wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

Inspector Gen
Kausha
#21 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 2:07:21 PM

@Alma, we obviously don't have the qualifications that the PSC required but that doesn't mean we don't have qualifications. So obviously applying was meaningless. Our input in the process is limited because we haven't interacted with the candidates but in the interview it was obvious, Kaindi, Ndenda, Kimaiyo, Kingori Mwangi, Arachi et al fell below the vision painted by the PSC unless somewhere down the process the readjusted the requirements to include mediocrity. There is no democracy here, we are using merit and the bar is the vision painted by the PSC. Surely no way these 3 honorable Kenyans are near that bar. If it was democracy as you allude we would all have been requested to vote for who we fancy on sms or something and the winner would be the new IGP. However an interview panel means we are going for the best.....and we ordinary wananchi have some expectations here...remember we pay these guys and demand value for our money. It's therefore mediocre of the commission to tell us these are the people who applied so we live with it...it's within their power to set a bar, otherwise JSC would have done the same and we probably would be Bosire as CJ-with all due respect.....

I think the PSC needs to be reconstituted afresh otherwise we will be crying next year when elections go kombo abit and Kimaiyo and NDenda are at the helm..
#22 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 2:54:49 PM

Kausha I agree with you, that from the interview snippets I saw, I wouldn't employ any of those as my househelps.

But lets be fair for a moment. The process was transparent. It was in public view and ALL Kenyans with minimum qualifications were invited to apply for the job. ALL Kenyans who had greivances were invited to have their views even in camera if there was need.

No one came. So the board was left with no choice but to choose those that applied.

So, these are the very best candidates that Kenya had to offer for the job of IG.

We should now support them as they take on a very very difficult job.
Kausha
#23 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 4:48:59 PM

Alma I hat to admit it, but any of these guys will fail miserable, bear in mind they have security of tenure and sending them home jut like Ringera and PLO will mean us paying them 4 or 8 years salary. Seeing what is happening to the force, it's imperative we get decent brains from outside, people who can take an aerial view of the organization and develop a long term plan to rebuild the entire force.

The 3 we have are part of the rot in the force and considering they are career officers - having worked nowhere else it's stupid of all of us to be expect them to change that force. First a lot of them rose through the ranks dubiously and besides recently acquired post graduate academic qualifications there is nothing else to write home about. The most they will do in the name of rebuilding the force is ask for more patrol cars, police officer ratio, bullet proof vests, more salary for officers and community policing. When they get all these and it suddenly dawns on all of us nothing has changed the IGP will blame wananchi for not providing community policing.....therefore as someone who wants to see better value for my taxes I refuse to support this mediocrity and say let's have better candidates or leave Iteere there anyway..
#24 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 12:37:30 PM

Deputies sworn in by the CJ!!!
#25 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 2:21:08 PM

Despite Raila's opposition!
#26 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 2:26:38 PM

...and the cases against the same being in court!!!!
#27 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 2:39:00 PM

...and the cases against the same being in court!!!!

Someone might sue the CJ for disrespecting the courts he heads
#28 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 4:03:01 PM

Dr Willy M Mutunga ‏@WMutunga

I will tomorrow issue a statement stating why today I swore in the three senior police officers. Meanwhile let this debate continue!
Expand
#29 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 7:04:19 PM

we can't have elections with a vaccum!
#30 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 7:10:12 PM

Uhuru nominated Hilary Mutyambai

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated Hilary Mutyambai to be the next Inspector General of Police following the end of Joseph Boinnet's tenure.

Mutyambai is currently the deputy director of National Counter-Terrorism Centre
#31 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 7:40:53 PM

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated Hilary Mutyambai to be the next Inspector General of Police following the end of Joseph Boinnet's tenure.

Who pulled the trigger on Boinnet? Uhuru ama Matiang'i?
#32 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 7:59:00 PM

Hilary Mutyambai. Kabila gani hii?

I know Kwambai is from huko Elgeyo Marakwet just like Boinnet and Kimaiyo. Is Mutyambai from the same area?
#33 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 8:06:51 PM

4 year term over
#34 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 8:17:56 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

4 year term over

I hear he's the first head of police to complete a term without being fired, replaced or forced to resign, true?

#35 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 8:23:07 PM

Hilary Mutyambai. Kabila gani hii?

I know Kwambai is from huko Elgeyo Marakwet just like Boinnet and Kimaiyo. Is Mutyambai from the same area?

Kao
#36 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 8:44:51 PM

Boinet now CAS d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#37 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 9:38:14 PM

Boinet now CAS d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Just like Ababu Namwamba. How come ex IGs and Jeshi guys can't just go home. Why do they have to create positions for them in GOK?

I think the last guy to go home roho safi was Daudi Tonje and I hear he is still highly respected in the military even as a private citizen.