wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Toyota Wish Side Mirror
#21 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 11:04:15 AM

jimmy1 wrote:
the only solution is to have a chain installed to secure the mirrors, hence discouraging the thieves. If your toyota wish mirrors have been stolen, you can have non-power mirrors installed, both at around 2K total at any garage, i believe the brand name for this mirrors is king mirror. The mirrors will work just fine, only that you will have to adjust them manually, very few thieves will be interested in them

Are you sure for 2K one can get Side Mirrors? Labda zile za Peugeot 404 za kitambo. That too will be an insult to the good Toyota Wish
jimmy1
#22 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 12:49:36 PM

Wacha uongo brazza, 2K will not even get non-power mirrows for a toyo 110!!!

just walk down kirinyaga road or grogon and you will see for yourself. This are actually modified mirrors, they are not that expensive. They even big sell convex mirrors for a lorry @300/ if only the mirror part is broken, then you take to a glass cutter who charges a small fee to cut to the required size if you need it for a small car
#23 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 1:12:16 PM

If @ Keraka's theory is to be believed( I think it is true) then do the chains help? If all they want is to create a market? Where are the common plucking places for these mirrors, in traffic or parking in town or eastlands. Bw Iteere needs to get off his arse!
#24 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 1:57:16 PM

jimmy1 wrote:
Wacha uongo brazza, 2K will not even get non-power mirrows for a toyo 110!!!

just walk down kirinyaga road or grogon and you will see for yourself. This are actually modified mirrors, they are not that expensive. They even big sell convex mirrors for a lorry @300/ if only the mirror part is broken, then you take to a glass cutter who charges a small fee to cut to the required size if you need it for a small car

.....dude I do kirinyaga/grogon at times, these rates you are quoting do not exist!!!
#25 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 2:07:39 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
If @ Keraka's theory is to be believed( I think it is true) then do the chains help? If all they want is to create a market? Where are the common plucking places for these mirrors, in traffic or parking in town or eastlands. Bw Iteere needs to get off his arse!

Haileselasie avenue is one black spot
Ondiek
#26 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 2:11:24 PM

If you have a Wish avoid Parklands Road. There is adude who decided to instal matatu mirrors after his were plucked.
jimmy1
#27 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 3:05:32 PM

Completely Avoid muranga road, especially around fig tree hotel area. There is also a parking place between central bank and times tower, avoid parking there especially in the evening
#28 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 3:11:41 PM

At the rate the places to avoid are being posted maybe it is best to just be told the places we don't need to avoid.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 4:08:29 PM

Elder wrote:
At the rate the places to avoid are being posted maybe it is best to just be told the places we don't need to avoid.

Take a mat to town if you dont work at CBD. That way your side mirrors will not be plucked unless they pluck your ears.smile
#30 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 4:46:21 PM

Tebes wrote:
Elder wrote:

Take a mat to town if you dont work at CBD. That way your side mirrors will not be plucked unless they pluck your ears.smile

smile smile smile smile
Noble
#31 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 4:50:24 PM

Elder wrote:
Tebes wrote:
Elder wrote:

smile smile smile smile

Or better still, advise Toyota to modify the car so as to have inbuilt side mirrors.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 2:06:17 PM

Noble wrote:
Elder wrote:
Tebes wrote:
Elder wrote:

smile smile smile smile

Or better still, advise Toyota to modify the car so as to have inbuilt side mirrors.

@Noble... then the goons will be breaking into your car to steal them while you drive!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#33 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 2:24:23 PM

In the spirit of Recycling why cant a wazuan come up with a bizness of recyling plastic and modeling this side mirrors.By partnering with Toyota am sure he can be licensed to make this side mirrows locally...By making them locally available the price will go down reducing the rate of theft.

Its about time we manufactured some of this things instead of importing such 'simple' items.
Pierce
#34 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 3:06:50 PM

Shoot to kill.
jaribu
#35 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 5:15:34 PM

Forget that fairytale of chokoras stealing the side mirrors. Nowadays they are stolen by gangs of smartly dressed men in smart suit and ties. Sometimes they will come in a group of about 4 or 5 and one of them will yank off the side mirrors while others block him from the public view as they pretend to chat about while acting as lookouts. Sometimes it's said these gangs work in cohort with parking attendants who turn a blind eye for a kitu kidogo. Within 5 minutes, they will have stolen 2 side mirrors worth about 20k to 30k from one single car. Not bad for a 5 minutes job huh? Now imagine if they steal from 6 to 7 cars kila siku? The sad reality is that when your side mirrors are yanked off, you will not buy new ones which are expensive but you will most likely buy "used ones" or "second hand" which in the real sense have been stolen elsewhere. i hear they use some chemical to erase the number plate etched on the mirrors. And with that- the cycle continues!
jimmy1
#36 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 6:28:58 PM

jaribu wrote:
i hear they use some chemical to erase the number plate etched on the mirrors

They are only interested in the electric gadget that holds the mirror, they don't need the mirror. As for the convex mirror part, it can cost as low as 400/ to buy a convex mirror and have it cut by a glass cutter. The complete mirror is made of two parts. After they steal there is a plastic part (the arm) that remains on the vehicle. I believe they have a huge stock of this arms, all they need is the electric gadget they have stolen from your car and the arm which they already have. Now the join the arm with the stolen part with screws and they have a complete mirror. Maybe car owners should also have the car identity done on the back of the plastic part that they steal from the vehicles so as to make the work harder