timizo wrote:@Alma. I agree 100% that for a long time, the police have involved themselves in matters civil which is wrong. You also have to acknowledge that some issues have both civil and criminal consequences. I have no legal knowledge to say whether Alai should be charged with causing personal annoyance or not. I need to know if that exists in our laws and if indeed it exists, the circumstances which one can be charged with that offence. As for the Gichuru's, lets assume they have considered everything and decided to pursue the issue if at all it exists in our laws. That should be respected. May be if I was the one in their shoes, I would have chosen to ignore it.
As for @Alai, I do not think he is the kind that is needed to take this country forward. Yes, he has some of it but he appears to be part of the Kenya Problem.
This is where I say the rubber meets the road
Yes, you can be charged criminally for defamation.
The circumstances in a criminal case are rather clear. The prosecution has to prove that whatever you said was not true.
So why not take that route? mmmm?
It would be a simple case. Alai said I'm a thief. Here Mr. Judge I'm not a thief.
Alai would rot in hell for a very long time.
Hii mambo ya sijui personal annoyance are those tu misdemeanors that were left there by those wakolonis to cause discomfort to the small guy.
As I told you before, I don't hold Alai's brief. I'm sure he will abuse me very soon. That is not what we are talking about here. Those are issues that will be brought up in God's court when you die.
Hapa ni mambo ya using the law as it should be not to hit someone's head because you can.
What happens when Alai then institutes proceedings for wrongful arrest and intimidation against his detractors? Or does someone think he also doesn't have legal advise?
PR ya kitambo lazima iishe. If wronged do the right thing. That's good PR especially for those who make a living trying to convince others that they are very nice and hooty tooty.