wazua Sat, Oct 18, 2025

Beware, "M-PESA" trickeries
Prime
#21 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 2:47:38 PM

It also goes unsaid that we should avoid using the year of birth as the m-pesa pin! Woe unto you if your identity card also gets stolen! The year of birth is right there. One could even guess with an error margin of +- 5 years.
Djinn
#22 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 4:43:57 PM

the real problem lies in how the transaction is conducted. Both ZAP and Mpesa require a depositor to sign on a sheet. This is where these tricksters pick their intel.

I am sure those that have rcvd such messages A) had recently (within hours) deposited money into their accounts AND B) rcvd a message claiming at least half that amount was sent "erroneously"

I have always wondered about how secure that sheet is. The biggest tragedy is that rural folk, being out of the loop most of the time in terms of news and such alerts, might be the most exploited - being the beneficiaries of sums from their urban kin and also being major users of this banking system.

Try and spread the word - SMS costs 1 bob - spend 20 bob and spare 20 people on your phonebook...

Querry
#23 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 9:26:24 AM

i could almost swear that Safaricom staff were in on this con game.

How comes the con knows that you have a balance in your Mpesa account?

I rarely use my Mpea and i have never received the said messages.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 10:57:31 AM

A colleague received a message similar 'you have received cash...' message and the fellow immediately called him. My colleague asks the caller 'Unapiga kutoka jela gani?' The fellow answers ' Kutoka jela ya Kericho. End of call, end of con.

mozenrat
#25 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 8:41:28 PM

Querry wrote:

The thugs don't have to know that you have balance in your account... Like ecstacy said, when they called him asking for 26K, he only had 50=

Apparently, these guys try the trick on Random numbers.. sometimes they just select a sequence of numbers and try... After all if they are able to con one person of 26K, they have 13000 minutes of talktime to try to randomly con others..

BTW, a friend told me how a relative used to con her. Her relative "borrowed" her phone and saved his number as "M-PESA" then did the trick described above. how was she to know?
#26 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 8:54:22 PM

Querry wrote:

Could be true re inside job but i think they do random calls because i received a call ati 'tunakupigia kutika safaricom kitengo cha mpesa na umeshinda elfu bla bla...." i was not even a subscriber so i knew hiyo simu ilitoka kamiti!
maheni
#27 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 8:59:46 PM

Robinhood wrote:
A colleague received a message similar 'you have received cash...' message and the fellow immediately called him. My colleague asks the caller 'Unapiga kutoka jela gani?' The fellow answers ' Kutoka jela ya Kericho. End of call, end of con.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly wa! wa! wa!. hiyo ni kaliest
phantom
#28 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 9:12:12 PM

Mwende wrote:
Dear Sir Madam, your number has been selected by our official company to win 5000$ call now to receive your prize, call imedietly congrutaltions

Sender: +50056737

Whats the source of this? I received it jana & shamelessly they don even know how to spell

got the same sms including the sp mistakes, sent them an sms back telling them to brush up on their english but it was not delivered
Your boss's job is to give you a job. Its your job to make yourself rich
mozenrat
#29 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 9:15:28 PM

phantom wrote:
Mwende wrote:
Dear Sir Madam, your number has been selected by our official company to win 5000$ call now to receive your prize, call imedietly congrutaltions

Sender: +50056737

Whats the source of this? I received it jana & shamelessly they don even know how to spell

got the same sms including the sp mistakes, sent them an sms back telling them to brush up on their english but it was not delivered

Do not respond to such SMSs... Some of these numbers are international premium rate service providers. When you respond they sign you up to the service and start deducting credit on a daily basis. Its one of the biggest scams in Dubai..