Market
Technical
Japan rebuilds road in 6 days!
@Njunge, Has Kirinyaga Construction completed recarpeting ( not building) the Nyeri-Nairobi road since 2004? Ama it is the 2012 Nyeri vote hunting plan? I Think Therefore I Am
@Bwenyenye, Wapi?....2012 is very close....How do you expect to finish a 200km stretch when your tools wheelbarrows and mattocks....BK! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@Jason, Is AP(Associated Press) also fake?
Rank: Member Joined: 1/22/2011 Posts: 322 Location: Chicago, IL, USA
@Chaka, actually, yes, sometimes it is, but that is another matter altogether. Please provide your AP link, because I just searched AP's archives and current news, and there is no mention of the Kanto highway in Naka.
Once again, please explain the trees. Anyway, I have contacted East Nippon Expressway Company and Universal Traffic Society of Japan for clarification. East Nippon Expressway Company"s website shows both pictures, and says that "work is under way to get it back like it was" NOT that it is repaired. In addition, please give me your AP link, as I have passed the photo off for forensic analysis to a journalist at the Cleveland Plain Dealer, and she says it is not possibly a before/after in six days time, and that by the light, it appears to be a different season altogether.
In addition, a civil engineer I spoke to says that it simply isn't possible, due to the amount of earth shifting that has taken place, the amount of deconstruction, backfilling, re-leveling, pipe and conduit repair, bitumen/asphalt and concrete curing that would need to take place to repair what was shown in the picture.
I would really like to know the outcome of this as it would bring an interesting twist to some construction plans and investments that I have if it were true.
But on the outset, it seems that this is not accurate. I'm very surprised that everyone jumped on this as if it were true, unquestioned.
Once again, I hope people aren't investing the same way- one rumors and unproven information.
@jason, while you are it, doing all that you are doing, please visit Pluto and see if life exists. While to us it's an impressive passing story, wewe umeenda full throttle, making calls, forensic anaylsis, blah, blah, blah. You see, while we are busy investing, what are you busy doing? Trying to prove a point to Kenyans thousands of miles away? ABK!!! Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Member Joined: 11/5/2010 Posts: 131 Location: kenya
Blazin kuwa mpole, maybe Jason might seem to have gone overboard with his investigations, it only shows how professional he is as his arguements are based on facts. Just because a story has been published on some western rag doesnt make it gospel truth. And dont expect all of us to blindly fawn on some fools day hoax without asking questions.
@jason
It seems you are assuming everyone constructs roads the same way. In the states, use of concrete for paving roads is a big deal and would take time because of the curing process. Here we are talking of a 150 metre stretch of road of a vital highway in one of the world's biggest exporters of industrial products. Japan would be bound to throw all its resources in restoring vital road links as soon as possible.
If you look at the first picture of the damaged road, no concrete has been used, just compacted soil and hardcore topped up with a thick layer of tarmac (Asphalt to you Americans). Excavation of the damaged section, filling, compacting, filling and compacting again and again for a gang of workers working with heavy machinery in shifts 24 hrs a day, can take 6 days or less I assure you.
Jus Blazin wrote:@jason, while you are it, doing all that you are doing, please visit Pluto and see if life exists. While to us it's an impressive passing story, wewe umeenda full throttle, making calls, forensic anaylsis, blah, blah, blah.
You see, while we are busy investing, what are you busy doing? Trying to prove a point to Kenyans thousands of miles away? ABK!!! @Jus Blazin ![Laughing out loudly](/Images/Emoticons/msp_lol.gif) What next? Perhaps we should submit pictures of our favorite xxx stars for analysis to see if they visited Dr 90210 and therefore naturally endowed?
@ Jus Blaze
My interest in this is because one of the projects that I am looking at investing heavily in is road construction in Kenya. In large-scale construction, time=money, and to be able to construct roads this quickly is a miracle, if truly possible, and can save millions of dollars because of reduced crew, fuel, insurance, equipment rental and misc carrying costs. This is extremely important for me to know, and it has not been confirmed. This is real money we are talking here, so, in case Just Blazin hasn't heard of DUE DILIGENCE, wherein anything not verified, especially when speaking of investments, and especially when it is in the "record breaking, never before" realm, needs to be put through the proverbial wringer, I really expected a Financial Wisdom forum to be supporting of my skepticism, especially since the reactor at Fukushima is STILL spilling radiation (but the road to hell is fixed, yay!).
If the Japanese did do this, you can bet the Chinese will figure out how to do it cheaper, the Americans will figure out how to get the Japanese to do it for them, and the Indians will figure out how to make people "think" they can do it. All of these are ACTIONS that MAKE MONEY. What will you do? Make more wheelbarrow jokes and complain about how some office lacks carpet? That's not me. I GET THINGS DONE. If it's possible in Japan, it's possible in Kenya. The same sun rises and sets over both places.
As far as why I spend time here in wazua talking about these things... where else is there on the net to do so? I found another Kenyan site... Mashada... good god. I thought I was in high school again. And folks on the ground, they are conservative... I can't get a clear story, only an overly rosy or overly sad one. No, Wazua is very valuable- worth far more than you think in understanding Kenyan business trends.
More important than that however, is my utter disbelief with Kenyan investment in self-hate. I truly can't stand hearing all the anti-Kenyan jokes, murmuring, complaining, and self-doubt FROM Kenyans, while hearing praise and adoration to other nations, whenever the Western-controlled news reels start spinning. This is a competition, and you don't cheer for the other team, you work to improve your own. You encourage your own. You never go onto the field PLANNING to and THINKING that you will lose, or you most certainly will. It's really sickening. Is this what I am in for in relocating to Kenya? Will it take an Acata like myself that doesn't know about tribes or can't-do attitudes to get people past this nonsense? Will it take me telling a capable, educated population that they are ready to be the next India or Brazil, while they tell me I am crazy and that it is impossible? Will you believe in yourself for ONE moment? I don't mean to offend anyone, but, hey, look, Moi is gone (thanks for the free milk, right) and Kibaki has made great strides, and most of you aren't even old enough to really remember the bad bad Moi days. So now what is the excuse? If you don't like how the MPs are doing it, or that the Muhindis out-earn you in your own land, or the Chinese way, dammit, stop whining and investing in other people's companies and build your own. Seek out your own tenders. Pay some kitu kidogo and LIKE IT because at least you are in the game- everywhere in the world, wheels must be greased and pockets lined. There is NOTHING that Kenya and her people can't do if the self-hate would stop. There is no better place in the WORLD to build a business for little capital, right now. Forget about the dream of doing Manoki work in the States just so that you can watch 500 channels of drivel while working for slave wages- it is leftover mind-screw from colonialism, and it all needs to END NOW! So let's DO business!
P.S. This only applies to who it applies to, so if with me you now have an issue, IT'S YOU.
Best Wishes,
Mister Hill
Rank: Member Joined: 11/5/2010 Posts: 131 Location: kenya
Well said jason; couldn't put it in better way!
@Jason, Well said!Now as serious investor,why not make a trip to Kanto to see for yourself whether the road exists and then update us?The reactor has been plugged and so the radiation levels should be low.
@jason, like I said, it was a passing story to some of us. There are so many things that go on in the whole world that it wouldnt be sensible to verify each and everything. Check @Djinn's comment. My interest would actually be on the beauty that becoming of the Thika Superhighway. Anything else is just that. I did not mean to sound cynical. Having said that, let me acknowledge your interest in the subject and also commend your interest in road construction and hope you will come and kick out the rogue companies like Kirinyaga Road. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2010 Posts: 906 Location: Nairobi
@Jasonhill please post your email here, or if you wish, contact me through the contact form on my website because I would like to talk to you
@Jason, I'd like to talk to you too about setting up a construction firm.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/7/2009 Posts: 1,032 Location: Sea of Transquility
Jason, you've really hammered a point into these little boys heads. Atleast they've now realised that one serious guy is perusing the thread. They better shut up when they have nothing to say. “small step for man”
Thanks for the comments, everyone, whether supportive or critical. I hope that my attitude is not off-putting. This kind of back/forth discussion for and against, to me, is necessary. I love it! It brings out all angles and possibilities.
@KenyanLyrics, I'm heading to your website now.
@MajiMaji, do you have a site I can connect with you at, or a disposable email account I can use to contact you?
I did receive a call from East Nippon Expressway Company, and they told me that they couldn't confirm whether or not the photo is an earlier picture of the road or not, but that the road did look very similar to the picture six days after repairs started! Here's the catch- the road was not, and is not, fully repaired. They used local dirt, left big holes in the ground where they got the dirt (no time to backfill the source holes), backfilled the cracks, and then used a thin layer of quick-setting asphalt to create a roadway surface. They were very clear that this is not a complete repair, because it A) cannot handle heavy trucks, B) cannot be used anywhere near full speed- all vehicles must be considerably slowed down to pass this area of road C) must be constantly monitored for issues such as cracks and shifts, D) cannot be used but for a few hours a day, and E) must be properly rebuilt in a few months. They call this "emergency passable condition". So this would not work for constructing roads unless it was just temporary. So "fixed" is not the proper word; "rigged" is. The stories on the Internet were an exaggeration that left out key information.
One more thing... they said they keep having to close it and do more work because aftershocks have damaged it.
Best,
Jason Hill
Jus Blazin wrote:@jason, like I said, it was a passing story to some of us. There are so many things that go on in the whole world that it wouldnt be sensible to verify each and everything. Check @Djinn's comment. My interest would actually be on the beauty that becoming of the Thika Superhighway. Anything else is just that. I did not mean to sound cynical.
Having said that, let me acknowledge your interest in the subject and also commend your interest in road construction and hope you will come and kick out the rogue companies like Kirinyaga Road. Good riposte Jason - actually a very sober and clear headed response - very refreshing given the kind of reactions we often get here ![smile](/Images/Emoticons/msp_smile.gif) Anyway, I too am duly chastened...
Market
Technical
Japan rebuilds road in 6 days!