wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

Is Gertrude’s Hospital slowly killing our children?
Ngong
#21 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 8:07:10 PM

I went to the same hospital some years back and said never again.
My kid had swollen eyes in the morning so I took her there. The young doctor who examined the kid said this...how are you am afraid we have to admit the kid and the mother,kindly take these forms and start the process.
I ask why.
He tells me the kid has serious heart problem!
We get scared and the mother even more confused!
So an idea comes to my mind and l decide to call my friend late Pro. Mumo [RIP].
He tells me to get out of that hospital and meet him at doctors plaza.
I rush there meet him together with another doctor[Wafula a good doctor for kids,an authority].
This doctor takes less than 10 minutes and tells us to go home in peace!
What a shock,nothing wrong with the kid, No medicine Nothing!
I came to know that these doctors in order to be relevant to this institutions, they must make money by admitting patients and prescribing expensive drugs.
Good doctors just like any profession have their own practice!
Ngong
#22 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 8:08:48 PM

@ Elder – am currently hosting a relative who is a Nurse from abroad and when she saw the drugs she raised the alarm
@ Robbinhood – He is my Second Born. Been lucky with my first born as she has rarely needed to visit doctors
@MC – Yes I have heard things about the drugs and I heard them this morning.
For the record I have nothing against Gertrude’s and just want to hear the opinion of Doctors or Pharmacists in the house.

Peleka mtoto aishi ushago kama Murang'a valley hivi, aliwe na jiggers huku na huko matakoni until he reaches 5 years then bring him to the city. You will never regret for the natural immunity he will develop from the rural set-up.

My parents never regretted for raising me that way, whereas my friend who was raised in the former posh Parklands is a shadow of myself; both of us are middle aged adults now!

You can bank this proven theory in the UNAITAS Githurai branch or throw it in Nairobi dam.

Laughing out loudly Wewe bure kabisa
#23 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 8:28:26 PM

Ngong wrote:
I went to the same hospital some years back and said never again.
My kid had swollen eyes in the morning so I took her there. The young doctor who examined the kid said this...how are you am afraid we have to admit the kid and the mother,kindly take these forms and start the process.
I ask why.
He tells me the kid has serious heart problem!
We get scared and the mother even more confused!
So an idea comes to my mind and l decide to call my friend late Pro. Mumo [RIP].
He tells me to get out of that hospital and meet him at doctors plaza.
I rush there meet him together with another doctor[Wafula a good doctor for kids,an authority].
This doctor takes less than 10 minutes and tells us to go home in peace!
What a shock,nothing wrong with the kid, No medicine Nothing!
I came to know that these doctors in order to be relevant to this institutions, they must make money by admitting patients and prescribing expensive drugs.
Good doctors just like any profession have their own practice!

Wafula is one in a million.

#24 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 11:48:22 PM

Ma babys mama says she cant go there because it costs too much
But her main reason is they mostly prescribe original drugs. In her opinion in some kawaida illnesses a kid should be given generics and reserve the originals when things dont go as planned.she also claims that because original drugs are very strong they dont help a child develope some immunity but create a dependancy on the drug
Is she right?d'oh! e
Buster
#25 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 2:25:26 AM

@ Elder – am currently hosting a relative who is a Nurse from abroad and when she saw the drugs she raised the alarm
@ Robbinhood – He is my Second Born. Been lucky with my first born as she has rarely needed to visit doctors
For the record I have nothing against Gertrude’s and just want to hear the opinion of Doctors or Pharmacists in the house.

Peleka mtoto aishi ushago kama Murang'a valley hivi, aliwe na jiggers huku na huko matakoni until he reaches 5 years then bring him to the city. You will never regret for the natural immunity he will develop from the rural set-up.

My parents never regretted for raising me that way, whereas my friend who was raised in the former posh Parklands is a shadow of myself; both of us are middle aged adults now!

You can bank this proven theory in the UNAITAS Githurai branch or throw it in Nairobi dam.

What about you? Any regrets?

Me, born and raised in Nairobi all my life. Also middle aged. Never spent a day in hospital. Never been sick apart from the common cold. None of my Children have ever been admitted in Hosi. And the first born clocks 20 this year. Its not about where you were raised....

But I am sorry to hear that this is happening in Gertrudes. Never used to be that way when I used to take my Kids there.
#26 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 7:30:36 AM

@buster, first born is 20yrs old? Mimi hata sijui mama watoto atatoka wapi na hizi stori za Getrudes zinanishtua.
ChumsQuest
#27 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 7:50:10 AM

This morning I took my 5 months old son to Gertrude’s Hospital since he had a cough over the weekend.
I was given two medicines – Predsol and Ventolin. I hear that Ventolin is for Control of Asthma and Predsol is some form of steroid and both should not be administered to children unless in very critical condition (Am not sure if this is true). Could it be that Gertrude’s can be this irresponsible?

ZZE123, I will give you info that is true to my knowledge and hope in addition to more research helps you out. For children under 2, you are not supposed to give any medication when they get the common cold which involves nasal congestion, mild cough, runny nose. What they recommend is having a humidifier in the room esp when the child is sleeping to open up his airways, use nasal drops (saline) to loosen the mucus and then use a bulb syringe to pull out the loose mucus. Some mothers use the traditional wa of extracting by mouth (not hygienic but anything for a child, right? Works wonders though). Run some hot water in the bathroom and hold your child in there when it's steamy and it helps loosen up the mucus. Not sure if a 5 month would be ok with vicks vaporub but it does work like magic when it's rubbed on the chest, back, and feet before sleeping. Before 2 years they do not recommend anything else and the child has to fight it out; It's sad but it's the safest thing to do. After 1, some diluted honey (only after 12 months) with some warm water helps with a cough. For a fever/temp you can use baby tylenol, ask your Pediatrician how much is needed (child can overdose if not careful). Recommended is 1.25ml Q4-6 hours if needed. I would recommend not giving a 3rd dose if fever still there. Take him/her to see the Doc. Unless the child is wheezing, having the worst trouble breathing and not the expected congestion, Ventolin and Prednisone are not solutions. If he's not asthmatic, don't give the child these medication. Good luck.
ChumsQuest
#28 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 7:55:45 AM

jguru wrote:
Ventolin (Salbutamol) is a short acting beta-2 adrenergic receptor agonist. Predsol (prednisolone) is a steroid.

Ventolin (aerosol or solution) should not be used in children younger than 2 years of age (safety and efficacy have not been established).

Steroids are used in children based on studies in adults since course of disease and pathophysiology is essentially similar. 1 month old children can be treated with steroids (neprotic syndrome, leukemia). Steroids, however, should be used with caution. They cause decrease in growth and increased rate of infections in children. And they should not be used for prolonged periods of time.

But surely, why would a cough (with no fever or difficulty in breathing) for 2 days necessitate steroids and bronchodilators? These hospitals!

Get a paediatrician you can visit whenever your child falls ill. Threads abound in Wazua about "Paediatricians". Search for them.

Great info. Couldn't have said it better.
mjuaji wa stocks
#29 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 8:38:40 AM

I rarely agree with impunity but here he has a point.

I am in the medical world and any time; i better go to shugs and take Oleparrmunyo for my flu than buy conventional antihistamines.

Our traditional way of raising our children is far much better than this westernized way.

And am sure by now the complainants baby but have been injected several vaccines - i then ask; do this vaccines help?? I tend to think they may in the contrary lower our immunity instead.

Surely; from 1 month ukianza kudungwa ma shindano; is there any room left for natural immunity to develop?

It is a conspiracy well known world wide to reduce the world's population to 500m people - call me a conspiracy theorist - but that is a fact.

If you dont believe; ask obama and co wakupe certificates of immunization of their children .... Acheni mchezo --- let the children grow naturally!
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#30 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 8:46:24 AM

@buster, first born is 20yrs old? Mimi hata sijui mama watoto atatoka wapi na hizi stori za Getrudes zinanishtua.

@Lolest, you can do a booking with Mr. Buster smile;-)
#31 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 8:52:34 AM

I take my child to Gertrude's and I can attest that it's the best hospital you can take your kid for consultation as they won't have to guess as much as others who don't just specialise in kids do. Chances are that they've come across most things your kid would be suffering from.

#32 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 8:59:42 AM

I take my child to Gertrude's and I can attest that it's the best hospital you can take your kid for consultation as they won't have to guess as much as others who don't just specialise in kids do. Chances are that they've come across most things your kid would be suffering from.

Hata mimi!!!
QD
#33 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 11:41:21 AM

Hata mimi!!!

Granted but sometimes the urge to get money for this hospitals out way the moral obligation to alleviate pain in the young ones.

My most memorable was when my 7 months old was diagnosed to be having acute inflammation and needed admitting to monitor in Nairobi hospital. The young fella was teething.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
accelriskconsult
#34 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 12:16:15 PM

I have a 2 year old and have taken him to Gertrude's several times. The doctors who have treated him have been ok except for this young fellow that I once found in the Nairobi West Branch. My son was six months old then. I left the doctors room and when I came back I found my wife nearly breaking in to tears..the mshenzi had scared her by telling her that my son's head was abnormal because one of the soft spots on his head had not closed.

I refused to let him treat my son and took him elsewhere. He lacked basic skills taught at medical school. He was keen on finding out my wife's and my tribe which struck me as not just odd, but plain idiotic. When I asked the nurses what was wrong with the young man, they informed me that he was a clinical officer. I still do take my son to Gertrude's but I know that walking away that day was one of the best decisions that I have ever made.
mjuaji wa stocks
#35 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 12:35:54 PM

I made thet same mistake once and took my son to getrudes ..... just to discover that the Drs there are just Medical officers- - fresh graduates.

I have never repeated the same again.... so if you think gertrudes is the best for children .... think again.

How many consultants paediatricians are on permanent pay roll by gerties?

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#36 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 12:50:35 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
I made thet same mistake once and took my son to getrudes ..... just to discover that the Drs there are just Medical officers- - fresh graduates.

I have never repeated the same again.... so if you think gertrudes is the best for children .... think again.

How many consultants paediatricians are on permanent pay roll by gerties?

I think its all over these private hospitals, the Docs collude with the admin in fleecing poor patients off their money. Its painful to see a Dr recommend admission (esp when insurance is involved) for simple common cold ailments.

I recall, Aga Khan Mombasa recommended admission for my son after 2 days he was ok, (all over the hospital and playful kama kawaida after a bout of tonsilitis), the Dr, insisted that he spends 4 more days. We discharged without her consent.
Blackberry
#37 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 12:50:52 PM

QD wrote:

Granted but sometimes the urge to get money for this hospitals out way the moral obligation to alleviate pain in the young ones.

My most memorable was when my 7 months old was diagnosed to be having acute inflammation and needed admitting to monitor in Nairobi hospital. The young fella was teething.

Its good to engage the doc to know what is going on and if something feels not right it probably isnt. had the same experience at Gertrude NBI West.... baby had a night cough( She would be fine Mchana but occasionally wake usiku wa manane coz of the cough) so kupimwa, babygal had no fever and chest declared clear. The young Doc diagnoses upper respiratory something....and prescribes Ventolin, benylin and a pain killer syrup( jina nimesahau) when I challenged him about the Ventolin yet he said the chest is clear he said he is prescribing the dawa but I didnt have to give the baby If i didnt want to......Sad Sad eeh Id expected an antibiotic but Doc said NO coz There was no Infection yet....so went home and bought Kavol. Id poured a few drops on a hunky and hung it near her pillow...n' voila! The Homa/Cough Gone in two or so days.

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#38 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 1:01:53 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
I rarely agree with impunity but here he has a point.

I am in the medical world and any time; i better go to shugs and take Oleparrmunyo for my flu than buy conventional antihistamines.

Our traditional way of raising our children is far much better than this westernized way.

And am sure by now the complainants baby but have been injected several vaccines - i then ask; do this vaccines help?? I tend to think they may in the contrary lower our immunity instead.

Surely; from 1 month ukianza kudungwa ma shindano; is there any room left for natural immunity to develop?

It is a conspiracy well known world wide to reduce the world's population to 500m people - call me a conspiracy theorist - but that is a fact.

If you dont believe; ask obama and co wakupe certificates of immunization of their children .... Acheni mchezo --- let the children grow naturally!

Mjuaji, sijui niseme? Sad

Strange. You are in the "medical world" and you think vaccines are a conspiracy.

In the first 9 months of life of a child, after immunization, their bodies will have the immunity to fight TB, Polio, Diphtheria, Pertusis (Whooping Cough), Tetanus, Hepatitis B, Haemphilus Influenza and Measles.

If the world's children did not receive immunizations, very few of us would be around to enjoy this world. And yes, immunizations happen in every country, including the US.

Sample this:

"In the US, before 1963, more than 3 million cases of measles and 500 deaths from measles were reported each year. More than 90% of children had measles by age 15. In 2002, there were 44 cases of measles." In 2011, there were a total of 222 measles cases. (US Population: 311 million people)

"In the US, before 1985, Haemophilus Influenzae caused serious infections in 20,000 children each year, including meningitis (12,000 cases) and pneumonia (7,500 cases). In 2002, there were 34 cases of Hib disease."
#39 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 4:23:48 PM

Dash wrote:
You guy, my son is asthmatic and predsol is only prescribed when his attacks are severe and the doc makes sure to constantly inform us that predsol is not to be played around with. And am with maka on this, my kid only sees docs older than 50 years old

Today I spent the better part of the day consulting a pediatrician who is well experienced since he looked to be in his late 40’s. He advised me that Predsol is a steroid that helps activate some muscles for Asthmatic people, and Ventoline should never be administered to a child below 3 years even then all other drugs must have failed to work since it affects immunity. He actually did not believe I got the prescription from Gertrude’s for my son and I had to get the drugs so he could see the label is from Gertrude’s. He examined the child and assured me the cough will go away in a few days and no medicine is required for now.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 4:26:41 PM

Am wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

@Impunity – I bet you have no kids so I won’t respond.Sad Sad

Sorry mate, but I'm with @impunity on this one.

Additional to @Impunity..Here (@Gordon) Comes another young man who does not understand the pain of seeing a kid suffer. This is Impunity and carelessness..

@ZZE123..I have a 5 month old who's been to Gertrudes 2 - 3 times and I have been dissatisfied with the service from 25 year old "Doctors". Do not know where else to go..

Sad Sad Sad Soon they will now how it feels when a child is in pain