wazua Wed, Jun 26, 2024

19 Pages«<16171819>
Harambee Stars
#341 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 10:34:40 PM

it's more of disorganization, mismanagement, last minute planning and overall lack of seriousness and preparedness.

How come we do well in better managed sports like Rugby, Volleyball, Athletics....

That's where you are losing the plot!
We do well in those sports in spite of mismanagement.
For example,kenya athletes have very high burn out rate.Very few survive more than two seasons.We are fortunate that the talent conveyor belt churns out raw talent continuosly.
#342 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 10:38:16 PM

it's more of disorganization, mismanagement, last minute planning and overall lack of seriousness and preparedness.

How come we do well in better managed sports like Rugby, Volleyball, Athletics....

For example,kenya athletes have very high burn out rate.Very few survive more than two seasons.We are fortunate that the talent conveyor belt churns out raw talent continuosly.

Yes they are mismanaged but not as bad as football, ongeza stone throwing Sirkal and you have total chaos.
#343 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 10:47:41 PM

Yes they are mismanaged but not as bad as football, ongeza stone throwing Sirkal and you have total chaos.

Dont blame Sirkal on this but lack of talent. In a nation (state) of approx. 45 million, you cannot pinpoint 50 talented footballers who can be called upon to represent the country and win games. You cannot even name Harambee eleven. We are not talented in football. Period. Minnows!!! Volleyball and 7s Rugby afadhali!!!
#344 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 11:24:29 PM

Tunashindangwa mpaka schools. We take our schools to Rwanda and UG wipes the table with us. Kama kwa shule hatuwezi... ni miujiza gani tunataka? I remember while playing rugby we would beat east African sides and this would be projected forward to national teams.
#345 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 7:29:58 AM

Tunashindangwa mpaka schools. We take our schools to Rwanda and UG wipes the table with us. Kama kwa shule hatuwezi... ni miujiza gani tunataka? I remember while playing rugby we would beat east African sides and this would be projected forward to national teams.

Let's not fear losing games. If we lose a lot then it means we need to do a lot of learning. Question is are we willing to learn?

Consider what the Chinese are doing about football; learning, investing, designing their own institutions ... people like Sven Ericsson even think that China may be able to win the world cup in even ten years though the Chinese think it may take longer.

Before Germany took the world cup last time, I saw a documentary in which various academic disciplines were involved in preparing a winning team... and yes, money was poured into the venture. That is, intelligence was increased.

But here we don't value intelligence or we think it can't be improved. We want to win easy.
Alba
#346 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 2:48:49 PM

Our youth teams also try to compete.Only that they are thrashed in the preliminary stages.

Sorry but our youth teams do not compete at all. A coach is assigned 3 days and the team is assembled 3 days before a match. That is not enough time to prepare for a match. And often the team is poorly selected.

Then they are asked to compete against teams that have been preparing and playing friendlies for several months.

And due to poor travel arrangements, they land at the airport only hours before the match.
Alba
#347 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 2:54:13 PM

That is bogus. Kenya does well in rugby because most other countries do not take it as seriously as Kenya does. The same applies to volleyball.

In many countries in Africa like Ghana, Congo, Senegal, Mali etc, rugby is basically non-existent and is played mostly by expatriates. The natives do not play.

How well a country does in a team sport depends on how seriously people take it.
#348 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 4:36:26 PM

Alba wrote:

That is bogus. Kenya does well in rugby because most other countries do not take it as seriously as Kenya does. The same applies to volleyball.

In many countries in Africa like Ghana, Congo, Senegal, Mali etc, rugby is basically non-existent and is played mostly by expatriates. The natives do not play.

How well a country does in a team sport depends on how seriously people take it.

Are you sure about the highlighted part, we've been good in the sevens version of the game but don't think its the same for regular rugby.
#349 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 5:24:16 PM

this does not only apply in sports, even in your own work and projects, planning takes the most of the time. if you fail to plan, you plan to fail.
#350 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 6:00:26 PM

We do not lack talent. Who will identify it, nurture it, and expose it to the world? Even the best need these three things to happen, otherwise they waste away. The guys who play for our teams sometimes just do so for the love of the game, not because the clubs care or pay for their time.

But choosing a third division coach for the national team was laughable. You need experience at high levels of football to crack this. Ati coach wa Mathare sharks (or whatever the thing is called... Nkt Sad Sad
#351 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 6:06:28 PM

Robinhood wrote:
We do not lack talent. Who will identify it, nurture it, and expose it to the world? Even the best need these three things to happen, otherwise they waste away. The guys who play for our teams sometimes just do so for the love of the game, not because the clubs care or pay for their time.

But choosing a third division coach for the national team was laughable. You need experience at high levels of football to crack this. Ati coach wa Mathare sharks (or whatever the thing is called... Nkt Sad Sad

Kariofangi Charks...this is the club Mwendwa was Chairman?
Alba
#352 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 7:26:44 PM

Robinhood wrote:

This is a good post explaining some basic principles that fellows like masukuma do not understand. Thats why I laugh out loud when he claims he played Kenya cup rugby. A person that illiterate about how sports works cannot possibly have played at that level for 5 years as he claims.

What Robinhood explained above are basic concepts which even a casual fan should understand. So the idea that someone who played in Kenya cup for 5 years does not know that is just laughable.
Alba
#353 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 7:34:05 PM

Alba wrote:

Are you sure about the highlighted part, we've been good in the sevens version of the game but don't think its the same for regular rugby.

Kenya is ranked among the top African teams in the IRB rankings for XV a side. As far as I know, the only teams ranked ahead of Kenya are South Africa, Namibia and Zim.

And its not because Kenya has more talent. There are very few Nigerians who like rugby. I have been on Nigerian message boards where the few rugby fans that exist discuss what Naija can do to catch up with Kenya. Issue like poor organization and lack of seriousness come up.

It is the reverse for us in football. There are different levels of incompetence and corruption. For example Uganda are not a beacon of good organization. But at least they prepare their teams properly, put their teams in camp for several weeks unlike Kenya which announces the team 4 days before the match.

A typical example was in 2011 when Uganda U23 beat Kenya 5-1. This is what the coach said.

""I'm not a miracle worker. There was no way we were to have a short cut to this. We only had four days to assemble the team and it really played against us," Saleh told Daily Nation."

Meanwhile the Ugandan team had been in camp for several weeks and played numerous friendly matches.
#354 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 7:45:18 PM

Alba wrote:
Robinhood wrote:

This is a good post explaining some basic principles that fellows like masukuma do not understand. Thats why I laugh out loud when he claims he played Kenya cup rugby. A person that illiterate about how sports works cannot possibly have played at that level for 5 years.

Knock yourself out na kicheko... cheka yako yote.... ukimaliza utuambia wewe ulifanya nini ya maana... sijasikia ulicheza nini after PE classes. ama kazi ni kulecture kila mtu juu ya kila kitu - anyone with access to wikipedia can regurgitate what you do. I hate to throw it out there but Mimi at one point was to 5 highest try scorers in 7s.... anyway - that's all in the past!

@Robinhood,
Who said "We do not lack talent"? we have always assumed that kenyans are blessed "with talent"? who said that? what metric? Why do you assume that there is something "special" in the 582,650 km2 that is Kenya that is not found elsewhere? What is this special thing found in the people west and south of Mandera, North and west of Lunga Lunga, east and south of lokichogio. what is this "thing' you think you have that serendipitously found itself here and no where else? kenya is blessed with talent is an unsubstantiated claim and everything built on that premise is nice sounding B.S.
Alba
#355 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 4:19:00 PM

Knock yourself out na kicheko... cheka yako yote.... ukimaliza utuambia wewe ulifanya nini ya maana... sijasikia ulicheza nini after PE classes. ama kazi ni kulecture kila mtu juu ya kila kitu - anyone with access to wikipedia can regurgitate what you do. I hate to throw it out there but Mimi at one point was to 5 highest try scorers in 7s.... anyway - that's all in the past!

Personally I have never made any ridiculous and outrageous claims about being the top try scorer in Kenya sevens. So I have nothing to defend
The reason I know for a fact that you can’t possibly have played at any serious level is because of the shallow arguments you make about sports. People who consistently use expressions like “Hatujui ball” are exposing their sheer ignorance about how sports works and what it takes to build a successful team.

Firstly a team needs cohesion. You build cohesion by training together for a long time, playing friendlies together etc. Players who have played together for long can anticipate each other’s runs and movements. The passing is more fluid, more chances are created and the net result is better.

You also need attention to detail, basic issues like travel arrangements need to be managed properly. You can’t have a team arrive in Botswana or Cape Verde 5 hours before the match and expect the jet lagged players to win.

Thirdly, player development at youth level is the most important aspect. Talent alone does not cut it. Successful countries are the ones that are instilling fundamentals and tactical awareness in young players such that by the time they reach 18, it becomes second nature.
These are just some of the aspects that are needed to build a successful team. The difference between Kenya rugby players and South Africans is that they were drilled in basics like catching passes, accurate kicking, handling up-and-unders, proper passing, tactical awareness and situation management. So much so that by 18 these issues become second nature.

The average person knows these things as evidenced by what you see when average Kenyans are interviewed in the street about. I expect mama mboga types to consistently use expressions like “Hatujui ball” after all they don’t watch or play sports But a person who claims he played at the highest level should be able to provide a coherent and intelligent argument about why a team is good or bad. And you don’t need Wikipedia to tell you this.

Alba
#356 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 4:20:45 PM

@Robinhood,
Who said "We do not lack talent"? we have always assumed that kenyans are blessed "with talent"? who said that? what metric? Why do you assume that there is something "special" in the 582,650 km2 that is Kenya that is not found elsewhere? What is this special thing found in the people west and south of Mandera, North and west of Lunga Lunga, east and south of lokichogio. what is this "thing' you think you have that serendipitously found itself here and no where else? kenya is blessed with talent is an unsubstantiated claim and everything built on that premise is nice sounding B.S.

This is a classic case of masukuma fighting with his own shadow . No one on wazua has said Kenya is blessed with talent. No one has said there is something special in Kenya.

But it is a fact that Kenya has more talent than the teams they routinely lose to nowadays. Kenya has in the recent past fielded a team with players who play in the top leagues of England, Italy, France etc. Players who featured in the champions league. And with all these players they have lost to teams like Eritrea, Lesotho, Botswana, Somalia etc. These are teams with players playing in much lower leagues and sometimes are amateurs. A player who is playing in the Champions league is likely more talented than a player in the Eritrean league. If you do not understand this basic concept then maybe you are an airhead.
Kenya lost to these teams not because “hatujui ball”. We lost mostly due to poor planning:
Against Botswana, Kenya arrived mere hours before the match and lost 3-0. All the goals were scored in the last 15 minutes. The players said they were tired from the long journey
The same scenario happened against Cape Verde when Kenya players went through a 10 hour travel ordeal of waiting for their flight at Wilson airport

On top of that Kenya never trains together nor plays friendlies. In 2014, Wanyama pleaded for friendlies and instead the government sent them on holiday in Brazil to watch the world cup. Meanwhile Lesotho were busy training. The next month Lesotho beat Kenya.

This scenario has repeated itself over and over for the past 15 years. In the few moments where Kenya had some good organization, the team did well. When Job Omino was KFF chair, Kenya qualified for the Africa Nations cup three times in a row. And that was when only 8 teams qualified. In the late 90s with Fabisch, Kenya recorded good results against some of Africas to teams beat Algeria 3-1, Cameroon and that Nigeria team that won the Olympic gold medal.

In 2004, Kenya qualified for CAN again beating teams like Cape Verde and Togo who consistently beat us now. Heck even last year Kenya recorded a good result away to Congo. It is clear from these results that Kenya has the talent to compete. But we keep getting derailed by poor management. Others can see this clearly. Even manambas on the street. Only Masukuma seems to lack the cognitive ability to grasp this basic concept. And since he can’t grasp it, he just keeps creating straw men arguments to fight with and continues to fight with his own shadow.
sitaki.kujulikana
#357 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 4:41:36 PM

@alba Kumbe wewe ni jama wa wikipedia, keyboard warrior, do you have any knowledge of rugby starting with Nakuru.
Alba
#358 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 4:59:41 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
@alba Kumbe wewe ni jama wa wikipedia, keyboard warrior, do you have any knowledge of rugby starting with Nakuru.

Send me a ping when you have something useful to contribute to this debate
#359 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 9:57:27 PM

Every time Kenya qualified for AFCAN they finished bottom of the table.I think we have registered only one win in the tournament so far.Prior to 2004,we had not found the net.
No stars team coached by Fabisch ever qualified for CAN and he was not incharge when Kenya beat Algeria 3-1.
Alba
#360 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 10:17:34 PM

Every time Kenya qualified for AFCAN they finished bottom of the table.I think we have registered only one win in the tournament so far.Prior to 2004,we had not found the net.

Yes but at least they qualified. A huge achievement since back then only 8 teams qualified.

In 1988, there was serious discord within the camp. In fact some players came to blows. The coaches were also focused on tribal balancing instead of fielding players on merit.

And in 1992 the players went on strike, refusing to play in order to get the coach fired.

In 2004, Ghost fielded players whom he represented as an agent so he could sell them and make money. Thats why Jojo was fielded despite having a neck injury.

The only normal campaign was 1972 and 1990.
In 1972, Kenya played very well against hosts Camerooon losing 2-1. They then drew 1-1 with Mali and Togo

No stars team coached by Fabisch ever qualified for CAN and he was not incharge when Kenya beat Algeria 3-1.

But at least they beat Algeria and almost beat Nigeria and Cameroon.

In the 4th all Africa games Kenya beat Tunisia, drew 3-3 with Cameroon. They reached the final and lost only due to a dubious penalty to Egypt. The difference on that occasion was that the team camped in Germany for one month.

Because our leaders don't take football seriously, such good preparations rarely happen.

I don't expect Kenya to be African champions. But with proper preparations they can qualify for ACN at least once every 3 tournaments. This year they started well by drawing away against Congo. Then our normal madness took over and derailed everything.