wazua Tue, Oct 8, 2024

Our priorities
Burning Spear
#21 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 2:32:19 PM

i think we are loosing focus here;The ksh 82m kenya is giving Japan is a token and is only meant to sympathise with them but not related to financial might.Its a recognition fee which is better than for the president to just read a long speech sympathising with the japanese.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
sanity
#22 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 2:54:23 PM

sure we are loosing it here...in simple terms,if someone has been helping you constantly hapa na pale..then one day his family is bereaved.it is only logical that you pay this family a visit with some goodwill token no matter how many problems you have.its got nothing to do with priorities. simple as that!!
Hope is not a strategy
#23 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 3:29:13 PM

Ati priorities? GFF! So the humanitarian token is now "priority"? For Christsake thats just a BTW, likely to have unsolicited benefits of good neighbouriness n comradeship. Nice debate though but lets stop being so petty!
#24 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 4:35:17 PM

STOP COMPLAINING!!Your rich friend akifiwa hauendi matanga ju maisha ni ngumu?
wasee
#25 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 4:35:20 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
what kenya did was something good whether kenya is poorer than japan or any other country should not arise.

The hand that gives receives more.Japan has for long assisted Kenya in so many ways and giving them a small token was a sign that we care about them.

Applause Applause

ooohhhh Yesss
#26 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 4:41:53 PM

STOP COMPLAINING!!Your rich friend akifiwa hauendi matanga ju maisha ni ngumu?

Matanga unaenda tu. Lakini usiuze shamba yako ndipo utoe mchango kuonyesha waathiriwa tu ati umetoa mchango.
Mtu Biz
#27 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 5:22:34 PM

MK happily hands over US$1M aid to Japan and in the same breath declares famine a national disaster! We have people dying in NE, E and upper rift.... yet, we can afford to dish out 82M to a developed country.... We have people in tents for years, we have children missing school because we do not have enough classrooms and teachers....... many bright children missing form 1 entry because of lack of school fees.... and then we feel this philanthropic?

Yaani hata kama it is "re-investing"... I think they'd respect us more if we tried to sort out our domestic problems first... why give them and go back to them on our knees in January that we do not have fertilizer for our farmers? NKT

Will we ever learn?

I don't think we ever will.

Msema kweli says

Proverbs 22:16
16 One who oppresses the poor to increase his wealth
and one who gives gifts to the rich—both come to poverty.
Sola Scriptura

#28 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 5:45:11 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:
MK happily hands over US$1M aid to Japan and in the same breath declares famine a national disaster! We have people dying in NE, E and upper rift.... yet, we can afford to dish out 82M to a developed country.... We have people in tents for years, we have children missing school because we do not have enough classrooms and teachers....... many bright children missing form 1 entry because of lack of school fees.... and then we feel this philanthropic?

Yaani hata kama it is "re-investing"... I think they'd respect us more if we tried to sort out our domestic problems first... why give them and go back to them on our knees in January that we do not have fertilizer for our farmers? NKT

Will we ever learn?

I don't think we ever will.

Msema kweli says

Proverbs 22:16
16 One who oppresses the poor to increase his wealth
and one who gives gifts to the rich—both come to poverty.

My feeling is that if everybody adopted this thinking,no country would help the other.Look at the United States for example,they continue to support alot of projects in many countries Kenya included. Should they stop and first of all sort out their own debt and issues ( they have many including street families) before lending a hand?

Katibampya
#29 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 6:08:53 PM

Debt, aid, grants or whatever name they call is big business for developed countries.Kwani u think these guys are too generous to be 'donating' money to us left right and centre!! Hizi pesa zinalipwa, sio za bure!! Hawa ni wale majirani wakiwa na matanga, wanatangaza hadharani what everyone donated. Sort our problems first!!
Drunkard
#30 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 6:19:05 PM

You people are dreaming, do you think MK and political class know we don't have food and therefore we're starving? Oooh no the don't!they think we're so lazy that we can't cook. Whose fault is it? it is our fault, we're stupid, we keep electing the same people over abd over again, look at ocampo six rallies.... look at how much we defend out political class.... oh no! do not blame MK or RAO, Blame yourself!
#31 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 6:54:40 PM

@famooz, spot on! The amt is not collosal. Thinking like maskini sounds so activist-like. I saw guys complaining that the prayer breakfast last week should not have been held and instead the funds should have been directed to IDPs. We need to understand that we are members of the international community and such donations are necessary
#32 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 8:06:31 PM

People need to get serious. What Baks did is very African. When a friend is in need you help. You don't start comparing bank statements and/or problems. You just help. In your own small way. If we heard a wazuan is in need, we would all try to assist. We would not start comparing our portfolios etc.

Japan is a true friend to Kenya. Some are talking about famine. Do you know how much Japan has helped improve agriculture in Kenya both directly and indirectly? Do you know how much Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) has helped improve agriculture in Kenya? And I am talking of development of disease resistant crops all the way to holding seminars for farmers from mashinani to teach them better farming methods. Do you know who funded and continues to fund JKUAT? Ever heard of JICA? Ever heard of the International Water Project (IWP)? And we are discussing 82 - 87 million shillings? You guys need to get serious!!!!

See links below.

By the way, guess who is the biggest beneficiary of Japanese Development Assistance in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Japan - Kenya

Japan Helps Feed IDPs

Japan's assistance to Kenya for geothermal power generation, drought responses and re-forestation

Water For Loitokitok

My brothers and sisters in Samburu can now drink a glass of clean water!

Katibampya
#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 9:20:17 PM

@maichmweusi, its not also African to have your own children homeless and hungry year in year out na hata hujali!!And when you talk about us being the biggest beneficiaries of Japanese assistance,remember nothing comes for free.Tunalipa with interest!! True ,82-88milion is loose change for our 1 trillion budget but what a we gaining as kenyans from this gesture? Kama ni more aid ama assistance as u call it, washindwe kabisa.Tuko na madeni ya kutosha.If it will increase trade btw the two countries, then that's better.And this trade must be skewed in our favour to reduce the huge trade deficit that exists between the two countries.Otherwise unapeleka gorogoro tano ya mahindi kwa matanga ya wadosi ndio upate nini? They won't even realize you were there in the first place. the best u can do is ngoja siku ya burial, nenda huko na ule breakfast,lunch and supper then weka mabaki kwa paperbag upelekee your hungry kids aka kenyans!!!
#34 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 9:48:32 PM

@katiba..et al why do poor people tithe..yet God is so rich? Giving is an affirmation of your right to prosper..or is is kenya so poor we are maskini nisaidie all the tym
hapaana am with baks on this one
Wa_ithaka
#35 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 10:39:09 PM

I just wish the General wasn't so generous with tax payers money which he doesn't of course contribute even a penny. Kama anataka kudonate, maybe he should sink his hands into his very deep pockets.
Charity begins at home.

niki
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#36 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 8:40:08 AM

A nation of actvists. We shall yap on the most mundane issues.....yap yap yeah yap yap yeah.....USA donates to the world while its homeless dot the streets...Lets yap...
#37 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 1:00:49 PM

digitek1 wrote:
@katiba..et al why do poor people tithe..yet God is so rich? Giving is an affirmation of your right to prosper..or is is kenya so poor we are maskini nisaidie all the tym
hapaana am with baks on this one

ala! Has it become tithe now? Maybe of the 'sow your seed and reap' version?
Jangwa la Jangili
#38 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 7:56:45 PM

Here is a sad reality even for we who are not so churchy

Mark 14:7 - "For you always have the poor with you, and whenever you wish you can do good to them"

Strange that even countries with GDPs per capita in excess of $70,000 still have homeless people. Where then do you draw the "all clear" line to give tokens to close partner nations facing a once in a life time tragedy? Zero poverty? Zero lack? In my view, this is one gesture that was too long in coming.

We have huge problems but 86M is a minuscule fraction of Kenya's GDP. Inter-governmental goodwill (not necessarily aid or loans), just like big business is determined not so much by how poor or desperate we are, but by interpersonal relationships.

Obviously we cannot dish it out to everybody like its Christmas. Gifts should be dished out sparingly. But if we stop looking at the Japanese government as some distant, amorphous entity and start seeing it as a collection of decision makers & real people that have been on Kenya's side through thick and thin, then we will see this token to one of their nation's biggest tragedy in recent memory, is a no brainer.

In the greater context of Japan-Kenya relations & history, $1million will be little more than a blip on the financial radar but whose goodwill will pay off for generations.

To date (230 years later), Americans still remember that the French stood with them during their struggle for independence against conventional European opinion at the time.

Yes, the poor you will always have among you. Helping IDPs and the hungry does not mean we cannot use cash for anything else at the same time. We can walk and chew gum at the same time.

It is time African nations start to see the forest from the trees.
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 9:00:44 PM

Nyeuthi's don't get it! giving is not a product of abundance its a product of compassion. you will never have enough to start giving. let me remind you, the US through USAID was giving out cash during the credit crisis.
do you know what it means when the president declares something a national disaster? it means that more than one ministry are now getting involved in the matter and resources stored for disasters can be used to alleviate the situation.
Burning Spear
#40 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 11:03:27 PM

that's why we are our brothers' keeper!!!!!!
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X