wazua Mon, Jun 22, 2026

5 Pages<1234>»
Nairobi Traffic Jams
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 12:19:40 PM

Did you know that Jams in Nairobi are caused by the round abouts and not the width of the road?

Sort out the round abouts and there will never be jams

It surely can't be that simple now. Could it?
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 12:25:01 PM

@newfarer n bird_man, both of you are 100% right.

hey, if we non-engineers at our level easily we understand this (esp. after seeing msa rd still has jams despite being expanded)...kwani them trained n experienced engineers live where? waiting for godot?
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 12:28:31 PM

bird_man wrote:
There should be flyovers at every intersection.Kenya must be the only country where at ONE intersection you find a roundabout,policeman and traffic lights!

and a terrible jam!!!!
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 12:29:18 PM

Elder wrote:
Did you know that Jams in Nairobi are caused by the round abouts and not the width of the road?

It surely can't be that simple now. Could it?

Very simple , just like that

read this book :

http://www.amazon.com/Go...provement/dp/0884270610

#15 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 1:28:04 PM

This fallacy about roundabouts has been peddled long enough and often enough to the point where now many people believes it is true!

The fact is that a roundabout is a cheap and efficient traffic flow regulator at a junction. It regulates flow smoothly in low to medium density flow rates without the need for additional control [automatic or manual]

When flow densities are high, automated traffic lights help in bringing back the smooth flow control.

I have been involved in the design and installation of traffic lights in Nairobi and the problem is two fold:

1: Motorists do not obey the traffic rules

2: Police officers also do not obey the rules

This is how we end up with police officers controlling traffic at a junction / roundabout that has automated lights.

In my opinion; the problem can be solved by two simple steps:

1: Ensure that the lights (and other roundabout rules) are obeyed by all. Have hefty fines for those who jump a red light (eg, sh100,000 + 30 days in jail + 3 year suspension of licens!!!)

2: Have police at roundabouts. NOT to control the traffic, but to catch those who break the rules.

On a lighter note, I have always wondered who is the greater idiot: the guy who jumps the red light and drives on kabisa, or the one who stops 5m past the light and therefore doesn't see the lights going green?
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 1:39:17 PM

BTW:
The rules of a roundabout are simple...
1: Don't Change lanes except when entering or exiting
2: Vehicles approaching from your right have the right of way

The rule of Traffic Lights are:
RED = Stop
RED+AMBER[FELLOW] = Stop, but get ready to go
GREEN = go
AMBER = Stop, unless you are too close to the junction to break safely

It's that simple and traffic with flow very smoothly
KenSaf
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 1:43:35 PM

The following design will minimize traffic jam in Nairobi. Check link:

http://www.gizmag.com/su...t/17553/picture/127900/
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 1:51:19 PM

Another method of controlling traffic without lights is the "BOXED JUNCTION" There is one at the junction of Wabera and Mama Ngina Streets. Three simple rules apply:

1: Only one car allowed in the box
2: Do not enter the box unless your exit is clear
3: No stopping inside the box
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 2:08:52 PM

Mukiha , without a roundabout , especially on highways entering or passing the city centre, there wont be need to stop hence a bottleneck is removed.suppose there was an overpass at Nyayo stadium , Haileselasie avenue ,University way? There wouldnt be need to stop hence free flow of traffic
annsal
#20 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 2:17:51 PM

mukiha wrote:

This fallacy about roundabouts has been peddled long enough and often enough to the point where now many people believes it is true!

The fact is that a roundabout is a cheap and efficient traffic flow regulator at a junction. It regulates flow smoothly in low to medium density flow rates without the need for additional control [automatic or manual]

When flow densities are high, automated traffic lights help in bringing back the smooth flow control.

I have been involved in the design and installation of traffic lights in Nairobi and the problem is two fold:

1: Motorists do not obey the traffic rules

2: Police officers also do not obey the rules

This is how we end up with police officers controlling traffic at a junction / roundabout that has automated lights.

In my opinion; the problem can be solved by two simple steps:

1: Ensure that the lights (and other roundabout rules) are obeyed by all. Have hefty fines for those who jump a red light (eg, sh100,000 + 30 days in jail + 3 year suspension of licens!!!)

2: Have police at roundabouts. NOT to control the traffic, but to catch those who break the rules.

On a lighter note, I have always wondered who is the greater idiot: the guy who jumps the red light and drives on kabisa, or the one who stops 5m past the light and therefore doesn't see the lights going green?

@mukiha,

I have always wondered why they insist on having traffic cops on all the roundabouts- esp. at the rush hours and the lights are usually working.
Kwani we dont have eyes to see the lights have turned green, amber or red.
God loves a Trier!
5 Pages<1234>»