumia thii

Does she enjoy "sitting on the tarmac"?
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 9:58:44 AM

mkeiyd wrote:
Gathige wrote:

@mkeiyd, I am sure she does not like it too but the fuel part she likes it @2K a month. That's why its a compromise.
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 10:24:45 AM

Gathige wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
Gathige wrote:

@mkeiyd, I am sure she does not like it too but the fuel part she likes it @2K a month. That's why its a compromise.

Kwani ni Tuktuk ama ni gari ya shopping tu?
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 10:55:26 AM

Gathige wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
Gathige wrote:

Kwani ni Tuktuk ama ni gari ya shopping tu?

hata tuktuk will consume more per month if used frequently.
#32 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 10:56:56 AM

Gathige wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
Gathige wrote:

hehehe, yaani you let the madam sit on tarmac while you ride on the air - kuwa considerate.
#33 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 11:11:14 AM

Gathige wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
Gathige wrote:

hehehe, yaani you let the madam sit on tarmac while you ride on the air - kuwa considerate.

@nakujua, Not really. The user fuels.
mkeiyd
#34 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 2:02:00 PM

Gathige wrote:

2k a month? Enyewe that is hating with a passion.
Zenge
#35 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 4:32:14 PM

Naona "sisi masonko" tunaongezeka hapa wazua.............
Coolbull
#36 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2016 12:46:38 AM

After years of working my back hard I feel it's time to reward myself with a beamer. My heart can't wait....
#37 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2016 1:50:37 PM

How much do wazuans spend on acquiring a car?

My rule of thumb is not more than 50% of my annual income in acquisition and 5% of annual income on maintenance and running.

Average ownership time span:5-7 yrs
Taurrus
#38 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2016 9:33:15 PM

My rule of thumb is not more than 50% of my annual income in acquisition and 5% of annual income on maintenance and running.

5500x12=66,000/-
66000 x 50/100 = 33,000/-
Okay!!d'oh!
#39 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2016 10:44:43 PM

Taurrus wrote:

5500x12=66,000/-
66000 x 50/100 = 33,000/-
Okay!!d'oh!

@Taurus, Is that in GBP or USD?
Ebenyo
#40 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2016 11:04:59 AM

Your philosophy is good.A car is just a flosset whose main purpose is to help you move from Point A to B
It should be under 'others' category in your annual budget.

My purchase price: 4% of my equity dividends
Maintenance: 4% of my kengen
dividends.
Towards the goal of financial freedom