wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

Messi's flower is withering?
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 3:49:17 PM

@ Mc Reggae.... Pep didn't inherit those players, he's actually the one who developed them and called for the youth to be given a chance to play for the first team. Thats what made the Barca mgt sack Rijkaard and promote their reserve coach.....Messi emerged when Pep took charge of Barca B while Xavi was even Pep's understudy.

On SAF my question was, do you think he can find success outside England....can he secure back to back titles in Germany or Italy! Lets be fair to Pep, at his age he deserves alot for what he's achieved.

What a big white lie bwana TAZ.

Pep was only made the barcelona B team coach in 2007 and that's when he started his coaching career, by this time, the midfield of Messi, Iniesta and Xavi were already in the starting XI!!!!!!
redondo
#22 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 4:08:12 PM

bkismat wrote:
Pep should better stay at Barca, he has rode the Frank Rijkaard bus for long enough, I don't think he will succeed away from Nou camp!!!

I think you are wrong, Rijkaards team was mainly centred on players such as Ronaldinho, Deco, Eto'o, Larson, Giuly, Belleti, Marquez etc. It is Pep who was incharge of Barca's Reserve team which developed and promoted young players such as Iniesta, Messi, Pedro, Busquets, Pique, Puyol, Xavi etc. He has a unique bond with the players thats why they usually say they can't imagine Barca without Pep. Actually its only Valdez and Puyol who were in the Barca team that won the 2006 CL final against Arsenal. If you look at the systems of play used by both managers you'd realise that they are totally different....Pep focuses more on possession football and flair.

We all say Mourinho is a football genius but the thing is he doesn't "adopt" teams, he's usually given alot of money to sign any player he wants and build his own squad. I find it interesting that you question Pep's capabilities outside Barca but do you think SAF (as a Man Utd fan) can achieve anything outside Man Utd?

Please read about SAF even just on Wikipedia. He was brought to Man U coz of what he had achiedved elsewhere(St Mirren:won with a team of 19 year olds Scottish 1st division,Aberdeen: a couple of Scottish 1st division wins, Scottish cups and Scottish league cups and European Cup winners cup,European Super Cup, the most successful manager of Aberdeen). The guy has achieved elsewher not just at Man U.

@ bkismat. sasa hizo ni teams gani hizo? The Scottish league is a non-starter. How many times in the last 5 years has a Scottish team made it to the CL?

Give credit where its due. SAF took along time to turn around Manu. Pep's impact on barca was immediate!
#23 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 4:23:13 PM

Redondo.....eti Pep's impact on Barca was immediate, kwani barca walikuwa down before he came????
redondo
#24 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 4:34:04 PM

Redondo.....eti Pep's impact on Barca was immediate, kwani barca walikuwa down before he came????

Rijkard brought barca back to winning ways after many years of Real dominance. However, Its Pep who firmly put them on the drivers seat. The barca of Rijkard was a good team but not a world class one. Pep entrenched tiki-taka and with it came more glory for barca
#25 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 4:39:16 PM

redondo wrote:

Rijkard brought barca back to winning ways after many years of Real dominance. However, Its Pep who firmly put them on the drivers seat. The barca of Rijkard was a good team but not a world class one. Pep entrenched tiki-taka and with it came more glory for barca

Ahsante, nuff said!!
#26 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 4:39:56 PM

@ redondo read before critisizing.Fergie achied alot with Arbadeen winning the Cup winners cup and the super cup against top opposition in Europe. Not forgetting that Man U had not won the league for 20 years prior to his appoitment. An how many teams in England were literally begging him to take their manegarial positions. These guys had seen his potential.
#27 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 4:46:55 PM

@Mc Reggae.....i'm talking about progress of the players on the pitch. Messi and co have really matured under Pep's leadership. He won the sextuple in his first season as first team coach and became the youngest ever manager to win the CL. After signing in 2008 he said Ronaldinho, Deco, Eto'o, Zambrotta and Co were not part of his plans.....we all thought he was insane but since then he's won 13 titles and has been manager of the year several times in UEFA, La liga, FIFA.

Rijkaard only had one good season in 2005/2006 since he joined in 2003 na you dare compare him to the young Spaniard.
redondo
#28 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 4:49:00 PM

bkismat wrote:
@ redondo read before critisizing.Fergie achied alot with Arbadeen winning the Cup winners cup and the super cup against top opposition in Europe. Not forgetting that Man U had not won the league for 20 years prior to his appoitment. An how many teams in England were literally begging him to take their manegarial positions. These guys had seen his potential.

@ bkismat. I admit you have a point. but from another perspective, EPL teams(except Chelsea) are very patient with non performing coaches. In la liga the bar is very high and coaches get fired left right centre. SAF was accordedv alot of time to turn the team around.wenger on the other hand (over the last 5 or so seasons)has enjoyed some sort of security of tenure that no coach in La liga would have access to. Pep deserves every peace of silverware he has won with Barca. As for his future and that of barca, only time will tell.
#29 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 5:02:30 PM

@ Mc Reggae.... Pep didn't inherit those players, he's actually the one who developed them and called for the youth to be given a chance to play for the first team. Thats what made the Barca mgt sack Rijkaard and promote their reserve coach.....Messi emerged when Pep took charge of Barca B while Xavi was even Pep's understudy.

On SAF my question was, do you think he can find success outside England....can he secure back to back titles in Germany or Italy! Lets be fair to Pep, at his age he deserves alot for what he's achieved.

What a big white lie bwana TAZ.

Pep was only made the barcelona B team coach in 2007 and that's when he started his coaching career, by this time, the midfield of Messi, Iniesta and Xavi were already in the starting XI!!!!!!

Appearences for the 3 players during Rijkaards time are as follows- Messi(110),Iniesta(222)and Xavi(224). Unfortuanately at that time there were others who were better than them. Rijkaard gave them enough playing time and he is the one who promoted Messi from the Youth Team.
mzeiya411
#30 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 5:41:54 PM

Mastermind wrote:
He has denied me Cl twice. Let him flop

Its amazing how some of us are mega shareholders thousands of Km's away Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
mzeiya411
#31 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2012 5:44:48 PM

Pep should better stay at Barca, he has rode the Frank Rijkaard bus for long enough, I don't think he will succeed away from Nou camp!!!

Just cause you dont like the man or the team he coaches dosen't prevent Pep from entering the record books. By the way how do you know he can't suceed elsewhere
#32 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2012 3:04:12 PM

mzeiya411 wrote:

Just cause you dont like the man or the team he coaches dosen't prevent Pep from entering the record books. By the way how do you know he can't suceed elsewhere

....wacha tuone if he will take the leap of faith and move somwhere else......remember AVB????

bkismat, very well said, TAZ claims he developed them in the youth and I clearly show he did not, I also show him these players started playing for the 1st team before Pep's time.....what does he do? he evades these facts!!!

The core of the current barca team has always been Xavi, Iniesta and Messi, who were playing under Frank.
#33 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2012 4:25:58 PM

@ Mc Reggae....Unlike AVB, Pep has won 13 titles with Barca, he will always be regarded as one of THE best wherever he goes. Those players you've mentioned are the core of the current Barca team but that was not the case during Rijkaard's term. There are several Man Utd players who have featured for the first team but mostly as substitutes or when you have injured/suspended players. Rijkaard's main players were Ronaldinho, Deco, Henry & Eto'o the rest were just there to supplement the first team.

"Guardiola is the most successful coach in Barca history, with three league titles, two Champions Leagues and a Copa del Rey among his haul. He has overseen the rise of three-time world player of the year Lionel Messi, Xavi and Iniesta, while signing Fabregas from Arsenal. Guardiola was particularly close to Messi - describing him as "the best ever" player - while the Argentina forward suggested Guardiola was the main factor behind Barca's recent success. " BBC SPORTS

ION....Tito Villanova (Pep's assistant now and when he was at Barca "B") will take over as manager.
#34 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2012 5:11:11 PM

How did I miss this? Thought the thread was about Messi withering and since I didn't see anything to contribute to that (the lad is 24 and already folklore waiting to win a world cup to be crowned a footballing god), decided to ignore. Kumbe it has metamorphosized to Pep!

Pep has achieved in 5 years what some coaches take decades to accomplish, whether we agree he inherited a team or not. That deserves plaudits, whether he succeeds in another club in the near future or not. Remember success for a coach is factor of many variables - club's player acquisition outlay, support from management, support from players (AvB in Porto and AvB in Chelsea, philosophy of the club (Barca have had the tika taka philosophy from the days of Johan Cruyff, to different extents depending on the coach, but it has never changed) + the manager's management skills and the talent at his disposal. Surely one cannot compare tenures in different clubs for different coaches.

The thing would be to see what a different coach would do with the same set of players (which goes back to the issue of tha man management skills of the manager). People say Jose is a great man manager. Brendan Rogers has done great with Swansea. Fergie took time with Utd, but removed the culture of brawling beer guzzlers with skills and replaced that with average players with discipline sprinkled with talent bought by money!

Great coaches do well everywhere,people should ask themeselves why Aberdeen broke the stranglehold Celtic and Rangers had on the SPL title when SAF was there and why the strangelhold resumed shortly after. I look at guys like Guus Hiddink with his work with PSV, Russia, Chelsea etc.Cappello, Mourinho, Fergie, Pep, Wenger,'Arry,even Benitez. I think those (and many others)are good ,tried and tested managers with some track record. Pep may not have a track record of more than one club but I don't think his success is a "fluke", as some peeps are suggesting. My 2 cents
#35 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2012 5:29:59 PM

It's done...Tito takes over...continuity of tiki taka

http://soccernet.espn.go...celona-departure?cc=3888
#36 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2012 10:25:09 PM

kwani hii thread, si ilikuwa about messi, ama?
#37 Posted : Saturday, April 28, 2012 8:31:17 AM

BTW Im not saying that Pep is not a great coach. I just get riled when guys belittle Rijkaards contribution to the ongoing Barca's success. He won 2 La Ligas and a CL for God's sake.Pep has 3 ligas and 2 CLs.
#38 Posted : Saturday, April 28, 2012 9:48:32 AM

@ Biskmat....Rijkaard made big money signings to achieve what he did but Pep didn't do that infact he sold some of the top players who were purchased by his predecessor. Rijkaard was a great coach but to suggest that Pep owes his success to him is ridiculous.

Like i said before Rijkaard had only one good season at Barca (won both the CL and La Liga) while Pep achieved 13 titles in 4 years.