wazua Thu, Jul 2, 2026

10 Pages<1234>»
Mututho law
Amir
#11 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 11:50:15 AM

Honestly if you start drinking at 2pm on a weekday, whether on leave or otherwise you need to get a life period!!!

The Brave may not live forever - but the cautious do not live at all: Richard Branson
#12 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 12:14:16 PM

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Amir wrote:
Honestly if you start drinking at 2pm on a weekday, whether on leave or otherwise you need to get a life period!!!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#13 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 12:14:17 PM

dossy7 wrote:
On todays Nation a group of people were arrested and charged with drinking beer at 2 pm in Sabina Joy.They were fined 30,000 and those who failed to raise the bail were sentenced.So beware when having your bottle outside Mututho hours.

There was a time "Sabina Joy" was in the news - 'investigative' journalism. Apparently, the pub/club/or whatever it is had not be closed even for a single minute in more than 10 years [as per the time the article was being done]. The article stated that it had customers through out - with some arriving as the rest are leaving - even at 5:00 am! Waiters and cashiers change shifts as people are drinking. Cleaning? The bar is not closed for cleaning! People are advised to move to one part of the bar as the other is being cleaned and then they move again...

I don't know how accurate the story was, if the same was happening until recently and how the Mututho laws affected this. Here we need a person with first hand experience. @guka?
B.Timer
#14 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 12:18:27 PM

To the extend that it outlaws taking kids to 'bars' it is a law to applaud.

However I am a bit uncomfortable with the stringent way it seeks to control how adult Kenyans will lead their lives!

For me it leans tooo much towards communism for my liking!

Kenya is not a Theocracy nor MORALcracry!
Dunia ni msongamano..
#15 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 12:27:56 PM

B.Timer wrote:
To the extend that it outlaws taking kids to 'bars' it is a law to applaud.

However I am a bit uncomfortable with the stringent way it seeks to control how adult Kenyans will lead their lives!

For me it leans tooo much towards communism for my liking!

Kenya is not a Theocracy nor MORALcracry!

I can't agree more!!!Applause Applause Applause
#16 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 12:40:18 PM

Amir wrote:

Bravo!! Well said. The alcohol culture is getting excessive...if you talk to people its like no one can have a good time unless drunk.

I like my drink, but in limits.
#17 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 12:42:07 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
Interestingly the article mentions 'most of the 25 accused persons were aged between 20 and 26' These are the guys who should be out there making money!

Mututho has a point. I support this 100%

I agree with you that people should work hard to make their lives better and also contribute to the economy of our country. I also agree with you that very many Kenyan men are wasting away due to alcoholism and are becoming a burden to the rest of us and the economy instead of being a resource. But that is as far as my agreement with you goes!

Kenya is not a nanny state and we should not seek to make it one! No one should decide what time I should drink or do any other thing - provided it is legal! What else are we going to legislate? What time I go to bed? eat? take a shower? How many hours I should sleep?

Example: Let say I develop applications - work group computing - or I manage systems - remotely - in a country in a different time zone. I therefore "report to work" at 12:00am and "leave" at 9:00 am. What time should I drink? Should anyone decide for me?

Example 2: I use my brains and therefore my money works harder for me than I work for it. This means I need 2 hours tops for work - and still make far much more than your average Kenyan. Should someone regulate how I spend the rest of the day - a whole 22 hours.

Example 3: I am a broker, importer or whatever. I meet my clients in bars - last time I checked that was not illegal. That's my niche. I leave the 'suits' to other brokers/importers etc. Should some legislate that?

I can go on forever...

The spirit [no pun intended] might be okay but the approach is totally wrong. Educate, advice, support etc. Don't legislate. My two Zim cents!
#18 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 12:52:11 PM

Amir wrote:

Bravo!! Well said. The alcohol culture is getting excessive...if you talk to people its like no one can have a good time unless drunk.

I like my drink, but in limits.

Phombe imalizwe kabisa...
Shame on you

#19 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 1:13:34 PM

So jailing poor kenyans for 18 months is supposed to take people to heaven how?

Bure kabisa law.
#20 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 1:24:07 PM

So jailing poor kenyans for 18 months is supposed to take people to heaven how?

Bure kabisa law.

Anyway, the law is in place. Now can we have another law policing the policers of that law?

Because it criminalises what was previously legal, many people are going to be caught in the web because such change is not going to happen overnight.

Its going to be sweeter getting bribes in exchange for freedom. Matatu and p3 forms kando kabisa....a new cash cow is in town....
10 Pages<1234>»