NewMoney wrote:To summarise this thread, DC works for some people like MugundaMan, but does not work for the others. Some people like Mercedes, others prefer BMW. Some of us are Android fanatics, others prefer iOS.
if DC is the future for you, don't try to drag everyone else through the mud with you, it is very uncivilised.
On my part, quality of life remains my main factor of consideration when choosing my place of home and work. I presume the same applies to a lot of people including my customers and the people around me. I also don't like hanging around the pseudo-rich crowd found in DC who think owning a toyota and building your own defective house from scratch, 50 km from the CBD is the epitome of wealth, but that is beside the point.
DC will never offer a quality of life, and will always be 10 years behind the rest of us, case in point, the Mpesa in Kajiado news of 2019. And by the way, the inverse of DC is not Ngara, there is much more.
If you want to go DC, go DC. But, for the sake of your family's health, avoid industrialised areas like Athi river, some parts of Kitengela, e.t.c. These areas are guaranteed to slash your Life Expectancy by a significant percentage due to the amounts of chemicals floating in the air.
Happy living!!
You are a good comedian.
Nairobi
is GROUND ZERO of pollution and short life expectancy. Did you forget that all hoods in Nairobi core are just a sneeze away from the biggest polluter in East and Central Africa - Industrial area?

And please do not forget the fetid charcoal black coloured Nairobi River that is a cesspool of human feces, toxic chemicals and grime yet runs through all the poshest neighbourhoods in the city.
My friend you CANNOT stop the large whooshing sound of mass migration of Nairobians into the human conurbations in DC . Even if MM was not on Wazoo touting the glories of DC it has, is and WILL be happening as long as the socio-economic and strategic factors mentioned in post numero #uno in this thread, as well as many more factors mentioned by others thereafter remain.
I have said it 100 times before..the economics of it are inevitable. The average middle class Joe or Jill under 45 cannot afford a
30m apartment in Lavington cash. Mortgages in Kenya are under 30,000 out of a population of 40m which means they are basically a non-factor in this debate. To maintain the
same standard of living or better that they are used to as a renter in Nairobi, but wishing to transition to the owner class, the only logical thing to do is buy and build in the DC towns bordering Nairobi which are
by far the most cosmopolitan of any comparable towns within a 40km radius of the Hilton hotel in CBD. The face of Kenya is well established there and the quality of life is soaring by leaps and bounds daily as many have attested about Kitengela for example over the past year alone let alone 10 years.
So unless you are a scion of "old money" like Wukan who claimed he "owned" huge buildings in CBD then added the caveat "kind of - old money" -- meaning mama and papa own it, he owns zero and he's waiting for them to kick the bucket to inherit)

--
then the unstoppable march of the wise ones to DC is your best bet. Ignore this advice at your own peril. Dudes like Sparkly who bought empty land in Yukos years ago and want to sell sasa are like those Dutchmen in Manhattan who sold the whole Island for 24 USD saying there were too many mosquitoes there and it was uninhabitable. Yet the rest is history.