Is our tribalism compatible with competitive Presidential elections?
@Mainat, Devolution was ideally supposed to address that by making the presidency less powerful and decentralizing decision making to the counties. The presidency still remains powerful if "symbolism" is anything to go by. Taking a closer look at yesterday's event, it seems the presidency is still very powerful and its attraction is just too much. While governors are haggling over the right to fly the flay, the presi even has a personalized one. The governors remains glorified mayors presiding over Kanjus waiting for the central gov to disburse funds and the "real man" remains at the house in the hill. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Mainat wrote:All the 5 general elections since multipartism have proven one thing. Most Kenyans vote based on their tribe. And the tension gets worse every general election because as illogical as it is, whichever tribe wins, thinks they'll benefit. The parties have zero ideology. Why not look at a rotating the presidency around the 8 provinces? Here is how the relevant province would select the president. From the county governor or senator elections, one senator would then be chosen by respective elected county representatives within the province and would then be the one to be Kenya's president for a period of 5 years. His deputy would come from another province. The two would then as now appoint a cabinet which would undergo vetting by bunge and parliament. Thoughts? Someone from my tribe (I prefer community) has never been president, and probably never will be. But i still prefer that our president is chosen by majority of Kenyans, those who can't see the simple logic of this should be ignored. @Obi do not worry, it will happen in 2022.
Gathige wrote:@Mainat,
Devolution was ideally supposed to address that by making the presidency less powerful and decentralizing decision making to the counties. The presidency still remains powerful if "symbolism" is anything to go by. Taking a closer look at yesterday's event, it seems the presidency is still very powerful and its attraction is just too much. While governors are haggling over the right to fly the flay, the presi even has a personalized one. The governors remains glorified mayors presiding over Kanjus waiting for the central gov to disburse funds and the "real man" remains at the house in the hill.
.....and did you see Dr. Evans Kidero, the Nairobi governor struggling to find where to sit???? ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:Gathige wrote:@Mainat,
Devolution was ideally supposed to address that by making the presidency less powerful and decentralizing decision making to the counties. The presidency still remains powerful if "symbolism" is anything to go by. Taking a closer look at yesterday's event, it seems the presidency is still very powerful and its attraction is just too much. While governors are haggling over the right to fly the flay, the presi even has a personalized one. The governors remains glorified mayors presiding over Kanjus waiting for the central gov to disburse funds and the "real man" remains at the house in the hill.
.....and did you see Dr. Evans Kidero, the Nairobi governor struggling to find where to sit???? Hii ni siasa! He could have been looking for his name..... he is the most powerful governor my friend and even if you want to say he was being treated like that because of his "name", i bet you may want to believe that his win was also significantly boosted by Jubilee and other parties votes.... Even the president and his DP know that.
Wendz wrote:McReggae wrote:Gathige wrote:@Mainat,
.....and did you see Dr. Evans Kidero, the Nairobi governor struggling to find where to sit???? Hii ni siasa! He could have been looking for his name..... he is the most powerful governor my friend and even if you want to say he was being treated like that because of his "name", i bet you may want to believe that his win was also significantly boosted by Jubilee and other parties votes.... Even the president and his DP know that. @Wendz...nobody mentioned his name, was just hilighting why the Governors may not be as powerful as had been envisaged......moreso if the ruling elite are not on your side. Compare him with the clout one loser Balala seemed to have been holding!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
McReggae wrote:Wendz wrote:McReggae wrote:Gathige wrote:@Mainat,
Devolution was ideally supposed to address that by making the presidency less powerful and decentralizing decision making to the counties. The presidency still remains powerful if "symbolism" is anything to go by. Taking a closer look at yesterday's event, it seems the presidency is still very powerful and its attraction is just too much. While governors are haggling over the right to fly the flay, the presi even has a personalized one. The governors remains glorified mayors presiding over Kanjus waiting for the central gov to disburse funds and the "real man" remains at the house in the hill. .....and did you see Dr. Evans Kidero, the Nairobi governor struggling to find where to sit???? Hii ni siasa! He could have been looking for his name..... he is the most powerful governor my friend and even if you want to say he was being treated like that because of his "name", i bet you may want to believe that his win was also significantly boosted by Jubilee and other parties votes.... Even the president and his DP know that. @Wendz...nobody mentioned his name, was just hilighting why the Governors may not be as powerful as had been envisaged......moreso if the ruling elite are not on your side. Compare him with the clout one loser Balala seemed to have been holding!!!! It would defeat the need to have some positions constitutional and not accrod them the necessary tools, power, and status!! Devolve government without money to do the job is useless.
Were we to implement rotation of the presidency, it'd actually reduce the kind of nonsense we are seeing now whereby for every GoK appointment, its not necessarily the best kind candidate but tribal balance that is the key criteria. This will come back to bite... Githiga-re devolution, separation of powers et al, he who pays the piper, calls the tune. Its the president's power to give, and it'll take a particular type of President to do so and I haven't seen him yet. Sehemu ndio nyumba
Rank: Member Joined: 1/14/2012 Posts: 201 Location: nairobi
The problem is that the same Governors are imagining the counties are little independent republics and they are supposed to run the show there without any interference from the Central Government yet they still want money from the Central Govt to run their little 'countries'. I think someone should explain to us where matters ceases to be County Govt matters and when the Central Govt has no business interfering in some county matters. LIFE IS SO GOOD
@bigbossman, precisely.Governors are imagining they are running small republics yet they are relying on the central gov for funding. The earlier they start generating income for the counties the better and that is when they will be independent. It pains me to see how bad the hosuing situation in Nbi city is so bad yet the former City Council owns all those dilapidated estates that generates negligible income. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
I tend to think that alot of attention is paid to politics and politicians and the expense of activities that would have much more positive impacts on our lives. I was watching in the news and I remember some interviewees saying that despite yesterday being such an great day they still had to work because even development has to start with the individual. The common Mwananchi has the power to change so many things in their lives and by extension how the government in run in a positive way. If the Mwananchi wants, we would change tribe from being a factor in elections and consider only issues, but this is not going to happen when we are waiting for our man to be leader so that we can eat. With things as they are today, we have 5 or maybe 10 years to decide to change our lives(by exploiting our economic potential however minimal) or 5 or 10 years of waiting for our man to be leader so that we can eat. Some people have waited since independence i.e 50 years and they r not there yet? Are we going to learn from the mistakes of others or we are at least going to light candles rather than curse the darkness?
Is our tribalism compatible with competitive Presidential elections?