wazua Thu, Jul 2, 2026

Retired President Kibaki
#11 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 4:40:32 PM

Took tribalism to a whole new level and just laid back and watched...

The unfortunate truth. Sad
#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 5:40:31 PM

Elder wrote:
Took tribalism to a whole new level and just laid back and watched...

The unfortunate truth. Sad

...will not miss him...He may have built roads for us, but he did not fork out the money from his pocket...But all the same have a nice retirement!
Cupcake
#13 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 6:13:21 PM

Hi comic moments

when he said Bloody bure kabisa...and when a pole fell next to the dais..."wacha ilale...unataka kuweka vumbi huku kwote...."
#14 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 7:34:40 PM

We can learn alot from this great man. How long again did he work for Kenya? And how long did his constituency have continued faith in him? And for all that how well has he done for himself? Other than his MWK, do you hear of shenanigans from his family? And after all is said and done, he leaves a hero with a truckload of gifts...

Now, show me a man who wouldn't want that for himself

#15 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 7:57:05 PM

We can learn alot from this great man. How long again did he work for Kenya? And how long did his constituency have continued faith in him? And for all that how well has he done for himself? Other than his MWK, do you hear of shenanigans from his family? And after all is said and done, he leaves a hero with a truckload of gifts...

. Before you are a leader, success is
all about growing yourself. When
you become a leader, success is all
about growing others. —Jack Welch
He did the first part forgot the second...
#16 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 8:01:10 PM

This man has achieved a lot in his life! Less than 1% of Kenyans can even hope of achieving what he has. 50 years of service to his country in very high profile jobs the last 10 years of which he made the impossible possible. I remember Moi insisting that free primary education is a virtual impossibility and Prof. Saitoti insisting he is a mathematician and they have done their maths and seen it is possible. And they did IMMEDIATELY. Barely days after elections. And he topped it up with Secondary education! Thika road! The first time Michuki talked about a 10 lane super highway, I was one of the biggest doubters. I said, re-carpeting maybe, but 10 lanes - never! Not only did we get the 10 lane [12 lanes in some sections] super highway, it is complete with by passes to boot! Many new roads, re-done roads, unprecedented rural electrification, dizzying political and other freedoms etc.

And when it came to the time to retire, he did it with a big smile! It's like he was even in a hurry. He couldn't wait to hand over - so "un-African" [politically speaking]. The man knew he had done his best and believed there are other people out there who were also willing and able to serve their country. None of that "I don't know how you will survive without me" bull crap!
#17 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 8:17:11 PM

On the tribalism issue, I agree. Under the watch of Kibaki and Raila, tribalism has reached unprecedent heights and even become institutionalized. During Moi's day, tribalism was still there but no self respecting individual would stand in public and say OUR TRIBE this or our tribe that. Nowadays, when there are some appointments people start counting the appointees by tribe in broad daylight and totally ignore qualifications! The next thing you hear is "Only one person is from our tribe...". Public officials are now under direct instructions to use TRIBE as one of the criterion for shortlisting job applicants! Yes. Now you can OFFICIALLY be denied a job for being from a certain tribe. Reverse tribalism at it's best. Just because you are from tribe x and the department/organization etc. has y% of employees from your tribe [never mind the reasons or how it happened and the fact that it is not your fault] you can go to hell despite you qualifications!!! And that is an official policy!
#18 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 8:37:39 PM

I think @maich is fair critic Applause Applause

He gives credit where it fits, and critisizes when true.
But some people here don't want some things mentioned about some people.
But the same people say crazy things about some other people.

Double standars nayo!!!
#19 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 8:51:46 PM

This man has achieved a lot in his life! Less than 1% of Kenyans can even hope of achieving what he has. 50 years of service to his country in very high profile jobs the last 10 years of which he made the impossible possible. I remember Moi insisting that free primary education is a virtual impossibility and Prof. Saitoti insisting he is a mathematician and they have done their maths and seen it is possible. And they did IMMEDIATELY. Barely days after elections. And he topped it up with Secondary education! Thika road! The first time Michuki talked about a 10 lane super highway, I was one of the biggest doubters. I said, re-carpeting maybe, but 10 lanes - never! Not only did we get the 10 lane [12 lanes in some sections] super highway, it is complete with by passes to boot! Many new roads, re-done roads, unprecedented rural electrification, dizzying political and other freedoms etc.

And when it came to the time to retire, he did it with a big smile! It's like he was even in a hurry. He couldn't wait to hand over - so "un-African" [politically speaking]. The man knew he had done his best and believed there are other people out there who were also willing and able to serve their country. None of that "I don't know how you will survive without me" bull crap!

Applause Well put. I hope @maka can read well articulated english before he busts a vein in his a$*.

Mboss, one thing that has helped me in life is the 1/3 rule. In life a third of people will like you, a third will not, no matter what you do and the rest of the third won't care. I'm betting Kibz has a similar mantra. As long as he left things much better than he found them... given human limitations, he can retire in peace.

As for tribalism, I will echo @Angelica... you see what you want to see. With the world becoming smaller and smaller(technology/press), intermarriages, urbanizations and now a devolved system of government, this song, that was introduced by the colonialists in divide-and-rule, has no future.

Mainat
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 10:32:50 PM

What Kibaki did for Kenya's economy will be hard for anybody to surpass.
Sehemu ndio nyumba