SGR Progress thus far
Tokyo
#341 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2016 11:09:17 AM

Tokyo wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

There is a train and a tram...then we have light rail and heavy rail, then finally we have high speed train and "normal" speed train.
We also have bullet trains, there is also maglev trains and adhesion trains.

Google hizo terms zote kwanza then come we talk about fencing.

enyewe wewe ni engineer, let me first google that then respond, but does the Japanese shika-peni qualify as high speed thus fencing is needed, please answer then I will google those images.
for the time being let me google high speed train in europe

@impunity naomba usaidizi wako, is this a tram, normal or high speed

All the train tracks High or normal speeds are fenced off in Japan. Same applies to all Highways, expressways and bypasses.
The newest linear/Maglev 600plus km/hr under construction is all underground.

Thank you mate.
The fencing issue confused most danderheads here.

For Maglev-600km/h, its safer to put that maddening speed underground...

The world's first commercial Maglev line is operated in Shanghai, 30km long and its over land because it does the basic bullet train speed of 430km/h.

The 600km/h for Japan Maglev will be orgasmic.

The Japanese Maglev will start initial operations 2027. It will be possible to live in Osaka and commute 45 minutes to work in Tokyo (same distance from Nairobi to Mombasa).

work to prosper
#342 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2016 11:19:58 AM

Tokyo wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

There is a train and a tram...then we have light rail and heavy rail, then finally we have high speed train and "normal" speed train.

enyewe wewe ni engineer, let me first google that then respond, but does the Japanese shika-peni qualify as high speed thus fencing is needed, please answer then I will google those images.

All the train tracks High or normal speeds are fenced off in Japan. Same applies to all Highways, expressways and bypasses.

Thank you mate.
The fencing issue confused most danderheads here.

For Maglev-600km/h, its safer to put that maddening speed underground...

The world's first commercial Maglev line is operated in Shanghai, 30km long and its over land because it does the basic bullet train speed of 430km/h.

The 600km/h for Japan Maglev will be orgasmic.

The Japanese Maglev will start initial operations 2027. It will be possible to live in Osaka and commute 45 minutes to work in Tokyo (same distance from Nairobi to Mombasa).

The TGV had done a test run on an overland train and archieved speeds of 574km/h.
So overland is also possible for extreme speeds.

#343 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2016 11:25:09 AM

Tokyo wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Tokyo wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Thank you @Tokyo, where were you 1,000 posts ago, guys have been on @impunity's arse for like a week

You see, the Chinese charged the kenyan @wanjiku for a steel-and-concrete fenced railway track only to come back door and raised it (elevate) it some few meters above the ground with ugly-looking soil embankment hoping that it will serve the same purpose as a fence.

It will not.

May be if they elevate it to some 50m above ground.

Questions have been asked as to why "our" SGR is almost twice as expensive as Ethiopian's yet the terrain between Mombasa and Nairobi is much less problematic than the Ethiopian's...in fact the land between Mombasa and Nairobi is generally flat and largely barren and inhabitted.

The Ethiopian path is comparable to our Rift Valley.

It will be interesting to see the actual cost the Chinese will charge for contructing the line from The Kikuyu escarpment all the way to Fort Tennan and onward to Lake side Citeh.

Even if they pass through Narok and Bomet they will still have to descend the Kikuyu escarpment at Kijabe and join the Kisumu line around Kericho or Koru area.

Hold your breathing.

I have not come across, or rather I have not searched for the project cost and breakdown of the same, nasikia its hard to get the same, but it would be interesting to see to which areas the cash was allocated and by how much, but you are right the cost issue has been a thorny one, and all that is happening now is guys are just speculating, for the raised platform mimi nimesikia its to try and achieve as much level, avoid flooding issues and also avoid walevi.
lakini hi mamo ya japan I have never been huko, I only travel via google images, thus the confusion on this fencing thing because I can see some images that contradict that, but anyway wacha we believe those who have been on the ground huko, they should know better.

The picture is train station. That's why no visible fencing. Some notorious stations are fenced off opening only when the train stops. That's to prevent suicide which is very common.

True kabisa.
The station door only slide open like the lift door when the train has completely come to a stop...Dubai Metro applies this fully since its a driveeless train.
Part of Shanghai also has the same door system.

Yet people wonder what will happen if we fenced off the entire Thika road...its posible with proper caning of law breakers.

#344 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2016 3:13:54 PM

Rift Valley Railways firm under probe over use of World Bank billions

Multiple sources, both within and out of the rail company, confirmed to The Standard on Saturday that this purchase is one of the items under investigation by the World Bank. RVR bought used standard gauge railway locomotives Model GE-23 manufactured in 1977 and modified them for use on a metre gauge railway. Data from international suppliers of used metre gauge locomotives shows that a single unit of a used locomotive costs between Sh4.5 million and Sh11 million depending on the year of manufacture. The money used in the purchase of the locomotives was part of the more than $164 million (Sh16.5 billion) loaned to RVR to improve efficiency, standardise its operations, increase market share for rail traffic and improve the company’s competitiveness.

Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...e-of-world-bank-billions
enyands
#345 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2016 5:36:14 PM

[quote=murchr]Rift Valley Railways firm under probe over use of World Bank billions

Multiple sources, both within and out of the rail company, confirmed to The Standard on Saturday that this purchase is one of the items under investigation by the World Bank. RVR bought used standard gauge railway locomotives Model GE-23 manufactured in 1977 and modified them for use on a metre gauge railway. Data from international suppliers of used metre gauge locomotives shows that a single unit of a used locomotive costs between Sh4.5 million and Sh11 million depending on the year of manufacture. The money used in the purchase of the locomotives was part of the more than $164 million (Sh16.5 billion) loaned to RVR to improve efficiency, standardise its operations, increase market share for rail traffic and improve the company’s competitiveness.

Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...-of-world-bank-billions[/quote]

Can we say war in corruption is far from over
#346 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2016 5:42:22 PM

enyands wrote:
[quote=murchr]Rift Valley Railways firm under probe over use of World Bank billions

Has it even started
enyands
#347 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2016 6:32:55 PM

enyands wrote:

Has it even started

Sad very very sad

#348 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 5:53:19 PM

enyands wrote:

Has it even started

Sad very very sad

Worst still the Model GE-23 was procured in order to pull the heavy cargo trains; it has been realised that these locos are less powerfull and much older than the current GE locos plying the same route.
These procured "new" locos are rated 2250hp while the ones already in fleet are rated 2750hp; the former (GE B23-7) were made around 1977, while the latter (GE U26C) were delivered fresh from Pennsylvania in 1987... a whole generation apart.

What was needed was a seriuous overhaul of the current GE U26C locos.

But this is Kenya by the way!

#349 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 6:01:42 PM

^^^^

And by the way Afrique du Sud has a running GE subsidiary producing fresh locos...and some of the spares they make cheaply for customers as far as Brazil and New Zealand are the parts required for the Unviversal model, U26C, the very model we have at home.

And over 90% of Afrique du Sud uses the cape gauge, this means we are able to all the spares we need for model U26C on the "shelf" except the wheels which have a bearable leadtime.

But a man must eat!

omhangla
#350 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 6:06:07 PM

Does anyone have the route map of the SGR in Nairobi. especially from Athi River to where it exits towards Naivasha.
#351 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 6:16:11 PM

omhangla wrote:
Does anyone have the route map of the SGR in Nairobi. especially from Athi River to where it exits towards Naivasha.

@murchr should know smile
#352 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 7:28:31 PM

omhangla wrote:

If you are targeting to buy a plot on the route ensure it is near the stations... Thank me later
#353 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 8:22:59 PM

omhangla wrote:

Description of the line

The line starts from the proposed Nairobi South Marshalling Yard and runs along the boundary of the Nairobi National Park up to Ole Sereni Hotel. The line then turns south towards Bangladesh informal settlement at the western tip of the park. From here the line turns north along the western boundary of the Park and crosses Langata Road to the south of the Cemetery then joins the pipeline corridor to Dagoretti. The line follows the pipeline corridor inside the Ngong Forest to the edge of the Great Rift Valley escarpment. Here the line follows the escarpment to Mai Mahiu, crosses B33, passes south of Mt. Longonot and ends at Kilometre 120.

Due to the ragged terrain, the total length of bridges will be 28.21 kilometres and the total length of tunnels will be 8.5 kilometres accounting for over 30% of the route length. One of the tunnels at the edge of the escarpment will be 5.3 kilometres and will years to drill hence informing the length of time it will take to complete the line.
There will be one intermediate passenger station at Mai Mahiu, while a freight intermodal exchange centre will be developed at Km 100 south of Mt. Longonot – being strategically located to serve the proposed Naivasha Industrial Park and for transferring freight by road to destinations along A104 (Naivasha, Nakuru – Eldoret) in order to ensure that the this area is well served by the SGR during construction period.

The scope of work
i) Earthworks
ii) Protection works along the cuttings, embankments and at the bridges, culverts and tunnels;
iii) Bridges and culverts works;
iv) Drainage works
v) Tunnel works;
vi) Building of stations, residences and offices;
vii) Track laying
viii) Provision and installation of signalling, communications and information equipment;
ix) Electricity supply;
x) Water supply;
xi) Tests, commissioning and defects liability
Nairobi National Park: KR is in discussion with KWS to allow the line to run for nine (9) kilometres within the Park to mitigate the steep gradient between Carnivore Restaurant and Langata Road. Other options have been considered and found to be technically inferior for the desired efficiency of the line in the long term. It was never intended for SGR line to use the existing metre gauge railway corridor since the plan was to terminate at Inland Container Depot at Embakasi which is to be expanded and modernized in order to handle increased cargo.

Construction going on at Mai Mahiu
omhangla
#354 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2016 7:31:47 AM

Thanks Murchr. I was in Tuala to check on my kaplot near Rangau and was told the SGR will pass nearby and wasnt sure if this was true
#355 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2016 11:56:18 AM

omhangla wrote:
Thanks Murchr. I was in Tuala to check on my kaplot near Rangau and was told the SGR will pass nearby and wasnt sure if this was true

This SGR seems to be crisscrossing all over places. I was in Kiserian too and was shown some point where it will be passing too. The route map seems like it keep changing until the track is laid down.

#356 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2016 9:34:08 AM

Embankmentation fail!

#357 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2016 10:04:02 AM

Where will be the 'main' SGR station in Nairobi?
#358 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2016 10:33:49 AM

SYOKIMAU.

#359 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2016 2:31:30 PM

Below is the VERY reason why our SGR can never be a high speed line since its a single track...even with some of the best signalling system available, it still risky.

We will be safer doing 70km/h for both freight and passenger, more or less the max speed for the Lunatics!

Itally train crash

Sad Sad

#360 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2016 7:25:22 PM

Old Mombasa road

Nairobi South Station under construction