Why Africa is 25 years behind the developed world
mathukuma While the Caucasians took centuries to grow up, Africans are expected to reach the levels of these fellows in decades! Heck, they even want us to embrace gays NOW. They push us to do things which are still not yet achieved in their homelands. e,g US is yet to have a woman president! Women started voting in these civilizations less than 100 years ago! Tuko nyuma lakini we should not be made to feel pathetic
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
Haa haa..Could Africans' problem be short memory perhaps... fellas who in this forum were bragging how they bought two cars and sold a ramshackle are now terming development as something else, asking the neighbour not to admire lunches at Tamarind.
Having muted the West as a yard stick and the time it took them. why dont we just term development as something else? like lets call our current state as development African style.
the Asian tigers, even China, are rushing towards something with Western aspects to it. Long life, Good health, food sufficiency, gadgets that make life easier. Isn't that development?
Look at this quote "While the Caucasians took centuries to grow up, Africans are expected to reach the levels of these fellows in decades!"
Wakati firimbi ililia those centuries ago..where were these Africans? Where were your ancestors dear Lolest? Who is asking them to cover what the West did in so many years in 50years? Are we supposed to do every mistake they made, like two world wars, so as to be them?
The poor 'local units' keep voting themselves into offices that are supposed to change their lives for the better. the educated middle class is hardworking and lazy at the same time. They want to benefit from political patronage and not bite the bullet for fundamental building blocks.
The story of Malaysia is of a Western educated PM who saw what is good and merged it well with their culture.. Same goes for Botswana and Rwanda.
We all know our problems. lets not start castigating some 'enemy' out there for demanding we define development in their terms, aim to be like them and stopping us form achieving that 'development' Lets be honest with ourselves....
*helmet on*
poundfoolish wrote:Haa haa..Could Africans' problem be short memory perhaps... fellas who in this forum were bragging how they bought two cars and sold a ramshackle are now terming development as something else, asking the neighbour not to admire lunches at Tamarind.
Having muted the West as a yard stick and the time it took them. why dont we just term development as something else? like lets call our current state as development African style.
the Asian tigers, even China, are rushing towards something with Western aspects to it. Long life, Good health, food sufficiency, gadgets that make life easier. Isn't that development?
Look at this quote "While the Caucasians took centuries to grow up, Africans are expected to reach the levels of these fellows in decades!"
Wakati firimbi ililia those centuries ago..where were these Africans? Where were your ancestors dear Lolest? Who is asking them to cover what the West did in so many years in 50years? Are we supposed to do every mistake they made, like two world wars, so as to be them?
The poor 'local units' keep voting themselves into offices that are supposed to change their lives for the better. the educated middle class is hardworking and lazy at the same time. They want to benefit from political patronage and not bite the bullet for fundamental building blocks.
The story of Malaysia is of a Western educated PM who saw what is good and merged it well with their culture.. Same goes for Botswana and Rwanda.
We all know our problems. lets not start castigating some 'enemy' out there for demanding we define development in their terms, aim to be like them and stopping us form achieving that 'development' Lets be honest with ourselves....
*helmet on*  Weka helmet ya pili!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
Nothing to do with age..
My 2 cents observations;
1. We have a retard/poor mentality -Desiring/Wishing to be 'there' yet busy driving backwards. 2.We have not embraced a culture of self responsibility/care for the environment- where we maintain what has been built for us. 3.'We are Africans'- can also be a disease because it conforms our minds to a retard way of thinking.We like thinking of ourselves as rogue/wild,so we apply rogue ways in handling all issues.As a result we appear untamed. 4. We are content with mediocrity.We always settle for less yet we have abundant resources and better examples.For instance,one doesn't need to be rich in order to act,behave and live like a human being. 5.Misplaced priorities-Need I say more? 6.Uncultured.-We have very rich cultures but are very uncultured. Don't cheat yourselves. 7.Many conferences/meetings/talk, lots of money spent, but less action. That is who we are.
Will we ever reach 'there' Forget it,because first of all,we will never live to see that happen and even it happened,the rest of the world shall have created a different world standard.
You want to develop move with the developers.
*No Helmet*
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
McReggae wrote:poundfoolish wrote:Haa haa..Could Africans' problem be short memory perhaps... fellas who in this forum were bragging how they bought two cars and sold a ramshackle are now terming development as something else, asking the neighbour not to admire lunches at Tamarind.
*helmet on*  Weka helmet ya pili!!! I agree with you but actions that you take must have a nexus with development! Causality! Cause --> effect! you cannot put fruits on a 3 year old tree and expect it to be as tall as the 20 year old tree because you fanyad Juu chini to get the fruits. if your interest is to have a big tree - seek out what needs to be done to make your small tree big not what are the characteristics of a big tree. I don't castigate the 'enemy' i just castigate the people within us who think rituals and magic words after shaking gourds full of seeds will bring development..... CAUSE ---> EFFECT! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
@masukuma, I understand that you have identified some aspects of African culture that need to change. But I think you're too eager to criticize negatively even to the extent of doing away with the 'scientific method' just to make sure that you soak the African a punch.
Like now, you have not said, or considered the context in which the African shakes the gourd. So far, I know that even the studied in contemporary science rely on random methods and simulations to determine causes of action.
So the gourd and its contents don't account for lack of development. On the contrary, they could be a symbol of great sophistication.
Age doesn't really matter. There are a gazillion examples of old people who transformed their countries. There are numerous reasons for Africa's inertia but one is the inability to chart a unique path that works for us. We try to replicate other countries but without interrogation. There is discomfort in interrogating certain narratives. For instance, are political freedoms more important than economic freedoms? Is the right to vote more important than the right to food? Is it odd that emphasis on political freedoms is sometimes preached by countries who achieved economic freedoms under less-than-democratic governance systems? Is it curious that some countries who champion democracy appear to respect and prefer to do business more with authoritarian, independent-minded states like Ethiopia and Rwanda over democracies on the continent? Third world countries that struggle to be mini-Americas may get the 'Mandela!' cheer from overseas but might not necessarily pull their citizens out of poverty. The death of protesters in China's Tiananmen Square in 1989 was unacceptable. But one cannot help but wonder where China would be today if it embraced liberal democracy in 1989. It would probably have been a dysfunctional mess like Thailand or as inconsistent as India. Publications like The Economist were predicting the collapse of China from the 1980s (simply because it wasnt modeled on Western democracy) before they grudgingly accepted the inevitability of its ascendancy. Today, Pew Global, a Western pollster no less, consistently shows that Chinese citizens are happier with their government than Americans and a couple of other Western countries are with theirs. Here is more food for thought. The Arab Spring started in Tunisia. So far it seems to have worked well there. But what happened to the other countries that tried to copy-paste the Tunisian revolution? They were egged on perhaps sincerely to 'fight for democracy like the Tunisians'. Libya is now a failed and fragmenting state that has regressed 20 years. Syria is now a failed state that has regressed 30 years. Egypt toppled a military dictator, saw the slaughter of more than 1000 civilians and eventually replaced Mubarak with another military dictator. There is no problem with pursuing a certain path. The problem is in becoming dogmatic i.e. 'this is the way and the only way because it seems to be working elsewhere'. All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
kysse wrote:Nothing to do with age..
My 2 cents observations;
1. We have a retard/poor mentality -Desiring/Wishing to be 'there' yet busy driving backwards. 2.We have not embraced a culture of self responsibility/care for the environment- where we maintain what has been built for us. 3.'We are Africans'- can also be a disease because it conforms our minds to a retard way of thinking.We like thinking of ourselves as rogue/wild,so we apply rogue ways in handling all issues.As a result we appear untamed. 4. We are content with mediocrity.We always settle for less yet we have abundant resources and better examples.For instance,one doesn't need to be rich in order to act,behave and live like a human being. 5.Misplaced priorities-Need I say more? 6.Uncultured.-We have very rich cultures but are very uncultured. Don't cheat yourselves. 7.Many conferences/meetings/talk, lots of money spent, but less action. That is who we are.
Will we ever reach 'there' Forget it,because first of all,we will never live to see that happen and even it happened,the rest of the world shall have created a different world standard.
*No Helmet*
You have hit the nail on the head perfectly... # the day the african will learn to work and stop begging for free stuff, that will be a step towards development # the day the African driver will learn some manners on the road! respect pedestrians and stop blocking each other like kondoos, another step! # the day the african will be able to Queue in a civilized manner... # and finally! I will know we have fully developed when I will comfortably walk into any public toilet and do my business without having to cover my mouth/nose! i.am.back!!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
harrydre wrote:kysse wrote:Nothing to do with age..
My 2 cents observations;
*No Helmet*
You have hit the nail on the head perfectly... # the day the african will learn to work and stop begging for free stuff, that will be a step towards development # the day the African driver will learn some manners on the road! respect pedestrians and stop blocking each other like kondoos, another step! # the day the african will be able to Queue in a civilized manner... # and finally! I will know we have fully developed when I will comfortably walk into any public toilet and do my business without having to cover my mouth/nose! The problem is small things like the ones highlighted here are taken as too big, and the faulty thinking in our heads as negligible. Isn't it surprising that few of us even on this thread wish to be parts of the solution but are rather parts of the problem? For example, how reasonable is it to say that 'Public toilets are dirty because Africans aren't developed'? The assumption seems to be that Africans started defecating the other day. Many of us who think they are civilized are actually suffering from self deception.
Quote:Wakati firimbi ililia those centuries ago..where were these Africans? Where were your ancestors dear Lolest? Who is asking them to cover what the West did in so many years in 50years? Are we supposed to do every mistake they made, like two world wars, so as to be them? they were still wearing ngozi ya kondoo, marrying many wives, dying from many ailments and fighting petty wars for livestock. And no, we cannot, and will not make every mistake they made. But western 'civilisation' cannot be expected to be absorbed within a day! when did mzungu start embracing gays? just the other day! Today he tells us that because he saw the 'light' that gay rights are human rights, we too must salimu amri and follow him that yuckish route. Imagine telling that to people in a continent where inter-tribal cattle rustling is still common! Cut Mwafrika some slack. There is hope in Africa. We haven't arrived yet, but we'll get there!
Why Africa is 25 years behind the developed world