wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Kenyan Newspapers are LOUSY!
#21 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:27:25 PM

I have deveopled a habit of listening to Old School Music on Hot 96 as I drive to work. The station has very good choice of music, less talk ( no sex or political talk in the morning Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause ) which amkes it my kind of station. All is going great until it is time for business news. It is word for word what was in the Citzen TV business news the previous day.

Surely, Katoshaya (sp) word for word?d'oh! d'oh! what are you paid to do? don't you have an editor? Luckily it is over in like 2Mins flat and the beat goes on.

Other than that, it is my station of choice for now. Keep it up guys!!!
#22 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:39:41 PM

@bwenyenye, trudat they got good ol skul, what's that they kip saying 'mbaka'?
#23 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 1:30:33 PM

No idea dude. Even that 'gagnagagna' thing could as well be ng'ang'ana ng'ang'ana to me. Anyway, they can say what they wish so long as it is not sex stuff or politics. Those topics drive me mad in the morning... reminds me of that Kibaki shot ' kwani wewe kila siku lazima uproduce mtoto?.." By the way I know someone with that shot for a ring tone... waah. iko watu kweli
#24 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 4:58:04 PM

And now the Daily Nation has withdrawn the Lead Story in today's paper!

When will these editors know the difference between the Independent Offices Act and the Constitution? The date extended is the timeline (count down to 27th Aug), not the D-Day (27th)itself.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 4:59:06 PM

Dont ask for the link

http://www.nation.co.ke/...68/-/896elm/-/index.html
GGK
#26 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 5:25:55 PM

You don't realize how lousy our media houses are till you hear a sports story you read on BBC website being reported verbatim. Pathetic! plagiarism par excellence

The least they could do is quote the their source
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#27 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 5:36:55 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
No idea dude. Even that 'gagnagagna' thing could as well be ng'ang'ana ng'ang'ana to me. Anyway, they can say what they wish so long as it is not sex stuff or politics. Those topics drive me mad in the morning... reminds me of that Kibaki shot ' kwani wewe kila siku lazima uproduce mtoto?.." By the way I know someone with that shot for a ring tone... waah. iko watu kweli

Thats ma ringtone! Hiyo ya baks! ;-)
kiterunner
#28 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 8:41:34 PM

i totally agree, most articles are casually written with multiple spelling errors in all the Kenyan dailies. Very few articles are properly written especially from weekly columnists.
i think the quality has to do with educational background of the reporters, writers and editors,
our goals are best achieved indirectly
#29 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 8:29:33 AM

As you bash Kenyan media, what would make of this: http://en.wikipedia.org/...roelectric_Power_Station
GGK
#30 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 9:44:05 AM

[quote=mukiha]As you bash Kenyan media, what would make of this: http://en.wikipedia.org/...oelectric_Power_Station[/quote]

Turkwell is not the largest. But Kemgen has it that it produces 10% of national electricity supply
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#31 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 10:44:23 AM

kiterunner wrote:
i totally agree, most articles are casually written with multiple spelling errors in all the Kenyan dailies. Very few articles are properly written especially from weekly columnists.
i think the quality has to do with educational background of the reporters, writers and editors,

Maybe that's why the dailies have quite a number of articles from 'Washington', 'London', etc.
#32 Posted : Monday, August 22, 2011 10:40:22 AM

GGK wrote:
[quote=mukiha]As you bash Kenyan media, what would make of this: http://en.wikipedia.org/...oelectric_Power_Station[/quote]

Turkwell is not the largest. But Kemgen has it that it produces 10% of national electricity supply

True; and not only that, Turkwel is also the most reliable of all Hydro stations averaging over 8,500 hours of continuous operation each year.

The only problem with it was the inflated construction cost.

Now read this: http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/vcg4odz/-/index.html
Sasha
#33 Posted : Monday, August 22, 2011 11:53:36 AM

I have always insisted, Journalism should be a post-graduate course. You cannot have C- & D+ people coming from KIMC reporting business related news yet they have no idea what it is about. Even in TV business news, I shudder at how some business news anchors fumble through figures (Stand up Cynthia Nyamai)!

Just last week in the Nation/Star/Standard (can't remember which thankfully), some guy wrote ati Kenyan SMEs rarely suffer from working capital constraints because they don't like banking their cash. This while trying to say that banks are having issues expanding their deposits! I wish I could get the link so that y'all can share in my bemusement!
#34 Posted : Monday, August 22, 2011 12:14:56 PM

Part of the problem with media reporting is that an opinion is formed as the articles are being written.
#35 Posted : Monday, August 22, 2011 1:19:48 PM

Sober wrote:
Part of the problem with media reporting is that an opinion is formed as the articles are being written.

I think the bigger problem is no resaearch, lack of capacity and a desire to make business news sound romantic...>AARRGH!!
Toxicity
#36 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 10:27:36 AM

I only read newspapers on
Sunday: mwalimu andrew
Thursday: money....kutafuta ka ploty
update president set president = speaker where president is null
#37 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 9:42:41 AM

If you though kenyan newspapers were lousy check out the headline of Ghana's most profitable and most read newspaper....parental discretion advised:

http://cdn.mediatakeout....ml#.TnrWs2AhaBM.facebook
Insurgent
#38 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 1:43:27 PM

Agra wrote:
The papal story is really disheartening since we had a argument with my colleague on availability of PayPal in Kenya banks. Such mistakes are just criminal.
Enyewe, kisungu ni ngumu sana. Sasa hii papal story ni ile ya kurape boys by the padri which is very disheartening ama ni Pesa Pap to all? It is only in Africa that children learn formal education in a foreign language.

New research findings are increasingly pointing to the negative consequences of
these policies: low-quality education and the marginalisation of the continent,
resulting in the »creeping amnesia of collective memory« (Prah, 2003). Achievements
and lessons learned from both small steps and large-scale studies carried out
across the continent and elsewhere have yielded ample evidence to question current
practices and suggest the need to adopt new approaches in language use in education.
Africa’s marginalisation is reinforced by its almost complete exclusion from
knowledge creation and production worldwide. It consumes, sometimes uncritically,
information and knowledge produced elsewhere through languages unknown to the
majority of its population. The weakness of the African publishing sector is just one
example. Ninety-five per cent of all books published in Africa are textbooks and not
fiction and poetry fostering the imagination and creative potentials of readers. Africa
has the smallest share in scholarly publishing, which is mirrored by the international
Social Science Citation Index which, despite its cultural bias, covers the world’s leading
scholarly science and technical journals in more than 100 academic disciplines. Only
one per cent of the citations in the Index are from Africa. The publicly-accessible
knowledge production of African scholars takes place outside Africa. The UNESCO
Science Report of 2005 indicated that Africa is contributing only to 0.4 per cent of
the international gross expenditure on research and development, and of this, South
Africa covers 90 per cent.

http://unesdoc.unesco.or...0018/001886/188642e.pdf

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

Insurgent
#39 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 1:52:48 PM

Africa is the only continent where the majority of children start school using a foreign
language. Across Africa the idea persists that the international languages of wider
communication (Arabic, English, French, Portuguese and Spanish) are the only means
Introduction
for upward economic mobility. There are objective, historical, political, psycho-social
and strategic reasons to explain this state of affairs in African countries, including
their colonial past and the modern-day challenge of globalisation. There are a lot of
confusions that are proving hard to dispel, especially when these are used as a smokescreen
to hide political motives of domination and hegemony.

New research findings are increasingly pointing to the negative consequences of
these policies: low-quality education and the marginalisation of the continent,
resulting in the »creeping amnesia of collective memory« (Prah, 2003). Achievements
and lessons learned from both small steps and large-scale studies carried out
across the continent and elsewhere have yielded ample evidence to question current
practices and suggest the need to adopt new approaches in language use in education.
Africa’s marginalisation is reinforced by its almost complete exclusion from
knowledge creation and production worldwide. It consumes, sometimes uncritically,
information and knowledge produced elsewhere through languages unknown to the
majority of its population. The weakness of the African publishing sector is just one
example. Ninety-five per cent of all books published in Africa are textbooks and not
fiction and poetry fostering the imagination and creative potentials of readers. Africa
has the smallest share in scholarly publishing, which is mirrored by the international
Social Science Citation Index which, despite its cultural bias, covers the world’s leading
scholarly science and technical journals in more than 100 academic disciplines. Only
one per cent of the citations in the Index are from Africa. The publicly-accessible
knowledge production of African scholars takes place outside Africa. The UNESCO
Science Report of 2005 indicated that Africa is contributing only to 0.4 per cent of
the international gross expenditure on research and development, and of this, South
Africa covers 90 per cent.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

ventura
#40 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 7:44:48 PM

I have found the kenyan newspapers very good reading, from an entertainment point of view, at least there is something to put a smile on peoples faces.