Is UK's Government Blind and Deaf?
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
@murchr, very true, ghost workers do indeed exist in the MoH payroll. Ukiona hiyo nyumba inaitwa mAfya house, kuna sababu kaka. One of the ways they do it is by 'sitting' on resignation letters of some of those who've left the service for as long as possible while someone siphons the supposed emoluments monthly for as long as they practically can. I too have come across cases of equipment being locked up in stores for lack of personnel. In some cases, operating tables have even been supplied to hospitals without operating theatres! Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rankaz13 wrote:@murchr, very true, ghost workers do indeed exist in the MoH payroll. Ukiona hiyo nyumba inaitwa mAfya house, kuna sababu kaka. One of the ways they do it is by 'sitting' on resignation letters of some of those who've left the service for as long as possible while someone siphons the supposed emoluments monthly for as long as they practically can.
I too have come across cases of equipment being locked up in stores for lack of personnel. In some cases, operating tables have even been supplied to hospitals without operating theatres! SMH...pesa ya procurement "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
murchr wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:@murchr, very true, ghost workers do indeed exist in the MoH payroll. Ukiona hiyo nyumba inaitwa mAfya house, kuna sababu kaka. One of the ways they do it is by 'sitting' on resignation letters of some of those who've left the service for as long as possible while someone siphons the supposed emoluments monthly for as long as they practically can.
I too have come across cases of equipment being locked up in stores for lack of personnel. In some cases, operating tables have even been supplied to hospitals without operating theatres! SMH...pesa ya procurement  Gov't procurement is quite messy actually. I'm yet to fully comprehend why treasury finds it necessary to delay paying some of the suppliers for so long that they opt to cancel the contracts after only one quarter. In some departments like Defence, suppliers have been paid via EFT for well over 2yrs now, while our dear mAfya house still insists on cheques, forcing suppliers to waste valuable time chasing payment. Fertile opportunities for rent-seeking behavior. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rank: Elder Joined: 11/25/2011 Posts: 2,103 Location: Nrb
Testing waters and then seeking to earn some bonga points.....lakini ni pot they saw some sense......now where are those who were supporting the Kes 2.5b budget. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rollout wrote:theman192000 wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:murchr wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:samsa wrote:jguru wrote:newfarer wrote: a dialysis machine costs 102 million. patients wait for months to get treatment at Kenyatta hospital because the obsolete machines available are always down.do you see anything to celebrate when these fellow Kenyans are suffering? boost supermarket butcheries with my tax.ABK.
and the small Matter of IDPs most of who voted for JUBILEE in the hope that they can return to their shambas or get compensation? na hii baridi yote in camps?
Slight correction. A Fresenius, Braun, Baxter or Nikisso dialysis machine costs approximately USD 35000 i.e. 3 million. Consumables, water, electricity and nursing costs an average of Ksh4500 per dialysis session per patient. Some kidney patients at KNH have taken KNH to court over provision of dialysis services at KNH. It's a very sad situation what these patients go through. When did these machines break down? Why have they never been addressed? Why remind us of it now? Why cant we hold those who never attended it accountable? has it been brought to the government and the same government returned it 'unpaid'? I was going to ask the same. It's the responsibility of the accounting officer (KNH CEO) to seek funding from the government. We may berate government's expenditure, rightfully so, but even the bible says ask and it will be given unto you, seek and you'll find, knock and the door will be open unto you. We should put the CEO to task about that. Now, I'm not in support of the extravagant spending. It's too much. As in very much. But if it happens, lets look at it from another angle. Government spends sh2.5B to do the celebrations. Companies will be paid and will definitely have made profits. That profit will be taxed. Anything they buy will already be taxed. Through that, the government will recoup some of the moneys paid out, making the net expense lower than the sh2.5B. Just saying. @Jguru, and @Rankaz13 and all the docs here. Please note I am not accusing anyone. Is it true that some of these gov equipment and meds are stolen from public hospitals and dispensaries and end up in personal clinics/practices/pharmacies etc? If u've worked in govt hospitals (level 5s) Is it true that these hospitals were supplied/well furnished with equipment but there were no docs to operate them the,so they started disappearing or rather they were transferred to God knows where? Such pilferage may indeed have happened in the past, I recal stories of antiTB medications disappearing to some of our neighboring countries especially back when they themselves didn't offer free/subsidized HIV & TB treatment. However, over time, stringent accountability measures have been put in place and are thoroughly enforced so that this is now no longer an issue. The Pharmacy & Poisons Board has officers on the ground who carry out surveillance on the same. As for equipment, nowadays the most likely scenario you'll find is equipment lying idle in the store because there're no technicians trained to operate the same. I still recall the sad story of a hospital that had a brand new mammogram machine lying in store because there were no staff to operate the same. When you hear people talk of shortage if HCWs, it's important to actually note that the shortage is at all levels/cadres, not just doctors. There's a biting shortage of especially nurses, lab technologists, anesthetists (usually C.Os), laboratory technologists, biomedical technologists, nutritionists, etc all of whom are really important in creating an effective healthcare team. So much so that even when the doctor is there and ready to work, the absence of some of these core members renders him/her unable to perform her core duty, that of saving lives. Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be any concerted effort in officialdom to address this shortage. On the issue of dialysis machines, it's truly sad when a patient has to travel from Mandera to KNH for dialysis. Given the cost of outright purchase and operating such machines, how difficult is it really for the same to be provided to Mandera district hospital for instance? I keep asking, what really is the value of a Kenyan in present day? Why, why, why do our people have to continue suffering so much in such a country as rich as ours? Some of the things I've seen around this country are enough to put a grown man to tears, unfortunately. People keep suffering and dying all because we couldn't be bothered to equip their local hospitals so that they can access service as, if and when they need it. By the way, the patient requiring dialysis will most obviously have renal failure. If you investigate further, you'll probably find that whatever caused the renal failure initially was something treatable but since the health facility was so far away or was not adequately staffed and equipped, coupled with prohibitive cost of accessing alternative private health care, the problem is let to fester. And at a time he needs us most, it turns out hata dialysis machine hakuna. Seriously? HCWs are only human, and I can tel you it is painful to look at another Kenyan in the eyes, see the pain in their eyes, and tell them there's nothing more you can do for them. Not because one is inept, but simply because the facilities at their disposal are so woefully inadequate. Not easy i tell you. Hii maneno ya classification eti sijui level 4, 5, sijui nini is honestly inconsequential to a large extent. When you are sick, you expect quality service at whatever facility you check in to regardless of those levels. How is it that private hospitals have better equipment than the gov't? Kwani wana pesa nyingi kuliko serikali? Seriously? I ask again, what really is the value of a Kenyan life? How many more must suffer before we can collectively say ENOUGH, and call our gov't to account? How is Zambia able to pay its doctors several times more than what the Kenyan gov't pays its own? Malawi? Is anybody listening? Does anyone even care? My two cents: I agree that the CEO of KNH and the board are responsible for the proper equipping of the hospital. From the comments made before it seems that patients pay for dialysis treatment and therefore the procurement of several dialysis machines at 3 million a pop will pay for itself and become a money spinner. On the issue of shortage of medical practitioners, we as parents also need to take responsibility in the careers we guide our children towards. I know of several parents whose children are sitting at home without jobs because there are no jobs in the sector that they were trained. It is indeed unacceptable that patients travel from as far as Mandera to access dialysis services in Nairobi. Me thinks this is where devolution comes into play. Put pressure on your county government to deliver this services locally. Finally on the 50 year bash what I can say is that last year or the year before we did not have a bash yet medical services were not availed adequately to the populace. So let us not give the excuse that this bash is what is standing in the way of Kenya achieving universal healthcare services for all its citizens. That would be very simplistic thinking. "We did not have a bash?" Who is we? sorry to say that you are delusional to think that kenyans are having a party because it is the few who will spend the kshs 2.5Billion, people like you will just be cheering with empty stomach, did you know that you'll have to pay your fare to the venue and buy your own food? I don't know what you me by "we." CEO for government hospital? Sorry but these hospital cannot sustain themselve, even in USA public hospitals have to get subsidies to operate because public hospital take everyone regardless of financial status. Now that OUR bash has been cancelled let us see whether KNH and the other hospitals will miraculously transform into world class healthcare facilities given the subsidies that they will receive from government and without CEOs to boot.
InnovateGuy wrote:Corruption and wasteful government expenditure could be back to the levels witnessed during Nyayo's era. At this rate, I see no more than one term.
Where is this digital government going?   They should offload this things... possunt quia posse videntur
True. The aftermath of the nusu nusu garment. Watuitie tukajichoche! i.am.back!!!!
harrydre wrote:True. The aftermath of the nusu nusu garment. You bloody edited your initial comments ..... ISORITE! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:harrydre wrote:True. The aftermath of the nusu nusu garment. You bloody edited your initial comments ..... ISORITE! I thought @innovate post was made by@maka. Izza! i.am.back!!!!
Is UK's Government Blind and Deaf?