wazua Mon, Dec 2, 2024

call rates to go up
mozenrat
#21 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 5:04:46 PM

selah wrote:
safaricom is to blame for all this mess....when Airtel mooted an infrastructure sharing Idea safaricom was against it...only to consider it later..now they are planning a venture with TelKom to form an infrastructure company.

safaricom in its endavor to protect its market share has continually created an inefficient company that is bulky and costly to maintain.

Airtel on the other hand, its partnership with YU has made it possible to shore up some of its infrastructural costs.

its customer care is as worse as its used to be one is even left to wonder what was the purpose of investing in a calling centre that does not tackle the problem it was meant to solve.

safaricom should concentrate on its core business offering telecommunication solutions...the other non-core functions should be OUTSOURCED.

You've contradicted yourself so many times, can't tell head or tail..

You think Safcom should be sharing infrastructure, and you say that they are doing so with Orange.. So whats the issue?? Kwani lazima they share with Airtel for there to be a reduction of costs.. in case you don't know, Orange's infrastructure has wider coverage than Airtel's so it makes sense to team up with them..

Outsourcing does not NECESSARILY mean lower costs. Have you checked out the amounts that Airtel is doling out to IBM, Pwc, Protiviti et al..
accelriskconsult
#22 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 5:20:28 PM

mozenrat wrote:
selah wrote:
safaricom is to blame for all this mess....when Airtel mooted an infrastructure sharing Idea safaricom was against it...only to consider it later..now they are planning a venture with TelKom to form an infrastructure company.

safaricom in its endavor to protect its market share has continually created an inefficient company that is bulky and costly to maintain.

Airtel on the other hand, its partnership with YU has made it possible to shore up some of its infrastructural costs.

its customer care is as worse as its used to be one is even left to wonder what was the purpose of investing in a calling centre that does not tackle the problem it was meant to solve.

safaricom should concentrate on its core business offering telecommunication solutions...the other non-core functions should be OUTSOURCED.

You've contradicted yourself so many times, can't tell head or tail..

You think Safcom should be sharing infrastructure, and you say that they are doing so with Orange.. So whats the issue?? Kwani lazima they share with Airtel for there to be a reduction of costs.. in case you don't know, Orange's infrastructure has wider coverage than Airtel's so it makes sense to team up with them..

Outsourcing does not NECESSARILY mean lower costs. Have you checked out the amounts that Airtel is doling out to IBM, Pwc, Protiviti et al..

Applause Applause Applause Well said Mozenrat. Selah, why would you share your infrastructure with your closest competitor who has very little to offer? This same same thinking had Airtel appealing to CCK to force Safaricom to share MPESA. Talk about reaping where you have not sown!