wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Bribing Thika Land Officers-Which is the best way?
Sure
#21 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 1:33:00 PM

Gatheuzi wrote:
I have been to this office for a land transfer and it looks like these guys must be given kitu kubwa for the title to come out.

My beliefs and integrity aside, I am now convinced I have to get an officer and give him cashSad Sad

Now the nightmare is --- HOW? The front office has 2 guys who purport to work but they show up for 5 minutes then dissapear in the offices for 2 hrs.

The clients go to those tiny offices and some block the corridors. Now how would you offer the bribe in a manner that is not so revealing that the officer will deny it?

Do you fold it in an evelope and put it together with your documents? or do you wait mpaka jioni when they are going home and call one guy aside??d'oh! d'oh!

Sorry I dont have experience in this part of the crude world????

Anyone who has done it before-please share the PROCESS!!!!

Gatheuzi, long time see not you!

Now, about Thika land issues, that is not my territory. I dont know who eats what, when, how, which etc. Drop me aline.
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
ngugifred
#22 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 1:41:49 PM

Jamani wrote:
I cant imagine the discussion here.... you guys are supposed to be the elite in society routing out corruption and standing against it yet you are are the ones seeking ways to propagate it.... waa!!! okay

Jamani,

It is the Thika Land Office we are talking about here. It is way beyond redemption and any ideas about integrity you might have. It operates on a different level. I once (1998) called a Nation journalist to witness their practices but it only worked for an hour. Seeing is believing. Nunua ploti huko ujionee.

I bet James Orengo is satisfied with their performance since he has done nothing about the corruption and inefficiency. Ama hata yeye ameshindwa?
Jamani
#23 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 2:33:15 PM

@Ngugi Fred.....It takes two to tango.... i read your statement in the opposite replacing the lands office staff with the people going for titles in this area.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 2:47:08 PM

This thread sounds like the Greenhouse thread....
Gatheuzi
#25 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 3:45:46 PM

Sure wrote:
Gatheuzi wrote:
I have been to this office for a land transfer and it looks like these guys must be given kitu kubwa for the title to come out.

My beliefs and integrity aside, I am now convinced I have to get an officer and give him cashSad Sad

Now the nightmare is --- HOW? The front office has 2 guys who purport to work but they show up for 5 minutes then dissapear in the offices for 2 hrs.

The clients go to those tiny offices and some block the corridors. Now how would you offer the bribe in a manner that is not so revealing that the officer will deny it?

Do you fold it in an evelope and put it together with your documents? or do you wait mpaka jioni when they are going home and call one guy aside??d'oh! d'oh!

Now, about Thika land issues, that is my territory. I know who eats what, when, how, which etc. Drop me aline.

Thanks @ sure --- ua email is?
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Gatheuzi
#26 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 3:50:52 PM

ngugifred wrote:
Jamani wrote:
I cant imagine the discussion here.... you guys are supposed to be the elite in society routing out corruption and standing against it yet you are are the ones seeking ways to propagate it.... waa!!! okay

Jamani,

It is the Thika Land Office we are talking about here. It is way beyond redemption and any ideas about integrity you might have. It operates on a different level. I once (1998) called a Nation journalist to witness their practices but it only worked for an hour. Seeing is believing. Nunua ploti huko ujionee.

I bet James Orengo is satisfied with their performance since he has done nothing about the corruption and inefficiency. Ama hata yeye ameshindwa?

Yes. You have to see it, experience it and smell it for you to know what we are talking about. In places like Kiambu, it takes about a month or two to have your title out. Maybe if you want it faster you can escort.

If you count 10 months and nothing is happening (case of Thika), then you must just oblige.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
254.co.ke
#27 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 4:13:59 PM

For real...this is the discussion here? I'm a Kenyan and knows this happen (giving and taking bribes) but discussing the "best" way to do it is new to me.
@Gatheuzi, if you not setting the forum members into a trap, then you should be thoroughly ashamed of the action but again sougd like you have the same experience you deny.
Gatheuzi
#28 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 5:01:41 PM

254.co.ke wrote:
For real...this is the discussion here? I'm a Kenyan and knows this happen (giving and taking bribes) but discussing the "best" way to do it is new to me.
@Gatheuzi, if you not setting the forum members into a trap, then you should be thoroughly ashamed of the action but again sougd like you have the same experience you deny.

@ 254 thanks for your comments. Perhaps the authorities (Land Officer in charge of that office should be ashamed.) I pay taxes but I don't get services.

For a fact, the issue is ''how do we best pay them ourselves in order to make them do our work.
anika66
#29 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 5:33:34 PM

But what is the role of the office of the ombudsman? That office should be dealing with complaints of this nature. I advice that this kind of complaint be filed with the office so that we can see if they too are going to be complacent or not. Its time we dealt with this kind of impunity in Kenya.

My issue is of a different nature and I wonder if there is anybody out there who can help me. I obtained a child maintainance order in which my husbands employer is ordered to deduct a certain amount of money from his salary and hand it over to the childrens office in one of the districts. The childrens office should then remitt the money to me. Unfortunately the childrens office refuses to give me the money with many excuses. I have traced the issue all the way to the employer and i have evidence that the money has been released to the childrens offfice each month (about 5400 each month). This is the fourth year and I have not received payment for almost two years. Payments in the first year were erratic and I had to 'push' for payment since I was then working in the same district. Now that I am working away from the country I am not able to follow up each month for payment. I am tired of calling and begging to be paid my kids money. What do i do?
Keeping it all in the family
#30 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 5:38:16 PM

Oh Thika thika. Wonder who's their mp,kajora and the officers in that office. Not forgetting orengo. It's the height of ineptitude when people can seriously figure out how to bribe you better. As in, they are so bad, that you have to bribe the bribee in order to bribe....
Jaina
#31 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2012 6:51:04 PM

@ Gatheuzi

I have a very strong feeling, you are not interested in bribing. Nobody is trained on bribing, circumstances makes it possible. If indeed you have money to bribe that is.

You have some other agenda
#32 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 8:32:22 AM

Jaina wrote:
@ Gatheuzi

I have a very strong feeling, you are not interested in bribing. Nobody is trained on bribing, circumstances makes it possible. If indeed you have money to bribe that is.

he wants to do it githongo style. Apeane na mpesa, possibly record some conversation on the issue. The officer ataharakisha mambo and he gets his title in record time. Then goes to the media blows everything up and a correlation analysis is done between the average time taken by those who give bribes and those who don't. Should work with mohammed ali on this one.
ngugifred
#33 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 9:31:53 AM

Oh Thika thika. Wonder who's their mp,kajora and the officers in that office. Not forgetting orengo. It's the height of ineptitude when people can seriously figure out how to bribe you better. As in, they are so bad, that you have to bribe the bribee in order to bribe....

Alma.

You know who the MP is. As for the Kanjoras and Municipal council officials, you can write a PHD thesis on impunity and land grabbing. Need I say more? see this post for clarity.

www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=6125
Thiong'o
#34 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 9:54:41 AM

Same old problem, maybe @Marty, @ Ali can share their experiences, any useful leads?

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=16695
Sure
#35 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 12:33:43 PM

Gatheuzi wrote:
Sure wrote:
Gatheuzi wrote:

Now, about Thika land issues, that is not my territory. I don't know who eats what, when, how, which etc. Drop me aline.

My E-mail is absolutelysure at ymail dot com
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
Gatheuzi
#36 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 4:16:31 PM

Sure wrote:
Gatheuzi wrote:
Sure wrote:
Gatheuzi wrote:

Now, about Thika land issues, that is not my territory. I don't know who eats what, when, how, which etc. Drop me aline.

My E-mail is absolutelysure at ymail dot com

Bravo!
Gatheuzi
#37 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 4:19:56 PM

anika66 wrote:
But what is the role of the office of the ombudsman? That office should be dealing with complaints of this nature. I advice that this kind of complaint be filed with the office so that we can see if they too are going to be complacent or not. Its time we dealt with this kind of impunity in Kenya.

My issue is of a different nature and I wonder if there is anybody out there who can help me. I obtained a child maintainance order in which my husbands employer is ordered to deduct a certain amount of money from his salary and hand it over to the childrens office in one of the districts. The childrens office should then remitt the money to me. Unfortunately the childrens office refuses to give me the money with many excuses. I have traced the issue all the way to the employer and i have evidence that the money has been released to the childrens offfice each month (about 5400 each month). This is the fourth year and I have not received payment for almost two years. Payments in the first year were erratic and I had to 'push' for payment since I was then working in the same district. Now that I am working away from the country I am not able to follow up each month for payment. I am tired of calling and begging to be paid my kids money. What do i do?

Sorry abt your issue. Maybe they realized you are not in Kenya anymore and so they can easily divert the funds. A lawyer could assist but that will cost you and given the amount involved, i suggest you try FIDA, they could be interested in your case and have free legal presentation.
Gatheuzi
#38 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 4:24:40 PM

kenmac wrote:
Jaina wrote:
@ Gatheuzi

he wants to do it githongo style. Apeane na mpesa, possibly record some conversation on the issue. The officer ataharakisha mambo and he gets his title in record time. Then goes to the media blows everything up and a correlation analysis is done between the average time taken by those who give bribes and those who don't. Should work with mohammed ali on this one.

@ Jaina, @Kenmac... you are both wrong. I am not a publicity seeking guy. In fact I am kinda media shy and would rather have my quiet life. It is just a transaction I want concluded and nothing more.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 8:09:59 PM

the title of this thread is super hilarious

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
anika66
#40 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2012 9:32:47 PM

Sorry abt your issue. Maybe they realized you are not in Kenya anymore and so they can easily divert the funds. A lawyer could assist but that will cost you and given the amount involved, i suggest you try FIDA, they could be interested in your case and have free legal presentation.[/quote]
Gatheuzi

Thanks for the suggestion. I will see about taking stern legal action when i return home. I might even consider asking for interest on withheld funds from the concerned departments. Still, what is the actual work of the Ombudsman office? How many women are losing money in similar situations as mine? Does anyone know how I can contact the Ombudsman office in Kenya? Are they online?
Keeping it all in the family