Investor
Economy
TZ economy to surpass Kenya, forecast shows
chuse wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Tanazania has gold, natural gas, diamonds, uranium, rubies, titanium, some say uranium, and lots of water.
But they don't have brains. bora nyie wenye akili watu wenu wanalala mitaani,wanakula majalalani,uchumi wenu unashikiliwa na watu wachache wengi wenu maskini hata wewe ulieandika maoni ni mmoja wao. bahati yenu mmesaidiwa na waingereza kwasababu walidhani kenya ni kama kwao. njoo tz uone maisha ya watu,taaluma na ujuzi wetu sio kubwabwaja tu maneno yasiyo na msingi wala ukweli. pun intended, i thought “Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
Rank: Member Joined: 7/9/2011 Posts: 730 Location: Nairobi
very interesting thread, chuse ningependa kujua ulijuaje wazua na mbona ukahama jamii? sijaona yeyote akitusi Tz kabla yako kuleta ujuaji hapa. Bongo kuna madini lakini bado hamna chochote, ni uzembe ama ujinga? Kenya tuna shida zetu lakini zenu ni mingi zaidi our goals are best achieved indirectly
Rank: Member Joined: 7/9/2011 Posts: 730 Location: Nairobi
very interesting thread, chuse ningependa kujua ulijuaje wazua na mbona ukahama jamii? sijaona yeyote akitusi Tz kabla yako kuleta ujuaji hapa. Bongo kuna madini lakini bado hamna chochote, ni uzembe ama ujinga? Kenya tuna shida zetu lakini zenu ni mingi zaidi our goals are best achieved indirectly
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,101 Location: Nairobi
mv_ufanisi wrote:It's only funny until one day we see the Tanzanian economy zoom past. The joke will be on us. When you compare the Natural Resources that Tanzania has... it should have surpassed Kenya years ago! Eventually, it probably will (the natural resources are very valuable) but not before 2020 at the earliest! Oh, they hate Kenyans with a passion! They delay work permits then arrest or deport Kenyans... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
chuse wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Tanazania has gold, natural gas, diamonds, uranium, rubies, titanium, some say uranium, and lots of water.
But they don't have brains. bora nyie wenye akili watu wenu wanalala mitaani,wanakula majalalani,uchumi wenu unashikiliwa na watu wachache wengi wenu maskini hata wewe ulieandika maoni ni mmoja wao. bahati yenu mmesaidiwa na waingereza kwasababu walidhani kenya ni kama kwao. njoo tz uone maisha ya watu,taaluma na ujuzi wetu sio kubwabwaja tu maneno yasiyo na msingi wala ukweli. My observations about Tanzanians: 1. They are lazy 2. They want everything done for them, no initiative 3. They are totally dependent on donor funding, unlike Kenya 4. They hate anyone smarter than them, hence their hatred for Kenyans 5. They spend like crazy and leave behind bad loans/debts all over the place 6. English is a serious challenge, and I read the average class 8 student has class 4 speaking/writing skills. 7. Corruption is rampant, you wont believe how these guys "eat" 8. No one takes responsibility, its all the "ujamaa" crap... 9. They worship South Africans. You should see those guys walk around TZ as if they own the place, and you should see the Tanzanian on his knees paying homage to the white man. Funny! Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
But they don't have brains. bora nyie wenye akili watu wenu wanalala mitaani,wanakula majalalani,uchumi wenu unashikiliwa na watu wachache wengi wenu maskini hata wewe ulieandika maoni ni mmoja wao. bahati yenu mmesaidiwa na waingereza kwasababu walidhani kenya ni kama kwao. njoo tz uone maisha ya watu,taaluma na ujuzi wetu sio kubwabwaja tu maneno yasiyo na msingi wala ukweli. Wewe Chuse njoo ujionee Mwai Kibaki superhighway alafu kisha uropokwe Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
From Jamii forum Watanzania tulikuwa na tofauti za msingi na Uganda, lakini ni wakenya mlioamua kuvunja jumuiya mwaka 1977 kwasababu mlikuwa mnaona kuwa sie na waganda ni mizigo na mlikuwa mnajiona nyie mna uchumi mzuri mkaona bora mvunje jumuiya. Mlianza kwa kuvunja makubaliano ambayo yalionyesha kuwa kiwanda cha general tyre ambacho kilikuwa Arusha kwa ajili East Africa kisiwe na competitor kama ambavyo kulikuwa kuna viwanda vya EAC kenya havikutakiwa kujengwa Tanzania na uganda na vilivyokuwa uganda havikutakiwa kujengwa kenya na TZ. Nyie mkavunja makubaliano mkaamua kujenga kiwanda cha matairi na hivyo kuchangia kuangusha jumuiya. Lakini ujanja mwingi mbele giza, baada ya kuvunja EAC mmegundua kuwa kumbe nyie ndo mna upungufu wa rasilimali kuliko sie ndo maana mnataka tena jumuiya. Sasa tusubirini na sie tujipange ili tukiingia tushindane bila makunyanzi. Na nyie muwe wavumilivu sasa maana utukutu mlianzisha wenyewe. Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
i'm currently working briefly as part of an exchange program in TZ and you wouldnt believe how they harrased me the other day at the border coz i'd left my work permit in Dar,yet i'm busy treating their grandmothers in hospital.shame!
I don't think natural resources lead to tangible development. name one country that has grown as a result of abundance of natural resources, hakuna; See the some of the top economies in the world and what has made them kings: USA - Innovation and consumption Japan - manufacturing and savings Germany - efficiency UK - trade and services China - mass manufacturing, knocking off other peoples innovations and savings India - IT, consumption, cost cutting. Israel - technology UAE - International Services centre Now for economies with abundant natural resources: Saudi Arabia - a retarded mornach and some of the harshest laws against its people Congo - I have no words South Africa - Blacks are not exactly very happy, plus strikes every month Venezuela - Lunatic as president Angola - Suffering from debilitating Dutch disease Iraq - recovering A few that have managed to utilise their abundant natural resources well are; - Norway - Brazil - Australia - Canada "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
And to think there are plans to have a common currency with those retards. Imagine some dodobrain in Dar influencing your economic health! NEVER,,,, Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
WHAT DO U EXPECT FROM PEOPLE WHOSE VERY OWN POLICEMEN ASK DIEHARD CRIMINAL, 'NAOMBA KAKA NIKUSHIKE TWENDE STESHENI'
Rank: New-farer Joined: 5/20/2011 Posts: 67 Location: Nairobi
Tanzanians are perpetual beggers who are always so threated of a hard worker.they expect all but give nothing.then spend the day whining of how things would b better in the abscence of the hardworking foreigners!!
The only thing ive admired is their NSSF.20% savings on monthly gross salary and chq given upon employment termination!!with that here in kenya some of us would never have considered leaving the country.
Kenya is like that rude kid who is suspended but still beats the others in the exam. TZ, the obidient pupil mwenye hushika mkia. African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
I forgot to mention how rampant theft is there.i remember a specific australian based company that had made it very clear that only their australian or ghanaian employees were allowed to physically collect items @ our yard.in their abscence my we had 2 deliver!!
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,101 Location: Nairobi
This makes for interesting reading. http://coldtusker.blogsp...-community-roadmap.html
Who cares about the EAC? Apparently, not Tanzania! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Interesting read indeed.when it comes to exploration+mining,kenya should mirror the tz polices for a start.we may b suprised with the natural wealth discovered
Love them or hate them part of our economy relies on the tanzanian market. Our weak manufacturing sector relies has a huge consumption in TZ. For example when in Dar I asked a pharmacy for paracetamol and they didn't know what that was then asked for panadol and I was asked if I want the Nairobi panadol or generic. Well I eventually took the Nairobi panadol. This example rings true for a lot of our manufacturers.
TZ natural resources is a boon for us. It makes them rich enough to consume and import Kenyan products. Their natural resources can also lead to the dutch disease kiling off their manufacturing sector ....yeai!
I trust we can be benevolent and let them have their false pride.
@ Chuse. Yes Tanzanians economy is already bigger than the other east african economies combined and is only equaled by SA in Africa. Hope you can rest and sleep easy with such good news.
Cheers.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
their capital da resalaam must also become a hub kigali does not even come close to upper hill or westlands and its the only compe within east and central africa
by peter Nyanje The Citizen Reporter Dar es Salaam. Tanzania is set to overtake Kenya as East Africa’s biggest economy by 2030 if the current Gross Domestic Product (GDP) growth rate remains the same, according to Standard Chartered Bank forecast.
Currently, at GDP value of $36 billion, Kenya is the largest economy in East Africa and it ranks as sixth in Africa, according to Razia Khan, the Standard Chartered Bank regional head of research in Africa, who also projected Kenya’s GDP growth rate at 6 per cent.
At the same time, Ms Khan shows in her presentation that Tanzania is the second largest economy in the region and ninth in the continent with its GDP measuring $23 billion. With a GDP growth rate of seven per cent, Ms Khan’s projections put Tanzania in the sixth largest economy in the continent and first in East Africa at $230 billion.
By then, Kenya would have retarded to seventh position in Africa, one position behind Tanzania, with $217 billion GDP, Ms Khan’s projections show.
While in 2011, South Africa leads as the strongest economy in the continent with its GDP at $555 billion, but come 2030, with constant GDP growth rates, Nigeria, which holds second position currently, would overtake it. By then, Nigeria, whose current GDP is estimated at $415 billion and growth rate of 7.5 per cent would lead the continent economically with a GDP of $1,640 billion followed by South Africa with $974 billion.
In his quick reactions, the minister for Finance and Economic Affairs told The Citizen yesterday that the projections were true, noting that the economic figures in Tanzania would be much better than projected by the bank.
“In fact, our projections put Tanzania at a mid income economy between 2010 and 2025. Currently, Tanzania is the fifth fastest growing economy in the region. There is no way we are going to take all those years to 2030 to achieve what the bank projects. We are going to achieve it before that time,” said Mr Mkulo.
Asked how the government was going to ensure that the plans are implemented effectively, Mr Mkolo said in June this year the government baled the five years economic plan, which puts priorities on what should be done to spur the economic growth.
“And the plan is only at its first phase of the 15-year economic plan. We would continue to ensure that we capitalise on the economic gains to make the economy even stronger... what the bank says about Tanzania’s growth is true but tell them that our data is much better than what they project,” the minister said.
Commenting on the revelations, the shadow minister for Finance and Economic Affairs, Mr Zitto Kabwe, said it was possible for Tanzania to beat Kenya economically if the country focuses on three sectors, which are agriculture, mining and energy.
“Agriculture in Tanzania forms 26 per cent of the whole economy while almost 70 per cent of the population depends on it for a living. This makes agriculture a crucial sector for poverty reduction,” he said.
However, Mr Zitto, who is the Kigoma North MP (Chadema), said that for agriculture to act as a basis for a robust economic growth in the country, it must grow at 6 per cent annually for the economic growth of 8 per cent. He noted that if economic growth is to be at 10 per cent, the country must ensure that agriculture grows at the rate of 8 per cent.
“All these are achievable. It requires a strong leadership and commitment. Investment into the rural economy in rural energy, rural water supply, rural roads and rural social services like education and health would spur growth and integrate the rural economy with the rest of the economy,” stressed the shadow Finance minister.
But a leading local entrepreneur, Mr Ali Mufuruki of Infotech group, warned that double digit economic growth is not going to happen simply because people wish it. “We need to work hard, very hard and most importantly, we would require a very strong leadership,” he said when responding to Mr Zitto’s comments online.
He noted that implementation of Kenya’s Vision 2030, which was already underway, shows that the country might exceed their own very ambitious expectations.
“If you go to Kenya today and see the amounts and quality of works being rolled out be it in IT (information technology) infrastructure, roads, ports, airports, industrial parks, tourism infrastructure, shopping malls, horticulture, large scale farming, commodities and securities markets, human resource, etc, you will understand that theirs is not just a story or rhetoric as is commonly the case with us. They will attain the 10 per cent GDP growth long before we up ours to 7seven,” he stated adding:
“We need to drastically up our act as a nation and we are looking up to leaders like Mr Zitto to take us to that promised land of Tanzania.”
The online comments also attracted the immediate former East Africa Community secretary general, Mr Juma Mwapachu, who noted that attaining the Standard Chartered bank’s projections need committed leadership. He said that Tanzania needed a ‘mindset’ that can embrace the Vision 2025 and implement it.
Investor
Economy
TZ economy to surpass Kenya, forecast shows