wazua Sun, Mar 22, 2026

28 Pages«<1415161718>»
Binyavanga Wainaina
#151 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 2:25:29 PM

I can only hope that we'll stop looking at Binyavanga and anyone whose come out of the closet and look at the matter of homosexuality in itself and address the challenges it poses to all of us.

One thing that's apparent is that we have very little information on this matter, and in taking strong moral positions we do ourselves disfavor, and even perpetuate the evils we shun. We shoot and lynch thieves and robbers, yet their numbers increase by the day.

I happen to have been introduced to both sexual orientations at a very early age. And I have 'God' to thank because somehow I have managed to look at the effects of these experiences with a level head, and even heal. But not so for my 'initiators'. I've watched families getting destroyed and people losing their lives because of these matters. I have seen people being pushed to the limits, and even the moral standards that we often subscribe to being pushed aside, or falling apart. This matter is tougher than you can imagine.

It's a historical force, and effect, and the way to go about it is to create a culture and symbolism that's different from what we presently have.

Empathy, dedicated investigation, love and patience are what we need. Not self righteousness.
majimaji
#152 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 2:34:49 PM

Kenyan gays finally have a face, more gay people should come out so that Kenyans realise that gay people are not Lilliputians
#153 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 2:40:21 PM

@tycho thank you for sharing, I'm the better for it.
I understand and empathise. All's for the Good. PEACE.

I can only hope that we'll stop looking at Binyavanga and anyone whose come out of the closet and look at the matter of homosexuality in itself and address the challenges it poses to all of us.

One thing that's apparent is that we have very little information on this matter, and in taking strong moral positions we do ourselves disfavor, and even perpetuate the evils we shun. We shoot and lynch thieves and robbers, yet their numbers increase by the day.

I happen to have been introduced to both sexual orientations at a very early age. And I have 'God' to thank because somehow I have managed to look at the effects of these experiences with a level head, and even heal. But not so for my 'initiators'. I've watched families getting destroyed and people losing their lives because of these matters. I have seen people being pushed to the limits, and even the moral standards that we often subscribe to being pushed aside, or falling apart. This matter is tougher than you can imagine.

It's a historical force, and effect, and the way to go about it is to create a culture and symbolism that's different from what we presently have.

Empathy, dedicated investigation, love and patience are what we need. Not self righteousness.

Muriel
#154 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 2:46:38 PM

Sawa sawa.

Sasa ile maneno yetu ingine - when will we start it? For example how can you be against 'self righteousness' yet you are god? Your righteousness is within.

Hii ni balaa gani umeanzisha?
#155 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 3:20:05 PM

#156 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 3:22:17 PM

The pink dresssmile

Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray

rryyzz
#157 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 3:22:56 PM

majimaji wrote:

Kenyan gays finally have a face, more gay people should come out so that Kenyans realise that gay people are not Lilliputians

MK might be the next one we hear of getting out of the closet
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
sheri
#158 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 4:41:28 PM

The pink dresssmile

@ washiku smile smile smile smile But surely? Hapa tuko na compe. Okay we are supposed to accept and move on.
#159 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 5:14:54 PM

sheri wrote:
The pink dresssmile

@ washiku smile smile smile smile But surely? Hapa tuko na compe. Okay we are supposed to accept and move on.

Never ever, ours are real stuff Shame on you
#160 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 5:49:23 PM

Muriel wrote:

Sawa sawa.

Sasa ile maneno yetu ingine - when will we start it? For example how can you be against 'self righteousness' yet you are god? Your righteousness is within.

Hii ni balaa gani umeanzisha?

I get your point. This word 'self' has two extremes, the limits of Man. I mean the 'earthly Man'.
28 Pages«<1415161718>»