5 Pages<1234>»
Should bank lending rates be regulated?
the deal
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 2:14:45 PM

guru267 wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

I don't see how banks can hoard loans,

Not all commodities can be regulated effectively, but i think a cap on interest rates can work.

@mkeiy a cap on lending rates will have a detrimental effects on the common mwananchi... imagine if the CBR was 18% and interest rates were capped at 22%..

Why would I as a bank lend to small scale farmer @ 22% and incur all the risk of default when I can simply lend to GOK through risk free treasury bonds @ 20-21%???

There will be absolutely no incentive to lend to the common man so the banks will hoard the loans to them..

T-bills and bonds have tumbled to 16-17% have banks reduced lending rates...ofcourse there is every incentive to lend to a farmer at 19% than to put money in a t-bill at 17%...
mkeiy
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 2:33:28 PM

guru267 wrote:
[quote=mkeiy]
I don't see how banks can hoard loans,

Not all commodities can be regulated effectively, but i think a cap on interest rates can work.

Why would I as a bank lend to small scale farmer @ 22% and incur all the risk of default when I can simply lend to GOK through risk free treasury bonds @ 20-21%???

There will be absolutely no incentive to lend to the common man so the banks will hoard the loans to them..

@guru, What i don't get is how, by lending to the same farmer at 28% solves the problem.
Higher interest rates lead to higher defaults,but compensated by higher repayment above principal.

The amounts that gov't borrows is not infinite,banks will have to lend the extra cash.

Interest rates are not going to remain above 15% for ever, how about when CBR comes down to single digits?
Ain't interest cap going to work for that farmer?

I say cap them. A range of between 3%-5% won't be that bad.
kizee1
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 2:56:59 PM

so you guys think that the current scenario is laissez faire?im quite amused
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 5:32:39 PM

You misunderstand my point. In your post, you used regulation and price control interchangably, the two are not synonymous.
kizee1 wrote:
econ 101, what happens when you regulate any commodity? ..infact can any of you guys give just one example of price controls that actually worked?

My point was all 'price controls' are Regulation. But the gambit of Regulation (an inescapable reality) is wider than just 'price controls'.

In Kenya for example, these interventions had a different key motive in my view, while only affecting price indirectly:
- In duplum
- Freeze currency speculation
- Setting telecom MTR rates
- Capping Margins on interest rates

#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 7:48:14 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Interest rates are not going to remain above 15% for ever, how about when CBR comes down to single digits?

When the CBR hits for example 5% Then bonds and bills will be at around 7-8% and the lending rate would be capped at 9%..

Any bank that knows how to calculate anything in risk management would only lend to the government and high net worth clients in such an environment..

The higher interest rate a farmer is charged is because of the risk premium needed on that loan.

It involves opportunity cost... Why would I as a bank lend to a farmer when the government and corporates are taking on plenty of debt??
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 8:16:35 PM

guru267 wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

When the CBR hits for example 5% Then bonds and bills will be at around 7-8% and the lending rate would be capped at 9%..

Any bank that knows how to calculate anything in risk management would only lend to the government and high net worth clients in such an environment..

The higher interest rate a farmer is charged is because of the risk premium needed on that loan.

It involves opportunity cost... Why would I as a bank lend to a farmer when the government and corporates are taking on plenty of debt??

@guru...the system will always find a way of stabiling itself and creating equilibrium.Yes bonds and short term paper will- be around 8-9% when the CBR rate comes down to 5%,banks will still be forced to lend out not only to HNWI and big firms but to everyone who is credit worthy as default rates will be much lower and the uptake of loans will be huge.Competition between banks will dictate who makes the most profit and the bannkor banks that will be willing to expand their loan portfolio will edge out those that will be conservative and selective in their lending...countries that have lending rates @ 5% still have baks which loan out individuals,the same case will apply here..
the deal
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 8:38:47 PM

Banks also earn commissions and fees on loans, so its to their advantage to lend than stick money in T-Bills...ain't Equity bank making billions from small farmers @guru? Last time I checked their NPL's where at an all time low...so even in a regulated environment banks will lend...
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 8:47:40 PM

the deal wrote:
Banks also earn commissions and fees on loans, so its to their advantage to lend than stick money in T-Bills...ain't Equity bank making billions from small farmers @guru? Last time I checked their NPL's where at an all time low.

@the deal Have you seen the rates the farmers with no collateral pay... Some are payin 26-29% while we all know the secured loans are going for 19-21%..

This is why equity lends to them.. Take this away and their source of credit is gone.. It will be The destruction of the SME sector..
the deal
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 9:17:01 PM

guru267 wrote:
the deal wrote:
Banks also earn commissions and fees on loans, so its to their advantage to lend than stick money in T-Bills...ain't Equity bank making billions from small farmers @guru? Last time I checked their NPL's where at an all time low.

@the deal Have you seen the rates the farmers with no collateral pay... Some are payin 26-29% while we all know the secured loans are going for 19-21%..

This is why equity lends to them.. Take this away and their source of credit is gone.. It will be The destruction of the SME sector..

According to this http://theeastafrican.co.../-/3wmff5z/-/index.html Equity Bank is lending to farmers at 10%..HFCk is charging existing clients 16%...the secret is access to cheap long term funds..if banks paid more on deposits more Kenyans would save...banks would have access to cheap long term funds..which can be used for mortgage lending..
chiaroscuro
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 11:21:46 PM

Some times I think that those who advocate for controlling of bank interest rates have probably never borrowed from a bank. Reason: why would anyone in their right mind borrow at 25% when the major banks are lending at around 15%?

Proof: Last month a neighbour needed to buy a car; she walked into Equity and enquired. They said car loans are at 14.5%. She signed the papers and three weeks later she had the car.

So, I ask: where are these banks that are charging 25%? HAKUNA KITU KAMA HIYO!!

DISCLAIMER: I am not an employee of EQUITY, but I am a shareholder.
5 Pages<1234>»