wazua Thu, Mar 19, 2026

Private placements &pre-IPO offers.A sure way to get 1000% return?
the deal
#11 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 9:47:28 AM

There are alot of insurance firms out there which are better than CIC...those are the goldmines but in Kenya i will never invest in a private company unless its mine too much risky.
Hunderwear
#12 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 9:50:10 PM

the deal wrote:
There are alot of insurance firms out there which are better than CIC...those are the goldmines but in Kenya i will never invest in a private company unless its mine too much risky.

@Deal which are this companies and where can one get the shares OTC?Do you think we can considerably lower the risk in any way before investing?
PKoli
#13 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 2:26:06 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
True! I think that's how many become multi-millionaires, others billionaires,not just at the NSE.
PKoli, you seem to be king on this. Any other good company you know of at the OTC?
CIC imesail sasaSad

I am not so sure of any other gem than CIC...There are others like Real, Investeq, Inoorero University, Transcentury. I once contemplated buying into Trans, lakini nikang'ethia.
KenyanLyrics
#14 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 7:22:49 AM

Yes, one way of getting rich is to get in at the ground level of a company, either at founder or investor level
tony stark
#15 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 10:18:52 AM

The irrational exuberance of making money from private placements and angel funds should always be tempered by rational logic and research.

The question should be how do you get to hear, participate and take advantage of private placements.
My first port of call is always investment banking outfits. They are the go between the companies that are trying to raise money and the investors with money to invest.
Good luck and happy hunting!
Mainat
#16 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 10:37:52 AM

Agree with Tony Stark and add that there is no reason why investor in a placement can not do the same level of due diligence as they would at the NSE.
So investing in a private placement with no financial info is a no-no. Or investing in a high PE just because its a private placement.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Genghis Khan
#17 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 11:48:01 AM

Private Companies are not in the Market so its much harder to get research info... plus they have less stringent Financial Reporting requirements... much easier for accountants to get creative... especially if they have a good reason, like a placement... chunga sana!

Still, the downside is limited by my investment, the upside is unlimited... if it feels good after homework, I say its worth the risk.
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 10:21:59 PM

Does Wananchi plan on listing any time in the future? Ama watu wanaogopa tech firms after AKsmile
Hunderwear, you can also check out Family Bank but I don't know if you can still be able to get the shares
Hunderwear
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2011 1:13:32 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Does Wananchi plan on listing any time in the future? Ama watu wanaogopa tech firms after AKsmile
Hunderwear, you can also check out Family Bank but I don't know if you can still be able to get the shares

Aint sure about wananchi but as for Family bank the last time i checked was going for 24 and thought its expensive given its unlisted.The supply was also very high but that was then.How is it doing lately?
Layman
#20 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2011 8:05:09 AM

I&M bank nets 2.4 billion KES in Private Placement: http://www.businessdaily...1/-/2olb49/-/index.html