19 Pages«<1516171819>
Teachers Strike!!!
#321 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:49:39 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Let us not confuse issues here.

The issue is not whether or not a teacher deserves commutter allowance or not. Or if he goes to class drunk, or if you feel that you wished you had their job so you can work less hours.

The issue is whether or not the Gov't of Kenya has a signed contract with said teacher's union.

If it does, then it has no choice but to pay up. Otherwise, it will send signals to the rest of the world that the Kenyan gov't doesn't pay its bills.

If you say that this was a bad deal, please inform us on why you think the Anglo-leasing deal is better since the Gov't of Kenya is still paying for it.

As to how much, when, why teachers are being given so much, I would suggest you do yourself a favour and join a better union.

The Mpigs have one and it seems the teachers have one too.

So the person I will listen to is the one who can explain to me why a gov't should be taken seriously when it refuses to honour a contract it signed.

It is unfortunate that the government of the day signed that agreement in the first place. It is also unfortunate that promissory notes were honoured to a non-existent company (Anglo-leasing). Again, it is regrettable that
SRC gave in to the demands by MPs.

Nevertheless,we should not lose sight of the big picture here. The picture is that once the government honours that deal, nurses, doctors, and other civil servants will also come in to demand what the government gives to the teachers. This may not be bad - from a populist perspective because everyone will have a high pay. But, what will this do to the government's wage bill? Definitely, it will be up there.

Do not lose sight of the fact that a huge % of the current budget is being used to fund recurrent expenditures. This means that cash which would otherwise go into development projects, will be used to pay salaries. Is this acceptable in the face of the government debt which exceeds 1 trillion?

Again, the private sector the private sector will be forced to raise their wages to attract and retain talent. In effect, the cost of production will go up. Is this acceptable, considering the fact that we need our goods to be competitive?

I will not even tackle inflation and productivity.

It's good that you support performance contracting. My opinion is that salary increase should be pegged on performance and productivity.

Innovate, I have no problem with an employer insisting on something being done to provide better services. Actually I think performance contracts are ok.

I personally think the wage bill is too high. I personally feel that this contract wasn't all that good.

BUT

We are talking about contracts and GOV'T contracts at that.

Its a shame that the gov't of the day(s) have been playing volleyball with this. It's also unfortunate that this happened in the 100 days of Jubilee and all that yada yada yada.

BUT

Gov't must pay its contracts.

Failure of any gov't to pay any form of contracts is a slippery slope you don't want to get into.

That is why

Pattni was paid, anglo-leasing is being paid, british gov't is still being paid, who knows what other horrible contracts this gov't and other before it have been paying for.

it's the principle at hand here. And to be honest, whoever started this "negotiations" by thumbing his nose in the teachers faces is the cause of this problem we have.

Even Moi used to go slowly in such matters.

but I guess the euphoria of laptops is making some in gov't think they are infallible.

Firing 200000 people will take this country in places we have never seen. Sure jubilee will look strong, powerful and almighty, BUT.

Let's be wise a bit. Moi talked, Kibaki talked. Even Uhuru should talk. These are Kenyans too and only a stupid man can call teachers CORD as if teachers in nyeri belong to cord.

We respect teachers, I'm sure they will throw a bone back. We call them cord, they hate our new gov't, we shall never talk etc etc and expect failure in the first 100 days.

Wanati do not want to talk.... they want to look "tougher" than their counterparts kuppet.... what do you expect the government to do with people who wont "talk". when they negotiated and agreed to be paid in two installments to "look better" than kuppet (or whatever it is called) didn't they go back on on their word and refused to call of the strike? Much as the government may want to pay them, it may not be possible given the government doesn't even have the money. They want the government to borrow to pay them? They've already been offered 17B and they wont budge?

well, if this nonsense of strikes continue, i sure am getting my tax expert to show me how i can avoid (not evade) paying taxes.... hata mimi naumia... ala!
BGL
#322 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 6:05:26 PM

So far Prof Kaimenyi has refused to be blackmailed by KNUT, which is a good thing.
Personally, i think the strike can go on as long as nobody will be paid a single cent on the days they were on strike. Let us see who blinks first.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#323 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 6:17:33 PM

"KNUT officials finally call off month-long teachers strike after meeting with Ruto"
#324 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 6:22:37 PM

BGL wrote:
So far Prof Kaimenyi has refused to be blackmailed by KNUT, which is a good thing.
Personally, i think the strike can go on as long as nobody will be paid a single cent on the days they were on strike. Let us see who blinks first.

The are already broke. They haven't been paid for June. This Kaimenyi guy had them by the balls and he knew it. It was just a matter of time...

#325 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 6:25:12 PM

Strike called off and pri. schools closed! Who is fooling who?
For Sport
#326 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 6:25:18 PM

Tebes wrote:

"KNUT officials finally call off month-long teachers strike after meeting with Ruto"

Great news
Hope Kaimenyi remembers to issue an order to reopen public schools.
kiriita
#327 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 6:25:36 PM

Tebes wrote:

Asi, thought I heard Kaimenyi on radio closing primo schools indefinitely?
#328 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 6:32:43 PM

radio wrote:

I heard rumors that many had already been sacked and TSC was packed with people applying who had grades? Atsiii!!??
Meru Holiness
#329 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 6:44:04 PM

wsr aka mr fix it! sawa sasa Nurses mpo!Laughing out loudly
#330 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 7:09:14 PM

Tebes wrote:

sossiON- when the strike is on. SossiOFF-when the strike is off
#331 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 7:11:47 PM

radio wrote:

Something is brewing behind the scenes here.

Despite the fact that the schools have been closed, the strike is still ON in as far as the government and TSC is concerned...

What if they closed the schools until the start of third term (september) and the teachers are not paid their June, July and August salaries?
madammary
#332 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 7:18:52 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
radio wrote:

Despite the fact that the schools have been closed, the strike is still ON in as far as the government and TSC is concerned...

What if they closed the schools until the start of third term (september) and the teachers are not paid their June, July and August salaries?

They will save alot of dough....hhmmmhhh!!!!!!!!!!
#333 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 7:21:00 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
radio wrote:

From what I have seen on KTN, county TSC offices couldn't handle the numbers of applicants.

Something is definitely cooking.

And how come I haven't seen a KNUT conference calling off the strike? On what grounds/terms have they called off the strike?
#334 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 7:40:10 PM

radio wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
radio wrote:

From what I have seen on KTN, county TSC offices couldn't handle the numbers of applicants.

Something is definitely cooking.

And how come I haven't seen a KNUT conference calling off the strike? On what grounds/terms have they called off the strike?

They have called off with similar terms to those of KUPPET.

Wakanyugi
#335 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 7:40:10 PM

BGL wrote:
Let us see who blinks first.

Well, the teachers have blunk
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
theman192000
#336 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 7:40:22 PM

Just as I thought. The terms remain as was agreed with the government days ago. KNUT should refund the cost of the time wasted plus its top officials should face the full force of the law.
#337 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 8:47:52 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
BGL wrote:
Let us see who blinks first.

Well, the teachers have blunk

Ahahahaha...tense gani hii
#338 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 8:54:31 PM

So are they still going to demand the full implementation of Legool (sic.) notice no. I don't know what of 1997 in future or has government finally found a way to deal with them once and for all?
#339 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 9:17:49 PM

Aha, so the strike is off and the schools are closed indefinitely.....something had to give!!!!
#340 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 9:19:32 PM

Aha, so the strike is off and the schools are closed indefinitely.....something had to give!!!!

now the government is joking!!! getting
too proud.